We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise booking”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My partner had booked this hotel as a surprise for our one year anniversary & I wasn't disappointed. We arrived in our suite to find a card from the hotel management and a tray of millionaire shortbread - a touch that was not expected but very much appreciated by us both. We were on the 16th floor and most definitely had a suite with a view!!!

Although my partner had tried to make a dinner reservation at another restaurant for them to cancel the booking in the week before our stay, he was left with no alternative but to book a table at the hotel due to the short notice - if he had not told me this I would have been non the wiser as the food was excellent and the restaurant staff very attentive. In fact all the staff that we encountered during our stay were the same.

After indulging in a late breakfast the following day, a short walk to the Bullring was to be had. Whilst we had parked the car at the nearest NCP car park this was at a discounted rate for hotel guests, and although we had checked out of our room (and had left our bags with the concierge service) we were still eligible for this rate.

We have stayed at number of Radisson hotels previously, and are yet to be disappointed. There is another big chain that we have used that we would now not go to again. Radisson has not disappointed us yet and is normally our first option when looking for hotels for city breaks.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor level, as there is a busy road running outside of the hotel, we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmal0u82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    731
    522
    280
    167
See reviews for
130
787
134
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Radisson Blu Birmingham during December for a night out. Easy to find as on the main ring road and parking is in a multiple story at the back of the hotel. Checking in took about 30 mins as about 10 people were checking in at the same time as me. Finally got to the room and was very disappointed. The room was freezing cold (the air con was set to the max level it seems) and the carpet was really stained. Didn't really spend more time in the room until later in the evening. Had breakfast in the morning and the breakfast wasn't great and tasted overcooked or had been sitting there far too long so I left it and checked out. Won't be staying here again and next time in Birmingham I will stay at the Crown Plaza which is much better

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PaulH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

staffs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for me whilst we were on a night out at the theater. The outside of the hotel looks impressive and the location with regards to the hippodrome is good, the plus points end here! The cost for a weeknight room was £299, upon check in we were asked for a £50 deposit which we had not been told about upon booking. We were given the keys to room 917 initially. The room was dirty with stains all over the carpets, the bed linen was dirty and the furniture was chipped and pealing. We called reception and were moved instantly to room 1017, this room was not much better. Again the carpets were heavily stained, however the bed was clean. There was mold in the bathroom, again the furniture was chipped and cracked. There were no plug sockets near a mirror, so from a practical point of view the room is poorly designed. The do not disturb / breakfast card had been filled out by a previous guest and a new one had not been put in the room. An issue the concerned me was that from about 10 pm until about 3 am the air condition / heating unit gave off a strong smell of cannabis, as though someone was smoking it outside and it was bringing it into the hotel.
I would not stay here again, i would not recommend this hotel to friends or family and i will be making a formal complaint to the hotel following my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaitastic2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at the radisson for one night with my daughter and was disappointed by the standard of cleanliness .the room in itself was ok but hardly colour coordinated but I can cope with that .both the bathroom and the walls had some filth the nature of which I d rather keep to myself .to make matters worth we couldn't dine there on Sunday night as the restaurant shuts on Sunday .a big disappointment from a hotel which upon arrival look very welcoming

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wibble666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, South Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We regularly visit Birmingham and have stayed at quite a few different hotels in the city. The Radisson Blu looks impressive from street level and we have been considering staying in this 39 storey, glass fronted building since it opened a few years ago. Our room was on a high floor, so we had a panoramic view of Birmingham from the huge windows; the decor is clean and modern. On first impression, this is a very nice hotel, but it would benefit from a few touch-ups in places, especially to some of the furniture in the room. The hotel is in an excellent location and was very convenient for us to get to the gay village as well as for shopping and restaurants etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear AndrewJH
Many thanks for your feedback, with our guest feedback we can improve both product and service.
As per your review we commene next week the first stage of a refurbishment in the bedrooms and hope to have all bedrooms done by the end of the first quarter.
I sincerely hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
I wish you a Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is centrally located which is great - very friendly helpful staff on check in. The room was ok but rather tired looking - the pillows were horrendous far too soft . Bathroom was clean but also very tired looking. I thought it was rather over priced for what it was.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Corinne P.
Many thanks for your comments, your feedback is important to us.
As from next week we are undergoing a refurbishment in the majority of the bedrooms, we had new pillows arriving early this week which will be now put in all the rooms.
I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing, we still hope to see you back soon in our improved and refurbished hotel.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Over the years I have been to many a Christmas function and fully enjoyed the experience. However I can't say the same this year at this hotel. This is season of good will to all men pity this hotel has lost this concept when they charge a high price for drinks and for poor quality food that was also lacking in portion size. Staff seemed disorganised and lacking Christmas spirit. Thank goodness for our group because laughter was the only thing of any quality and in abundant supply.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear John P,
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor.
As a hotel we always do our best to deliver guest satisfaction and I'm disappointed to read that you felt that our hotel didn't meet your Christmas requirements.
Our food and staff have always been an asset to our hotel and we are in a true Christmas spirit and looking forward too many more parties to come.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,392 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing