We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A let down”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last Saturday night on the 17th floor. Air con dead, 27oC outside and boiling in the room. Desk offered another room, just as hot. Maintenance are looking at it but their 100% customer satisfaction money back guarantee didn't exist. Paid full price. Won't stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NJHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear that the problems that we have been experiencing with our air conditioning over the last few weeks have had a negative impact on your visit.

We had a couple of rooms during the heat wave where the air conditioning failed which I can appreciate must have been incredibly uncomfortable for you for which I sincerely apologise for.

The satisfaction guarantee is always in place in all of our Hotels across the world and could have been discussed with the Front Desk team during your departure. We keep a log of any complaints made at reception so if you have requested to use the guarantee and were denied this please contact the Hotel e-mailing: info.birmingham@radissonblu.com

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    751
    525
    284
    168
See reviews for
135
801
136
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Very happy with whole stay, from check in to bar service and restaurant service. Rooms clean and spacious enough. TV little small.

One suggestion- gym needs a cleansing spray for machines and floor mat to clean after use.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drdmwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking time out to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your visit but point noted re the gymnasium, we can action this straight away so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent out 4th Anniversary night at the Radisson Blu, and it was superb the hotel room was beautiful,as was the quality of the food. This was complemented by the deciation and care shown by Vaneer one of their staff which should be the bench mark for other hotels, that personal touch was much appreciated. I will be staying there again for sure. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your great review following your recent stay with us, and may I just wish you a happy anniversary on behalf of the Hotel!

I have passed your comments onto Vaneer who is thrilled he was able to make your trip even more special.

I do hope we get to see welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with my husband for one night in July. The hotel is in a good central location right next to the train station and the Bull Ring shopping centre which has loads of bars and restaurants.

We did not eat in the hotel but our room was clean, spacious and tastefully furnished. The hotel staff were also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyMrsCoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your great review of our Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are especially glad that the location worked so well for you.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After staying in various hotels in Brum previously, we decided to try out the Radisson. Big mistake.
The hotel has a great location and the breakfast provided is very good. However, we had a few minor niggles that put us off from using the hotel again. These were the mattresses were too soft (like a water bed!), there was a smell of sewage coming from the air extractors in the bathroom, couldn't make a drink in the morning as the kettle was covered in limscale so the water came out a nice shade of yellow, no 'Do not Disturb' sign (cleaners tried to get into room approx 8.30am) and there wasn't sufficient toilletries provided for 2. All in all, not great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our Hotel following your recent stay with us.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our super buffet breakfast and the location of the Hotel worked well for you, it’s then disappointing to read that the room allocated to you was clearly far below the 'Radisson Standard'

Our Housekeeping Manager & Chief Engineer have both been copies of your review to action with their team members so thank you for the constructive feedback.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

AT 6 ft 5 I "upgraded" to a business king suite and ended up with 2 single beds with very poor mattresses on pushed together. Couldn't move due to the hotel being fully booked. Also no bathrobes, coffee machine or slippers, all advertised on the website, only one bed side table also seemed odd? Not impressed at all and not worth the money, The premier inn is better and half the price!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay and I can only apologise that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Like many hotels, we have a small number of rooms which have flexible bedding and can be either set up as twin or double rooms with the bedding attached together. Rather than twin beds pushed together, they are purpose made in this way.
It’s disappointing to hear that you found the mattress to be poor and Business Class items to be missing from your room. Following your comments our Housekeeping Manager has carried out a full review of all of our Business Class rooms to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your comments

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Reading previous comments was a little apprehensive. We stayed in a business room on 14 floor. (1421) Room was clean and well decorated although slight musty smell on first entering. Very comfort bed and good set of toiletries.

Ok now for minor niggles. I use a cpap machine and always carry an extension lead with me. However even with that I could not reach the nearest power socket which was two bed lengths away. However housekeeping did provide a second extension lead very quickly on request. So note to hotel planner. Please provide power sockets close to bed head for those of us with medical apparatus

Second. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant on Friday night. But four of the seven white wines on the wine list were unavailable!!! So ended up with our third choice of wine.

To end on a positive note the staff both at reception and the restaurant were very attentive and courteous and we felt welcomed. The hotel is conveniently located to city centre but quiet and we will certainly stay again and recommend to friends

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us. It is brilliant to hear how well the team have looked after you during your visit.
I can see how the socket location in the room would present a problem when using medical apparatus, I will raise this with our Head Office to see if any additional sockets can be added to our rooms.
I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Rezidor, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing