We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for shopping trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Camberley
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great for shopping trips”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and even with the most basic room it more than meets the expectations of a four star hotel. The staff are great, the rooms are clean and comfortable and it is central, close to the station, Bullring and the nightlife.

Room Tip: Get one as high as possible as the traffic noise can pervade the double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamberleyNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear CamberleyNel,
It was a great surprise to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Birmingham hope you have not spent too much on shopping.
It was great to have you as our guest again and we are looking forward to your next shopping trip.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    751
    525
    284
    168
See reviews for
135
801
136
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a one bedroom suite on the 12 th floor, anD had a great time. The suite was big and well furnished with fantastic views of the city. Hotel staff were very helpful, breakfast very good, and the spa did a great massage.
The location is brilliant right in the centre of Birmingham, two minutes from the station, civic centre or Chinatown. The down side is quite a lot of traffic noise at night, even on 12th floor, so stay high if possible. I would definitely stay here again on a trip to Birmingham, I wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Rosemary F,
Many thanks for your recent visit to Birmingham and our hotel, you have highlighted us for all the right reasons, many thanks.
Please let us know when you want to relax again in Birmingham and we are looking forward looking after you.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Radisson many times over the years and have always been pleased with the standards of service. Great staff, food rooms, location to Birmingham City centre and the mail box. Will definitely keep coming back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Mdavis04,
It was great to have you as our guest and we very much appreciate your positive feedback.
See you soon again.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I'm not one to leave reviews but in light of the occasional negative review I really wanted to step up and comment on my recent stay (28 Feb-2 Mar 2014). We stayed in an Executive twin room (spotless and pleasant smelling) on the 18th floor with complimentary small cakes and a note from the GM - nice touch. We ate both nights ordering room service as the room was so comfortable and peaceful and the standard of food delivered with a smile every time was excellent. As two busy Mum's, ordering room service and eating in your PJs, watching TV was the ultimate indulgence! Breakfast was wonderful and when a lay in beckoned on the last morning, a full English delivered was as fresh and first class as if served in the restaurant! Poached eggs were perfection even though they had to travel to the 18th floor!

Nothing was too much trouble for the front desk, every member of staff acknowledged us in the hallways, the room service telephone calls were always received cheerily and acknowledging me by name. I really cannot say enough great things about our stay. We are now planning a return visit with the husband's in tow in the near future.Location is perfect for arrival by train, shopping and lots of restaurant choice - front desk even loan you a brolly when the rain begins. As one of us has a child at the University of Birmingham this will definitely become our place of choice to always stay in Birmingham. Thank you to all staff and their hard work.

Room Tip: The high rooms offer a fascinating view of the busy city but minimal noise disruption.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Ntsnapper,
How lovely to hear about your experience in our hotel and Birmingham, feedback overall is important to us and well apppreciated when it's reflecting your great stay with us.
I have personally shared all your comments with the staff and we can not wait till your next visit with your husbands.
Please let us know your preferred floor and we will be looking after you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Restaurant is amazing and the staff in this hotel are first class. I would 100% recommend the restaurant, the food was of such a high quality, and the service was extremely professional. The reception staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Carl M,
Such nice comments about our Filini restaurant, on behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for your custom.
We have a great menu for Mother's Day we hope to see you then.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on many occasions and always been pleased

The service is good and the rooms are nice. Standard rooms are fairly basic but the business class rooms and the suites offer a little more luxury. They still have some smoking rooms too which is a bonus for us.

Good location for The Mailbox and also Bullring

Highly recommended

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JSB1JSB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear JSB1JSB1,
Thank you for your stay and we are pleased to hear about your positive experiences with us, please contact our reservations department for your next stay and we can ensure you are looked after as always.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here last night, having been a few times before down the years. It's starting to get a bit frayed around the edges these days. I checked in, took my bags up and the key didn't work so had to take it all back down until I could get a key that worked. All a bit boring. Most of our group had similar experiences. Room was pretty clean but the bathroom had a strong drain smell.
On changing to go to the gym, I was told on arrival by a spa worker that it is closed all day. It seems it's too noisy for the non-existent spa customers. So now it's open for three hours around dawn and after 6.30 in the evening. So effectively, there may as well not be a gym.

It gets three stars because it's opposite a brilliant Caribbean café/take away. Otherwise it has an end-of-empire scruffy feel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pommie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Pommie60,
We are sorry to hear about your somewhat disappointing stay, unfortunately the key cards are sometimes temperamental and can be deactivated when you hold it too close to your telephone, I have escalated this with our supplier.
We have dealt with the drain smell in the bathroom this was caused by an unknown reason and did not effect all rooms.
You are happy to know that we are starting the first fase of our refurbishment in April and the rooms will be addressed followed by the lobby later in the year.
We do hope you will give us another try after the refurbishment.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing