We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Really friendly staff on check in, room was a good size with a great view (9th floor) a little dated but nothing to moan about, very clean and comfy bed. Breakfast was of a good quality but still a tad over priced as was the bar. All in all a good stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Many thanks for your review of our hotel.

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would stay again!

Next time you stay don't hesitate to ask about our special breakfast promotion at check-in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,543 - 1,549 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

After our last visit I spoke with a Manager at the hotel who said if I were to stay again I would be given an upgraded room and be able to see how good they were. He had explained that they were in the process of upgrading all the rooms so we gave the place another chance.

After checking in we found the room we were given was identical in the same state as the last one we had stayed in except that it had a coffee machine, (we don't drink coffee) I called down to reception and informed them that I was unhappy with the room. We had booked a massage at the Spa so had to go for that before viewing the room they then moved us to. When we did see the next room it was a good bit larger than the last one but still the carpet and furnishings were tired. The chairs in the room were both very uncomfortable and coupled with the overly soft mattress on the bed have resulted in us both having sore backs. Again the door handle in the bathroom was loose (I have to assume there is an issue with all of them) it actually fell off when used on our last morning. There was a foul smell from the sink drain in the bathroom as well as a lot of faulty towers style plumbing noises. Will be staying elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Very sorry to read your disappointing review.

Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience - 0121 654 6000.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The radius son is pretty much the same as every other radius son hotel although I think the staff is very good and tries very hard. I have stayed here one night and had a fabulous meal in the restaurant which I can only recommended, although it is not on the cheap side. The room I stayed in was good. It was clean and had a comfortable bed. I had always come here for a sort of presentation of the hotel to gain more business. We were shown one of the suites which was rather bad. It looked used and a little empty and not very well thought through. The shower also had cracked tiles. The staff was very good though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonavfc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay.

Delighted to read your comments regarding our staff, they certainly work very hard to make our guests happy so it's a great pleasure to read your feedback, also very pleasing to read that you enjoyed our Filini restaurant, our Executive chef was very happy that you enjoyed your experience!

We at Radisson Blu hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First impressions count. None more so that the reception staff refusing to talk to me because I'm in a wheelchair, and instead talking to my partner. Not only did he not acknowledge my existence, but to make matters worse, what he was talking to my partner about was the evacuation plan for disabled customers, and the accessible facilities within the room. When I eventually interrupted to make the point that "I am here you know, and I can understand you. Given you're talking about me, perhaps you could talk to me", the receptionist vaguely apologised, before making matters worse by explaining that he had not spoken to me because he "thought it would be easier" to tell my partner everything I needed to know. I cannot believe that in this day and age, a luxury hotel can display such disgusting discrimination towards disabled customers.
At a hotel, sleep also counts. The bed was lumpy and overly bouncy/springy. Worse still, the room was at the back of the hotel, above an extremely loud generator/power plant, with the result that I barely got any sleep, it was so loud. I don't pay that amount of money for a hotel (it wasn't cheap, just shy of £100) to be insulted and not to get any sleep. I've stayed at other Radisson Blu hotels, but this experience is likely to lose me as a customer.

Room Tip: Avoid the back of the hotel like the plague. Don't go there at all if you're disabled and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EMMAK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay.

First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the way you felt regarding your check-in experience - I can assure you that we do not discriminate against our disabled guests and this can be confirmed by our regular guests who use wheelchairs who are delighted with the service and facilities we provide, I will be speaking to my colleague who checked you in to ensure that your comments are taken on board for future reference. We do not tolerate any form of discriminatory behaviour in any of our hotels worldwide and we take great pride in treating everyone as equal. Again, please accept our apologies for any discomfort caused.

Regarding above and the other points in your review, I would very much appreciate it if you could contact me at the hotel to discuss, I can be contacted on 0121 654 6000.

I sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, very good staff. Shame about the poor view over a carpark when I requested one of the Chinese monument and edgebaston. Nothing spectular but we did get a cheap deal so can't complain too much. Didnt have breakfast so can't rate. Great location!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Marktaco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Very sorry we couldn't provide you with the view you requested, we try our very best to provide guests with the view they prefer but due to high occupancy on certain days this is not always possible, however, you have my details so please don't hesitate to contact me in advance should you choose to stay with us again and I will allocate you a room with the best available view - next time you must try our Super Breakfast Buffet, look out for the special offer when you check-in!

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My room is one of the disabled rooms in the back of the hotel, the carpet has some stains but otherwise the room is very comfortable, good lighting, decent desk for working (this is a business trip) and breakfast is good BUT there is a huge generator plant with a compressor and fan system at the back of the hotel which makes so much noise it prevents sleep - was moved up 8 floors to complete the second night but to exactly the same position within the floor so it did not really help - I will not be coming back to this hotel - tried it on a colleague's recommendation- will go back to my preferred option which has a more accessible car park and no noise issues

Room Tip: Do not take an even number at the back of the hotel if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel - very sorry to read that you didn't get a good night sleep and disappointed to hear that you wouldn't choose to stay with us again as a result of this.

We have a range of rooms available to suit all guest needs, please contact me as I would appreciate the opportunity to allocate a different room during your next stay which I'm certain you will be satisfied with - 0121 654 6000.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel as I was attending a work conference in Birmingham. The hotel was easily accessible from Birmingham New Street station. Check in was quick and hotel staff were polite.

The hotel is housed in a 39 storey glass skyscraper. You get a great view of the city from your room window. Some of the windows were decorated with blue "zebra stripes". I stayed in a standard double room on the 9th floor, which was large, clean and modern. There is very little interior hotel noise as it is well sound proofed. You therefore won't be disturbed by the sound of the nearby lifts or other guests, and can get a good nights sleep.

When I first accessed my room it took me a while to work out how to get the lights to turn on- just needed to put my key card into a wall slot.

Lots of coffee and tea packets and little milk cartons were available with a kettle. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, body lotion and a shower cap were supplied in the bathroom. An iron, hair dryer, pen and note pad were also provided.

Breakfast was standard English. This was a good hotel. Wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

Very pleased to read that we lived up to your expectations and even more pleased to read that you would like to stay with us again - We would be delighted to have you!

Until then....enjoy the rest of your week.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,253 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,404 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,214 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £63 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, conventio centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Rezidor, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing