We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #75 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here as a treat for our anniversary!! We got a good deal as we stayed on a Sunday night. Hotel reception was very clean and modern and the check in staff were friendly and helpful. We had a double non smoking room, it was a very good size with a nice view of the city. The bed was massive and very very comfy! The tv was a tad small for the size of the room, we didn't have any soap or hand wash for the bathroom and there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom! As we were only there for one night this didn't really matter bit if we had paid fill price we would of been a bit disappointed! We didn't have the breakfast so can't comment. Very good location. 5 minute walk from new street and 10 mins from broad street.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Amy2019,
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel, it's always nice to read when our our hospitality is appreciated.
All contstructive feedback has been addressed and will be rectified.
We are looking forward welcoming you back on your next anniversary.
Have a great Christmas and a prosperous New Year.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    721
    514
    277
    163
See reviews for
128
772
126
742
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If we get the negatives over with, it probably could do with a slight refurb to give it the total wow factor, but the views from the upper floors, the pavement presence, the overall feel of the place, the friendliness of the staff all combine to make it a memorable place to stay in Birmingham. However its the view that is the star, floor to ceiling windows that make you forget you're in Birmingham. Handily placed for pretty much any city centre activities and with a good restaurant I'd recommend it above other hotels in it's price bracket in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors and front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We got a really cheap deal which made this a good stay but if we'd paid over £150 as most sites were asking...we'd have been unimpressed.
Great location, but a bit tired inside. Comfy king sized bed, clean room, although the headboard/wall decoration has seen better days.

There was a strange 'siren' type noise early in the morning. We think it was the water system and we solved it by closing the bathroom door, but it did wake us up.

Breakfast was great although the wait for a table was a pain. We weren't impressed that the waiting staff couldn't answer a question about a nut allergy and whether one of the dishes contained nuts (1 couldn't be bothered to answer and the other couldn't understand English enough to get the question).

If you want location and get a good deal this hotel is fine. It isn't up to the standard you'd expect for a Radisson.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

My mother and I booked a last minute trip for the Christmas Market in Birmingham and to do some Christmas shopping in The Bull ring and wanted somewhere nice... having stayed in the Bristol Radisson Blu which was great I though this would be ideal.

At booking stage we thought it was a little pricey but should be nice so wouldn't matter... we were very disappointed.

When we got there we walked round the side of the hotel to the front entrance, most of the front had sick splattered on the pavement and up the glass which obviously meant the smell was far from favourable. Once we got in the lobby was tired and needed a bit of an uplift, it certainly wasn't relaxing or welcoming. There was also only 2 people checking in meaning the queue was long and we weren't the only people getting frustrated as their job included that of a porter collecting bags from a room at the side slowing things down further.

Once we finally got checked in we add our way up to our room and again, the lift and hall was very battered and tired with a lot of marks and staines on the carpet. We got in to the room and again, very tired with lights not working, disgustingly dirty carpet and a bathroom that smelt like drains with old damaged fittings and a lot of black round the tiles and shower screen.

We decided to make the most of it and called down for the robes and slippers we were meant to be supplied with in our executive room but weren't and got on with it.

After exploring that day we stumbled on a Malmaison down the road which looked far more pleasant and was again a name we'd stayed with before so decided to see if they had any rooms for the remainder of our stay... they did, at a slightly lower price. We decided to check out of the Radisson after our first night and completed our stay in the far superior yet cheaper Malmaison a few hundred yards up the road.

We felt the Radisson Blu in Birmingham was on par with a budget hotel such as a Premier Inn and certainly didn't deserve the £180+ they were charging a night and would therefore not recommend this hotel as a much better option is available for the same money just down the road.

Very disappointing stay and we won't be returning again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed her for two nights on business - and had the pleasure of some fantastic views from my room on the 14th floor. The hotel is near to a fairly busy junction, so (if there was any problem with noise on lower floors), then I avoided it!

I was attending an event at the ICC - which is about 15 minutes walk away, so reasonably handy. There are closer hotels, but I preferred staying at the Radisson Blu - so the extra walk was an acceptable trade off.

Minor comments:

1. The room thermostat was set to 24C when I arrived, so I turned it down to 21C - but later realised it was set high for the reason that the zircon wasn't able to reach the temperature. I don't know if this was room specific - or a design fault within the hotel.

2. I had the cooked breakfast - and to my mind, it wasn't kept quite hot enough. By the time I had half eaten it, the other half was almost code...

3. There is no car parking at the hotel, so drop your bags off first, then you are best to park at the nearby NCP - for which you get a discount. This is all OK, but if you have lots of baggage, then carrying it from the car-park could otherwise be a challenge.

Only staying for 2 nights, I didn't raise these points with the hotel. Maybe they will read this and comment!

On a plus side, the internet is free - which, in my opinion, it always should be! I am frustrated by other hotels with rip-off prices for internet use!

Bottom line, great hotel - and no problem going back again!

Room Tip: 1. Get a room on a high floor - for the view and avoid any road noise. 2. Drop bags off, before par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 221MichaelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Due to the road works in Birmingham, it was tricky finding the hotel & also finding the car park, which is just off site.
The rooms were contemporary, but a little worn in places. The rooms were clean if a little un-inspiring.
I did think it was a little overpriced. The breakfast was a self service type in a large dining area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Having stayed at Radisson Blu's before, I felt a little let down, location wise its not bad and the reception staff are friendly and efficient. The Bar prices are shocking £5.50 for a pint.The room carpet was dirty, looked like 'old make up' (617) and i'm still not sure the purpose of the chair under the TV. The room itself appeared clean but a bit shabby( not in the chic style). The bathroom was large and the shower was good, with the accessories there was everything apart from shower gel. When it comes to accessories then it should be everything or nothing. The breakfast in the morning was good and plenty of variety. I must admit the room was quiet and the sleep was good which is impressive considering the room was near the lift and there was a family with a baby in the room next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Rezidor, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing