We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright... but not the best night's sleep” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #73 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Alright... but not the best night's sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited this hotel while attending a training event in a nearby office and from a location perspective it was ideal - near the station, other transport links, offices and every amenity required.

In my head I compare everything to a Premier Inn and to be honest - it is effectively it is the same except overpriced. Yes the windows are great and yes it has access to a gym but I would much rather have a reliable WiFi connection, a duvet and pillow that doesn't make a lot of noise every time I move and a television that responds when you press the buttons on either the television or the remote with at least the freeview channels available.

Breakfast was good enough with lovely croissants and the gym was adequate enough for a good cycle but I left feeling more tired than when I went in to check-in and already wanting to get back to my own bed!

I would tend to agree with the other comments that a refresh is required - from the significant amount of wood panelling to the quality of the carpets... just not that great.

My advice: By all means use this place as a base for one night but consider alternatives if you can should you be using this for any longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashafanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Tashafanclub,
Many thanks for your recent review, we really appreciate your feedback, it will help us improving both product and service.
We are very sorry to hear that your staff was not satisfactory, we are undergoing a soft refurbishment to address some of the isues you have addressed.
Our engineering team is on the case with regards to the remote controls in the hotel, in some of the case it was because of the batteries in some other cases the remote itself, many thanks for letting us know.

Our hotel prides itself with superfast WIFI (100meg) and I will have therefore to look into thereason why the speed was not high enough as it should be sufficient.

I sincerely hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the Birmingham area again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    716
    513
    272
    160
See reviews for
128
765
124
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

a four star hotel it is not, a three star at best . The hotel is very tired and needs a good make over. the good bits breakfast good staff very good . i will not stay in this hotel again when there are better three star hotels in the area what a pity it lets the radisson name down.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Philip W,
Many thanks for your opinion on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your feedback.
As you have pointed out in your review the hotel will require a refurbishment, I am happy to inform you taht the works start mid -December and will be completed in February.
We do hope you will stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Breakfast here has everything you could want and all served hot and very fresh.
However, the rooms are tired, stained carpets, torn duvet cover, worn furniture. No curtains, just fine voile which doesn't keep out the light, very strange for a hotel I thought. Very soft mattress and pillows. Mini bar had not been replenished from previous guests.
Staff were friendly and it's right in the city centre. The downside being that you get a lot of noise from the clubs and police sirens on a Friday and Saturday night, even on the 14th floor.
I wouldn't stay here again. I'd stayed at the Crowne Plaza before and would return there again instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Bobby911,
Many thanks for your feedback, with your comments we can improve both product and service.
I have followed up personally all comments you have made.

In the particular room you stayed were curtains but they were pushed too far to the sides behind the fine voile, we make now sure that the curtains are clearly visible.
The minibars are not fully stocked anymore as in the past, we have amended the offereing based on customer demands, apologies that this gave the wrong impression.

Weekend is very noisy outside the hotel as we are city centre based, I can recommend to book a room at the back of the hotel where noise levels are signifcantly lower.
Please do not hesiate to contact me directly in case you wish to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review not as a complaint but just as a statement of the facts. I am a business traveler with a choice about where to stay - within a budget - and have often found Radisson Blu hotels to be good value. I'm sorry to say that the Birmingham hotel is way below the standards advertised and expected. As always it's a balanced story. The good points were the very friendly and efficient reception staff, who even managed to check me in early with a smile. And the bathroom was clean and spacious. On the downside, the hotel overall is very worn around the edges and my room in particular was terrible. I didn't request a room change because I was pretty sure all of them are as bad. I have uploaded some photos showing (1) a huge stain on the carpet (2) the broken lamp shades on both sides of the bed, which were torn and dented, and (3) a badly worn and stained seating area. Check into a new, budget hotel chain and you'll find something very bland but generally immaculate. Check in to this Radisson which still charges 4 star business rates and you'll be dismayed by how grubby it is. I'll be staying elsewhere in Birmingham until I hear that the entire hotel has been put right. I'm sure the management are crying our to improve things!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Snowster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Snowster007,
I would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor I can ensure you that all feedback has been taken extremely serious and will be followed up.
We apologies for the stains in the carpet, we start the replacement of these carpets mid december and continue with a further soft refurbishment late January for the exact reason you have highlighted.
I am very pleased to read that you were welcomed in the hotel with a smile and assited to the the required level, we spend a lot of time on staff training and together with the refurbishment I sincerely hope we can welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Raddison is my hotel of choice when staying in Birmingham on Business. Whilst there is sometimes a queue when checking in, the staff are awlays polite and apologetic. I'm a light sleeper and hate external noise, so always e-mail the hotel in advance to ask for a room on a high floor and away from lifts and aircon units etc. Kindly they always accomadate my request. The 15/16/17 floors have super views across the city. Rooms are very nice and beds some of the best I've come across. So comfy............that i never want to get up in a morning. Bathroom spotless, but the water not always hot when you run a bath, however there is always the shower option. Toileteries super, sorry I don't leave them behind. A packet of biscuits would be nice and would qwell the arrival hunger. Bar clean and prices as you'd expect in a city centre hotel. Good choice at breakfast, fresh fruit, juice and the full help yourself English and more besides. Look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Bridget419,
Many thanks for your lovey comments, I will ensure this shared with all our staff and I am personally looking forward welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Having been told by the reception staff on the telephone, that we could park at the rear of the hotel in an NCP car park, and then enter through the rear door of the hotel, we waited and waited at the rear entrance for them to answer the buzzer and let us in. We were soon joined by other guests also wanting to enter, but eventually we all decided we would have to walk round the block to the main entrance. We asked the reception staff why they hadn't answered the buzzer for the back door, and they said they can't answer the buzzer if they are already dealing with guests in reception ! The toilets in the downstairs bar were disgusting. The room was tired and a bit knocked about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Jackmurphy3,
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor, your feedback is important to us.

I fully understand your frustration, as we would like to be at your best assistance we offer our guests the backdoor in order to avoid walking around the hotel, howver this is not common practice. As this was offered to you we should have been more alert and ensured you were able to use this door.

I have addressed your comments regarding the downstairs toilets there is absolutely no excuse.
We are undergoing in the coming two months a soft refurbishment in the majority of our bedrooms and we hope to welcome you back any time soon to show you the improved room status.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My daughter and I decided to have a Christmas shopping trip to Birmingham and to see the German Christmas market at the same time. This hotel is very central for shopping only five minutes walk to the Bull Ring. There is a car park at the back of the hotel and although its quite expensive there is a deal with the hotel you just need to get them to validate your ticket before you return to pick your car up, and ask if you can be let out by the back door as its straight into the car park entrance, there are no signs for this you wiil need to ask. We had a bedroom that over looked the main road at the front, very good views but with floor to ceiling windows not for the faint hearted! The rooms are a decent size and the bed was comfortable but on the soft side, the bathroom is a good size but the fan ran constantly in our room and there was a faint whiff of drains, overall a very good hotel for what we wanted and I would certainely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybanker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing