We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic bed”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I expected the Radisson Blu to be nice, it's certainly a bit of a landmark in the centre of Birmingham but I didn't expect the quilt and pillows to be so soft and comfy. I get to stay in a lot of hotels with my job and I have to say I was genuinely surprised by the bed. The rest of the room was nice enough, bathroom was clean but beginning to show its age although I think the towels must come from the same company that supplied the duvet and pillows, lovely and thick. The only thing I could find that was a negative was the lack of biscuits, even cheap hotels usually provide a snack or two, but nothing to be had at the Radisson. Had to go and have a sandwich instead.

Room Tip: No real tips but you have to dig deep into the alcoves to find the curtains, a job for which you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Doug

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us. The housekeeping department will greatly appreciate the comments.

With regards to the biscuits, we are looking into providing our guests with a few extras in the future.

We hope you come back to visit us soon.

Kind Regards
Marie

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    731
    522
    280
    167
See reviews for
130
787
134
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Blu Radisson brand gives you expectations, especially if you have been in the same hotel in Copenhagen or Oslo.
Problem is: this is an outdated hotel, not in a nice neighborhood and if you have a car is a problem.
Is properly located near the stations, there are venues in the vicinity, but at night does not look good.
Parking is near but it is a public althought not coveniently located.
Quality of the room was good: ten-fifteen years ago.
They need refurbishing like the bathrooms.
Staff was kind and available

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetterListenToMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The hotel is slowly going through a refurbishment in different phases and we hope to have it completed soon. But as with all things it does take time.

We hope that you will come back and give the hotel another chance once our refurbishment is completed.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Eight storeys up, the sun sparkling on the surprisingly green city of Birmingham made this a stunning view. I can't imagine what it's like looking out over England's second largest city from the top floor, since our room was only about a third of the way up.

It was great value for a one night stay. Everything went smoothly from online booking, to registration to checkout. The decor is modern, everything spotless and the lifts almost jet-propelled.

Its location is ideal, just off the main city centre, towering above a major roundabout on the A38, but without traffic noise. New Street Station is only 200 yards away, with fast and regular links to Birmingham International Airport. The buzzing cultural and leisure areas around the town hall, Conservatoire and Broad Street are within easy walking range, as is the peaceful environs of Birmingham's beautifully-rejuvenated canal quarter.

Value for money, terrific location, easy transport links and a view across a lovely, yet often-maligned city mean that we'd return here whenever the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmoreMaroon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is greatly appreciated and the staff are happy to hear they were able to make your stay so great.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon!

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Me and my Sister stayed here for the Gay Pride Weekend! 24th + 25th of May! WOW is all I can say! I have to admit I was very nervous about the hotel after I read so many reviews on here that slated the hotel!! We arrived at the hotel earlier than our check in (we contacted the hotel and they had arranged early check in! Free with no hassle) a lady greeted us at the check in desk! Sorry didn't get her name, she was Asian with a headscarf, very friendly and extremely welcoming she checked us in swiftly and with ease please pass on our thanks! Then to the room, it was gorgeous, lovely and clean and the view was breathtaking! The bed was amazing and was so comfortable, the room was massive with lots of space! Room service were great as we were calling them constantly for things such as ice, glasses etc they even brought me a plaster at 3AM!! The cleaner in the morning came in and made our room look gorgeous again, she was so friendly and literally made the room look like it had before we had partied away! We were sad that we had to check out as we had such a good stay!! Ignore the bad reviews, I have stayed at Hyatt several times and I have to say I preferred it here!! The staff were just so friendly! Also a receptionist called Jo was so helpful on checkout and with sorting our bill, I also had a jacket dry cleaned which they dropped straight back at my room! Honestly if you want an amazing experience book here!!! We look forward to staying again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordanjames2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mr Jordan

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! The lady you are referring to with the headscarf is Sofia and I will pass the comments onto her and Jo. I know they will be very happy with the mention and the knowledge they made your stay with us so enjoyable.

We look forward to having your back with us soon.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this last minute, stayed over the weekend from the 30th may till 2nd june & really enjoyed staying here. Had a great check in from Dennis, was quick & prompt. Location of the hotel is perfect for anything & everything, right in the middle of brum. The room was 1305, had a great view of birmingham, room was very nice, only blemish on the weekend was the bad smell in the bathroom regularly, some pipework issues i'm guessing & bathroom was not as clean or as good as i expected, & a very annoying fan sound constantly from the bathroom. To be fair i did not complain so i'm sure they would have sorted it out. All the staff were excellent, service with a smile delivered each time i interacted with the staff! Would definately stay again! Great location & staff!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Omar Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Omar

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and your comments have been passed onto Dennis who is very grateful for the positive mention.

Yes, if the issues would have been mentioned the staff would have rectified it immediately for you and I am sorry that these things happened during your stay with us.

We hope that you come back to see us soon!

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Check in took a lot longer than you might expect even though there were only 5 or 6 groups in front of us at the desk but reception was only manned by 2 personnel with a further 2 stood chatting behind the desk. We went as a group so we had booked 3 rooms and when we checked in I asked if we could have rooms next to each other. We managed to get all 3 rooms on the same floor which was a nice surprise and my room was adequate. The size was about right for the price but I would only give it 6/10 for cleanliness as the top of the TV was filthy and some of the tiles in the bathroom were grubby but the bed and towels were all fine. I like that we had an ice bucket in the room as we had a drink before we went out in the evening. We decided to have a meal in the hotel restaurant for convenience and this was the worst experience I have ever had in a restaurant. I could go on about it but the main low points were that we had finished our first drinks and even though we were literally the only people there with about 7 staff we still had to go and ask for more drinks and when we eventually got more drinks the waitress handed a bottle of wine to my friend to open and pour himself. The food was very low quality for the price with the steaks not being cooked as requested - medium well done was still bloody and pink in the middle and was more medium rare and they were very gristly. I ordered the chicken which was the smallest portion of meat I have ever seen but it was quite tasty I have to admit just there wasn't enough of it. The wine, for the price, wasn't great quality and even for a hotel restaurant the other alcoholic drinks were very overpriced. The staff were all grouped together on the far side of the restaurant talking away when we wanted to order more drinks and food and to have 2 courses it took more than an hour and a half. We decided not to order desserts and asked for the bill. When we looked and saw it had a 10% gratuity added we requested for this to be removed (this is the first time I have ever done this in my life) and when they came back with the revised bill the waitress didn't even ask why we wanted to remove it so not only was the service shocking but they didn't seem to care. When we tried to pay by card the machine didn't have a signal at the table so we had to walk to the entrance and pay there instead.
When we came back to the hotel, after a night out, the doors were locked which was fine as this makes sense for security reasons being so central to a lot of the bars. When the night staff opened the door to let us in he didn't even ask to see our keys and just let us walk right in.
Overall I think the hotel is adequate but maybe slightly overpriced and definitely not up to the standard of other Radisson hotels I have stayed in. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear David

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments have been passed onto our F&B manager as I think one of your other party has e-mailed us directly regarding the same matter. We are investigating the issues that your rasied and I would be grateful if you would contact me to further discuss.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as it was central and had stayed with the chain previously. Stayed on 17th floor and had no road noise. My only fault was that the room was not serviced during the stay which meant that we had no tea making essentials for the second day and ran short of toilet rolls

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank holidaymad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that our housekeeping staff did not service your room accordingly. I have passed your feedback onto our head housekeeper to investigate. I hope that this did not mar, what otherwise was a good stay for you.

I do hope that we will see you back again with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,392 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Rezidor, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing