We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
west yorkshire uk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect for Shopping”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My daughter and I decided to have a Christmas shopping trip to Birmingham and to see the German Christmas market at the same time. This hotel is very central for shopping only five minutes walk to the Bull Ring. There is a car park at the back of the hotel and although its quite expensive there is a deal with the hotel you just need to get them to validate your ticket before you return to pick your car up, and ask if you can be let out by the back door as its straight into the car park entrance, there are no signs for this you wiil need to ask. We had a bedroom that over looked the main road at the front, very good views but with floor to ceiling windows not for the faint hearted! The rooms are a decent size and the bed was comfortable but on the soft side, the bathroom is a good size but the fan ran constantly in our room and there was a faint whiff of drains, overall a very good hotel for what we wanted and I would certainely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybanker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    744
    523
    283
    167
See reviews for
133
792
134
766
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as it was within walking distance of both New Street Station and The O2 Academy, literally two minutes walk from both locations.....

Booking in was quick and effective, and they offered me either a lower floor or higher floor room I like a good view so took a room on the 9th floor..... Room itself was a good size, clean and well laid out plus a great view over the City.....

I had dinner in the hotel which was good but very rushed, despite the restaurant being very quiet and early evening it felt like they wanted me out ASAP next course followed virtually as soon as the removed my previous course, giving me no time to relax between courses.....

Mind you they more than made up for my evening meal with a fantastic buffet breakfast in the morning......

All in all a great stay with on one minor quibble being that the free wifi is as slow as treacle......

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Big_Jimbo_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I booked the Radisson Blue because it seemed like a good deal on Last Minute.com. What a mistake - I had to change my room because the first room supplied was dirty. The room I moved to the TV didn't work and when the maintenance man came he couldn't fix it and promised he would come back so it would be fixed for the next day. He didn't and it wasn't. When I complained at check out they took my details and said that the manager would be in touch - no contact was ever made. Its advertised on last minute as four star the same as the Hyatt - having stayed in both I can guarantee its not a patch on the Hyatt and should be given a lesser rating. In short shoddy service poor rooms and not worth the moeny.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel.

At your convenience can you please contact us at the hotel on 0121 654 6000 and ask to speak to Marie Wilcox-Perks as we do not have any records of your issues within our system.

We would very much appreciate a call from you so we can discuss a solution to your unsatisfactory stay.

We hope to hear from you very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We are looking for a replacement for the City Inn (now Hilton) in Brindley Place and this could be it. We had a business class room on the 17th floor with lovely views, very comfortable soft beds (but no pillow protectors so surprised at that) only 2 tea bags and 2 coffee sachets in room and no biscuits so thats a bit mean for a b/class room but there was a coffee machine too - didnt use that. Nice size bathroom with a bath and thick fluffy towels- good size bath sheets. When we checked in I asked if bfast was included and was told yes but they did not allow us bfast on first morning and couldnt get reception to answer the phone to help with query. I queried this with them again sat evening and was told it was included and it would be ok for for sunday morning and it was! Surprised that they only seem to have 2 receptionists on duty at a time - so could be long queues if your unlucky. All the staff were charming. Handy for the Mailbox and the Cube and New Street Station. We booked through a travel agent and paid £114 per night.

Room Tip: High up has good views and I think that the corner rooms have king size beds and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion over breakfast, we will honour the first days missed breakfast during your next stay, I hope this is acceptable to you. Please get in touch with our front office manager, Marie Wilcox-Perks who will make the necessary arrangements during your next reservation - 0121 654 6000.

Very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the views, the comfort of the bed, the linen, the large fluffy towels and our charming staff! Thank you for this great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely room in hotel. Excellent facilities. It was our honeymoon and they put rose petals on bed, chocolates and a card. Very sweet of them and lovely touch. Views fantastic. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast good too.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel3444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed all of our facilities and especially the little surprises within your room in celebration of your special day.

From the entire team at the Radisson Blu Hotel Birmingham we wish you both all the very best for your future and we hope to see you again for your anniversary next year!

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Nice room, a bit bright (red and orange) One of the most comfortable beds ive slept on! Criticism is there are only 3 elevators and it takes an age to get one! No staircase with the exception of the fire escape. Bar prices scandalous but overall good experience and ideal for the train station. The trip to the NEC by train is only 10mins or so from here. The place is close to the mailbox where there are excellent restaurants!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IATIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your recent stay.

We had an issue with one of our guest lifts during the latter part of last week and into the early part of this week which caused the delay, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused to your stay as a result of this, all lifts were fully operational from Wednesday this week.

Glad to read that overall your experience was positive and that you found your bed to be very comfortable - just in case you are not aware we have 3 different room styles within the hotel, Fresh, Fashion and Chic - you stayed in a Fashion room, may I suggest that next time you request a Chic style room, I'm sure this will be much more to your liking if you are not a fan of the bright colours in the Fashion room style.

We hope to welcome you back soon, next time why not try our Filini restaurant for dinner - new menu concept to be launched over the next 2 weeks which I can assure you is delightful!

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

First visit to this particular hotel. Have visited many hotels within Birmingham to stay after a nice night out, found this one pretty average to be honest.

On arriving after the 3pm check in time we waited in a queue to find that there was no room available for us. A small apology and an offer of a free drink in the bar (turned out to only be tea or coffee) we were informed that some people had been waiting for rooms since 11am. Not a pleasing start although within 30 mins we went back to ask about our room which was then ready, but had to join the back of a very long queue.

Room itself was average for a business suite. Good size but felt quite basic. Mini fridge, and tea and coffee facilities were not fully stocked from the previous guest with a lot of empty spaces. Speaker within our bathroom also did not work and television signal was poor with a lot of disruption.

Breakfast was lovely and staff generally were fairly helpful. Location is great and being on the 8th floor; noise from the traffic had minimal impact. Not blown away by an iconic building in Birmingham and for the price we paid, I for one wouldn't be rushing back here in a hurry.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel further to your recent stay.

Our check-in time is 3pm each day, however, we try our very best to accommodate guests who arrive early, where rooms are not ready prior to our advertised check-in time we offer to store luggage allowing guests the opportunity to explore the city.

Very sorry to read that your tea and coffee items were not fully replenished, I have taken this up with our housekeeping department who assure me this will not be repeated, the speaker and TV signal issues have been rectified, sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast and you found the staff to be friendly, thank you for your positive comments.

We sincerely hope that you do choose to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
922 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,415 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,252 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Rezidor, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing