We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked to stay here in order to see a show at the nearby Alexander Theatre. The Penn & Teller show on 16 June was excellent. The hotel was not.

We booked a suite and found our self in room 1503 on the 15th floor. On the positive side the suite was large and spacious with floor to ceiling windows. Tea, coffee and toiletry supplies were generous.

On the negative side there was everything else.

The suite looked like an office. Large, bare walls with no art work to break up the monotonous colour scheme. The chairs and settee were all stained. I shall not ponder with what. The room had 2 TVs but only 1 remote control. A remote control isn’t up to the task if you have to walk into another room to collect it.

We found the ironing board but there was no iron. The hotel guide proudly tells you to use their “one call” service who would attend to any issues whether that is, room service, problems with the room, restaurant booking etc. I rang. After 15 minutes without an answer I ventured down to reception. I didn’t fancy waiting in a queue of 28 people (I counted them) waiting to see reception. I’d just returned to the room and the fire alarm went off. So I walked down the fire escape from the 15th floor in a creased shirt.

The following day opening the curtains to be confronted by several workmen in a hoist outside the window. Granted, I wasn’t wearing any clothes but I didn’t expect that to be a problem 15 stories up.

Breakfast was a pretty average buffet with several dishes that had been kept warm too long.

I would not stop here again and would advise others to avoid it.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy-Lifeboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Mandy

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recently stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations. I do think that you have contacted us directly as well regarding your stay, and we have been investigating the issues that you faced.

With regards to the queue at the reception desk, the staff were working their hardest to make sure every guest was attended to quickly and promptly but sometimes it can take a bit longer depending on the person.

The window works, we were not informed of the work being carried out as some of the work pertains to the apartments and can only again apologise for the embarrassment that was caused.

My colleague should be replying directly to yourself as well and should you have any other queries please do let her know. I do hope that this occurrence will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,304)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,243 - 1,249 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

In general this hotel needs a good overhaul. Tired rooms, dirty with mould in the shower, which was not working very well either. Towels had holes in them. Hotel is also in a rough part of town, if you can, get a hotel nearer the ICC, much much nicer area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1811jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Jonathan

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. The hotel is slowley going through a refurbishment that is being completed in different phases. This is an ongoing process but we hope to have it completed this year. I do hope that you will give the hotel another chance to see the changes that have and are being made.

Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have stayed here several times and consistently good but nothing outstanding. We had a large executive room so plenty of space but strange shape. Bathrooms starting to look a bit tired.
The remote for the TV was missing. We called reception but it didn't arrive which was a bit irritating when we came in late.
Very pleasant staff at check-in and breakfast and very good location

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Katyee

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your TV remote was never delivered to you and will follow up with our team. But am glad to know that you had a good stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As you pass through the revolving door of this Radisson Blu, you are met with 5 counters of eager staff to check you in, hence our business meeting was not held up by lengthy administration. The food is of exemplary quality, and catered to the diet restricted individuals. Rooms are spacious and afford a view over Birmingham city. The business centre is full equipped, and made our stay smooth. The staff in the spa are both kind and expert at what they do. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback which has been shared with the staff. We are so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay and conference a good one.

We hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a overnight weekend break in June.

First impressions great, very big and very easy to get to by train. Close to new street station.

The night life and shops all close and easy access. Check in swift, room large with all the necessary condiments. Shower great.

One slight issue would be the breakfast price at £14.95, food was very good but to expensive. The hotel could possibly re think the charge £9.95 would be fair.

All in all would certainly return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank boltonfamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Bolton

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad to know that you had a good stay with us. Your comments regarding the pricing of our breakfast will be passed onto our F&B manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel is of good quality, clean and generous size room. Very friendly and helpful staff both at check-in and breakfast. Breakfast buffet sufficent without being overwhelming. Great location 5minutes walk from train station which was great as I came in with train from airport and had to commute out of town. Only small, but not "deal breaking" downside was bathroom which werent up to rest of room standard. recommended overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback which has been shared with the team. It is great to know that your enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were helpful throughout.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

this is in a great central position and if you get a room with a view at the top it adds an extra bonus to the stay.
The rooms are a good size and meet most of what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
Cleanliness was adequate.

The bar is a bit soul less downstairs but OK if you go upstairs to the restaurant , and then go into a large dining room area , open and well presented. The food is 'italian ' based and unremarkable .
Given there are few restaurants within walking distance , eating in is no hardship , just satisfactory.
We had very good attentive service from the young staff who tried really hard.
Wines were agin Italian based and none the better for it- just the usual average.

Breakfast was busy and plentiful and given it tends to be in the night rates I would say good value overall.

If you are looking for a special night out in a hotel in Birmingham you may well find better. But for fair value, reasonable service and a good location then this is a very good place to stay.

Park over the ring road to avoid extortionate street parking and derelict land sites.
Ask for a high room with a view and you will feel you have had a good deal staying right in the heart of the City where you can easily walk to all the amenities .

Room Tip: High and with a view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCSMIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Marc

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon.

Should you book again please do let me know.

Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,316 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £70 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing