We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minor niggles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #73 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Minor niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

On checking in at 5.30pm on a weekday evening had a longish wait due to only two reception staff being on duty. Checking out the next morning at 8.00am was much worse, a long queue stretching right across reception with just one member of staff on duty, however, another person did arrive to help. I am glad I had allowed plenty of time to catch my train that morning.
The room was average, slightly worn and tatty, but a good size and well equipped. The TV set up was poor, tuned to London so regional weather and travel news was not available - not very helpful when you are in Birmingham. it also suffered from interference so not pleasant to watch. The shower had a mind of it's own, and difficult to position correctly so the bathroom floor got soaked when showering.

All in all, just minor irritations, but on the plus side, the bedlinen was good quality, and the breakfast was excellent with a wide range of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandSHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

On behalf of the hotel please accept our sincere apologies for the delay to both check-in and check-out, I have discussed your comments with our front office manager who has assured me that this will not be repeated, we hope the delay didn't cause you too much inconvenience, particularly upon check-out.

In regard to your comments about the room; we are currently carrying out a soft refurbishment to all guest rooms which we hope will be completed by Christmas, this includes new carpets to a number of rooms, complete room re-decoration and replacement of shower heads within all bathrooms - we hope you get the chance to return in future to experience the improvements.

Really great to read that you liked the linen and enjoyed the wide range of options available on our Super Breakfast Buffett!

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    716
    513
    272
    160
See reviews for
128
765
124
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Second stay at this hotel and this time we opted for a business class room. Have to say we were disappointed in the room. We had a good view over Birmingham,and the bathrobe, slippers and coffee machine were really nice to have. But the room felt very small and claustrophobic due to the one long window, especially in comparison to the room where we had stayed before which felt really spacious and had floor to ceiling windows right across the width of the room. We couldn't help but feel we'd been given a room that was usually used for single guests as we were one bathrobe missing and one side of the bed was much "saggier" than the other. It was also a little odd that one side of the bed had a matress protector and the other didn't. Neither did we receive the free newspaper as advertised on the website. The business class rate includes breakfast and that was great, lovely range of food and drinks.

We would stay again at the hotel. It has a great location and the staff are very nice but next time we won't be booking the business class room rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Widmerpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your recent stay.

Sorry to hear your room was not to your satisfaction. We have a variety of room shapes and sizes and we would of been more than happy to have offered you an alternative room had you highlighted this during your stay - many of our regular guests let us know their preferred room type and in many cases the actual room number, we always try to pre-allocate our guests to the rooms they like, so please don't hesitate in letting any member of our team know if you have a preference and we will take note of this for your next stay, we always aim to please.

Please accept our apologies regarding the newspaper - all guests who stay in our business class rooms or suites should be offered a choice of complimentary newspapers on check-in for delivery to the room early the next morning, I'm very sorry if you were not offered this during check-in and rest assured I will follow up with my reception team.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back to us soon, next time please let us know your preferred room.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

How this is a 4 star hotel I have no idea. Our room was absolutely horrible, I have stayed at better 2 star hotels! Our bathroom had mould in it and also a horrible damp smell. The bed was so uncomfortable and from where I was lying you could not see the tv it was so small. The finishings were very poor, the room obviously had not been maintained. There were stains on the carpet and marks on the walls with pain coming off the doors.
I ordered rooms service - chicken mayonaise sandwich with rocket. I got about 5 pieces of chicken on my sandwich with some other meat which to me looked like bacon. There was also no rocket in the sandwich, they had put lettuce in. I returned it and the gentleman said that the other meat was chicken and that is what roast chicken looks like! I have never seen chicken like that. he made me another sandwich and again had put letuce in. there was no apology and the whole sandwich tasted horrible. I could get a better sandwich at tescos.

Overall a horrible experience

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

Please can you contact me at the hotel to discuss your comments as we have no record of your complaint on file - 0121 654 6000.

For us at Radisson Blu it is of paramount importance that we address issues or concerns raised to our attention during the guest stay with the aim of making it right to our guest's satisfaction.

I sincerely hope to hear from you very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Waterford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at end of October. Lovely hotel, rooms big & clean. Had a 15th floor room with a view over the city. This hotel is only 5 minutes walk from New Street train station & same to the Bullring Shopping Centre. the Bullring Centre & Markets have to be on the must see list.

This hotel is also about a 10 minute walk to Mailbox & Canal Area.

There's plenty of choice for breakfast and hotel serves breakfast til 12pm at weekends so handy for a lie in.

Overall this hotel is clean, modern and the bedrooms are nice, not too much outside noise considering it is close to a roundabout.

The bar area is a bit quiet but probably suits considering most people probably go out to the many bars & restaurants.

Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WaterfordTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and amenities and delighted to read that you will return.....we look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just had an overnight stay at the Radisson Blu.Have to say after reading some negative reviews I wasn't expecting to have such a pleasant stay.I had a great time here,so close to everything,lovely room,comfy bed,great Nespresso coffee machine all provided.Breakfast was excellent even providing gluten free bread etc for my daughter.Staff couldn't do enough for us whilst there,late checkout of 12 o clock and breakfast served till then made for a less rushed departure too.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you very much for your great 5* review of our hotel following your recent stay!

We are delighted that you were happy with every aspect of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon!

Thank you once again.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Remember this is supposed to be a 4 Star, it is not by any means. Upon arrival it was like a budget airline treatment, no porters, rather sanitary treatment. Given one room pass and told its on the 16 floor somewhere. Upon arrival at the room the door lock didn't work, waited outside the room for ages to get in eventually, then the door lock failed on 5 more occasions. Found out that this is a common problem here. Appologies are fine, but it does not cut any ice when it's repeated endlessly. There are so many other things that there is not room here to mention, just to say, the management here need to visit their hotels oversea's to see how it's done. Finally, I speak from personal experience of running hotel groups, and holding MHCI ma.

Room Tip: Make sure it has been checked out first before you pay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1rovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, very sorry to read your headline regarding your stay.

We do have porters at the hotel at peak times, outside of these times our front office team members will absolutely offer their assistance where required, please accept our apologies if this was not offered to you upon arrival, I will of course follow up with my front office team.

In regard to your room number, in the interests of guest security we inform all guests at check-in of the floor on which their room is located and point out the room number on their room key card wallet, this is to ensure that other guests do not hear the actual room number being announced. On each floor there are directional signs to assist guests to their rooms, I can assure you that this is in the interests of guest security and privacy.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues experienced with your room lock, I completely understand how frustrating this must have been and on behalf of Radisson Blu I can't apologise enough. Fortunately this is not a common problem as can be seen from historic tripadvisor reviews, the problem has now been resolved.

Please can you contact me at the hotel as I would very much appreciate further feedback on the other issues that you refer to - 0121 654 6000.

I sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed overnight. Award room was not what I expected - looks like they saved tired rooms for award nights... Coffee machine in B/Class room needed a good clean (which I did before using). No bathrobes in room (so had to call downstairs). Movies choice was ok though. Had a front view room on a high floor. Spent 20minutes watching a small group of druggie looking people that were hiding in the square island in front of the hotel (we could see them clearly from the high floor) injecting something into their arms and prancing about whilst they took it in turns to roll up their sleeves and inject their arms. I video'd it on my phone.. couldn't believe what I was seeing. It was around 5pm and clear day light. Not hotel's fault of course.. but something should be done / or they should report it really. Hotel reception was crowded but then again it was a Saturday. Reception area was clean. Staff were OK... service didn't stand out. Didn't eat there so can't comment on restaurant. I guess I just expected more from a premium award room really. After I cleaned the coffee machine, coffee was a nice luxury to have in the room! :o)

Room Tip: High floor rooms have good views of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel following your recent stay.

Many apologies for the condition of the coffee machine - I have followed up with our housekeeping department to ensure this is not repeated, there is no excuse for this and I sincerely hope that this didn't cause too much inconvenience. The missing bath robes was an oversight on our behalf and I can assure you that all business class rooms and suites are now stocked with bath robes.

We hope we get the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing