We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed on the 16th floor in a suite, room was clean and well presented, nice comfy bed and a relaxing bath, worth asking for a upgrade to a suite when booking, and always ask for a high floor 14 upwards to appreciate the views and cut out the noise from the city which can be quite bad on weekends due to all the beeping taxis and boy racers trying to impress their mates (haha)

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbx29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    743
    522
    283
    167
See reviews for
131
791
134
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed over to have a night with friends & and do some shopping. The hotel is in the city & near the train station my room was clean & comfortable it had great views we ate in the restaurant and thought the food lovely it was really nice stay .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Radisson for the third time in January. Booked a one bedroom suite on the 16th floor. Our room was ready upon arrival and the check in was friendly and quick. Check in staff were polite and very helpful.
Our room was great. Very spacious and clean, with a great corner position. Being on the 16th floor made the view somewhat better.
Was very impressed with the amenities available in the room and the quality of the furniture. I read some negative reviews here but overall I think the one bedroom suite was very good value given its size and amenities.
I have re booked again for later this month. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ncp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our room in itself was perfectly ok. Comfortable, quiet and a view, albeit of a roundabout in Birmingham ! But frankly I was fine with that. Good breakfast too.
What I wasn't fine with was the plumbing. A luke warm bath in the evening. A sink tap that just dribbled cold water, and the only way we got hot showers in the morning was to flush the toilet every 30 secs, which we obviously discovered by accident !!
But what really annoys me is that a) I wasn't asked how my stay was when I checked out and b) when I complain about the plumbing I was promised contact from the manager which after 5 days has still not happened.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear David H,
Many thanks for your review and constructive feedback, with your comments we can improve both product and service.
I have taken your comments up with our Chief Engineer and we will be investigating that the water was not at the required temperature, we are very sorry for the inconvenience and this is definitely not what to expect from a 4 star hotel.
I sincerely hope you will stay with us any time soon, please contact me directly and I will personally look after your booking.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks like a luxury hotel from the outside however is in need of renovation.

Rooms are a good size, however furniture is tacky - painted gold & a little chipped. There were also a few stains on the carpet. TV was of extremely poor quality & small. Not what you would expect from a four star hotel. Cleanliness standards are not up to scratch.

Whilst in the shower, I heard a door bang. A few minutes later I received a call from reception & to my horror they advised me that they had given a guest the key to my room caused by an error on the booking system. The guest had then entered the room. No apology was given. Considering that I was a woman travelling alone, this caused me great concern. I complained at Reception was still not given an apology. Customer service is clearly not a priority.

I have stayed at the hotel once before & my experience was slightly better, however I would think carefully before booking again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetadventures2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Jetsetadventures,
Many thanks for your recent review, your feedback is important to us.
I agree with you that an upgrade is needed, and I am happy to confirm that this is taking place in the coming 4 weeks, we will be re-carpeting all the remaining bedrooms.
I have taken your feedback on board in regards to the TV system and we do our best to upgrade this any time soon to an upgraded standard.
We are terribly sorry for double booking your room I have followed this up internally and amended the operating procedure to avoid this from happening in the future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Took husband away for his birthday very disappointed with the hotel. Rubbish room that seems tired. Wish I had spent the money on another hotel. Fan is making a loud noise in the bathroom. Carpet has lots of stains on it and the curtains have seen better days.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florencevictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Florencevictoria,
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor, your feedback is important to us.
We are very sorry for your disappointing stay, all points addressed in your feedback are currently addressed and in the next 6 weeks the second stage of the room refurbishment will commence.
Please do contact me personally in case you do wish to stay with us again and I will personally look after your booking.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A quick stop over from shopping in Birmingham, got a great deal but overall this felt a real let down. Room ok, quite funky and colourful, but little things like lose door handles, low power in the shower, just spoil it (especially as it is supposed to be 4 Star?) No one serving in the bar and the restaurant service was so poor. 15 minutes to get a bottle of wine - mind you, I couldn't have a bottle that was served to us earlier in the hotel bar - only what was on the menu - obviously a walk down one set of stairs was just too much trouble - I wouldn't mind but the restaurant was very quiet. Despite telling the waiter 3 times that he had brought my partner the wrong starter, he kept bringing it back over and again, saying the chef insisted it was what we ordered?? In the end, we said forget the starter, They then went on to charge us for it having previously apologised and said they would take it off the bill. They automatically charge a 10% service charge?? and it took them three attempts to add up the bill and explain why service charge and some other charge, which I gave up trying to understand were placed on the bill twice. The reception staff were pleasant enough, but for a Radisson, it was disappointing. Not the greatest location either, the surrounding area has seen better times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Phil O,
Our sincere apologies for the lack of service you have received during your visit, we very much appreciate your feedback.
All points raised have been discussed with our team to avoid this from happening in the future, your experience is not what the Radison Blu experience should be.
I sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again and we are able to deliver the ultimate customer service what every guest deserves in our hotel.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,250 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing