We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another visit to the Radisson Blu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 24 February 2014

bookended my visit to the UK with two nights at the Radisson.
One night was a suite and the other with a business class room.
checkin and checkout was seemless both times & as in previous visits the servcie was great.
First night was in a high floor suite and the view was great that night. the 2nd night was around floor 13 i think.
Breakfasts both time were good (again as usual).
Yes the hotel is undertaking essential refurb works but I haven't had the same problems as others and so have enjoyed my visits.

My only quibble is that despite having visited a number of times over the last few years there seems to be no flagging of what papers who request or even a 'welcome back' form the staff. As the staff are always polite i see this as a chain failing but not one that will stop me visiting again.

Room Tip: try a high floor and at very least book a business class room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChazWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

An over priced business class room with stains on the carpet ,stains on the poor quality chairs,an under stocked mini bar,very Luke warm water and a dirty bathroom .Hotel needs a face lift.
Staff on reception very efficient but it helps if you listen to your clients and at least spell their name right.
Restaurant ? Well not too bad .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank steveBamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear SteveBamako,
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory.
The hotel has scheduled a refurbishment at the first of April for a period of 6 weeks to replace the majority of carpets, and we are currently looking at an upgarde of some of the furniture.
We have carried out some research on the minibars and based on customer demand we have limited the number of items, owever via the one touch service you can always order 24 hours a day.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a great hotel! Super rooms with super views of the city - must be the best hotel in Birmingham. Stayed here a few times and have never regretted it. Great value for money for all sizes of rooms. Have stayed in both the Business rooms and larger suites at different occasions - both fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Shower in bathroom-horrendous had to run around to get wet
room was spacious and bed comfortable that was only good thing but couldn't sleep as windows only single glazed and sirens going all nite, when i mentioned it they said hotel is being renovated pity that wasnt told before we booked it

Room Tip: we you need to stay here would ask for room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear alysonlane,
Many thanks for your recent recent stay and online feedback, with your comments we can improve both product and service.
Unfortunately as a city centre hotel we experience from time to time some city noise from the main road.
Our hotel has double glazed windows and I can advise you to book the rooms at the rear of the hotel which are much quieter.
I will address the shower pressure as we have in general no negative feedback on this.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very nice hotel, lovely large room and bathroom, bar was buzzing in the evening (good to see in a hotel) and breakfast excellent. Staff warm and friendly. Would stay here again. Hotel recommended a taxi service and called them for us. When we returned my husband realised he had lost his new android phone and called the taxi company and the driver said he had found it and was just around the corner and delivered it to us. So nice to see such honesty!

Room Tip: My husband had an Accor card which we presented and when we compared rooms with our friends we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It was my 3rd stay in Radisson Blu Hotel . This time we stayed in Radisson Blu Birmingham with my boyfriends just a day ago. Check in was quick and friendly, we asked for directions to Symphony Hall as we had to go there for a concert the same evening we arrived. Very nice and friendly check in lady gave us directions and map, we found it very easy. Location of the hotel was perfect for us, close to train station , and within walking distance to Symphony Hall and Museums We have got a room on 11th floor, which gave us a great view from the hotel.The room was nice and spacious, although there were no plug sockets anywhere near any of the mirrors, which was unhelpful when i was trying to dry and do my hair and TV was very small. We had some issues in hotel and i would like to thank helpful front desk staff for helping us in solving them.
Food was good and especially Breakfast was super !!!
Check out lady, Julia ( i believe) was very nice and friendly as well. In general we have got a good impression of a hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olesya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent location for the city centre. Value for Money. Downside, Parking is expensive even with the discount offered from the hotel. Room 1815 has excellent views of Birmingham. Room service was very good as they exchanged a glass within 5 minutes and were very apologetic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
953 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,344 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £66 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing