We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #75 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Checked in with a very nice member of staff. Initial room was noisy as by air conditioning units so asked to move. Second room turn out to have no air-conditioning in the room as was apparently not working so had a fan on the desk which sort of negated the reason for moving in the first place! In the middle of the heat wave this wasn't nearly enough and well below the standard I would expect for a 4 star hotel. Pillows also had stains on. Generally a disappointing stay made even more disappointing by the fact we sent a letter to the general manager 14 days ago and have still to have a response!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I know that a second letter from the Manager has been sent out to you now as the first one didnt reach you unfortunately.

As we didn’t have an e-mail address for you the copy letter has been reposted.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    721
    514
    277
    163
See reviews for
128
772
126
742
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

stayed here for one night on business. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Room very clean and relatively spacious. I do agree with previous comments that the sockets are in odd places and not that convenient. The hairdryer was in a cupboard which had a socket but was not near a mirror and there was not a convenient socket near where the kettle was located. Not withstanding this, the room was very comfortable and quiet. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was clean with nice toiletries, although the shower could have had a bit more umph. Room service was tasty and priced much as you would expect in this type of hotel. It took 3 goes to get through to order it though. I used the gym and this was clean, with one of most types of machine and a water fountain (and spectacular views across the city while you exercised.) Breakfast was scrumptious with lots of choice and good coffee. Overall i found all the staff very helpful - i had an issue with my remote which was sorted within a few minutes. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from New Street Station, although the area itself is not that good, located on a main road and interchange. But I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room and you will get one high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear how well our staff have looked after you during your visit and how the location of the Hotel worked for you.

I have taken on board the comments regarding the location of plug sockets in the bedroom. We have had other comments to that effect so we are putting a plan together to have additional sockets in each bedroom over the next few months.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found our stay at the hotel excellent. Helpful and friendly staff ( especially Vaneer at reception) nothing was too much trouble. Food great and convenient for theatres and local restaurants etc...Great views of city from bedrooms which were very comfortable. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel following your recent stay with us.

It is brilliant to hear how well our staff looked after you during your visit and I sincerely hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights he for business as it was close to Birmingham New Street station. The rooms have a very modern decor that practically is frustrating, there is hardly anywhere to put your luggage/belongings and there are no plug points anywhere near the bed. Whilst the minimalist look looks ok, I would rather have something more functional. Also the hotel seems to attract a long of groups for hen dos/stags/nights out etc so I found it incredibly noisey. There are definitely better places to stay on the city but if you get a total bargain deal then you should be ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that the room was not to your taste in terms of design. We have a larger than average wardrobe and double luggage rack in each of our rooms which are fixed to the wall which is normally ample space for our guests.

We have recognized from our guest feedback that a plug socket near to the bed would be beneficial which we are hoping to start rolling out across the Hotel soon.

Once again thank you for your review

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Checked in with ease friendly staff
Room was clean and spacious
Room services was speedy for a Saturday night
Breakfast was one of the best we have had

Will stay again without a doubt and very soon

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasnloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay with us.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed her for our anniversary on the 2nd August.

The hotel reception is very nice and the staff were very friendly.
The Room was nice, we were on the 9th floor and overlooked the main roundabout.
the furniture in the room was okay, it had a few scrapes and chips out of the wooden tables.

Our original plan of the night was to order room service and then head out round the city.
We called up room service at 7:30ish and ordered a chicken burger and a pizza. The man that took our order didn't sound like English was his first language.
Its now 8:30 and our food hasn't arrived, I understand there was a wedding taking place in the hotel so we thought fair enough, but they should of got more staff on to cover the normal guest staying at the hotel..
It got to 9:10 and there was still nothing.
I phoned up the room service and said that we placed a order a hour and half ago. The man on the phone apologized and re-took our order, as it appeared no one had actually taken our order..
The food arrived at approximately 9:30 and they had given us ONE small bottle of lemonade as compensation.
By the time we had finished eating it was nearly 10pm. we had to scrap our plans for the evening and it ruined our anniversary stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the service you have received from our Room Service department. It is kind of you to give the benefit of the doubt to the team as you had noticed a wedding in the Hotel however this should not have affected your waiting time in any way and caused you any disruption to your evening plans.

I have picked this up with the Room Service team on your behalf to avoid this happening again.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I expected much more from this hotel having stayed in others. On arrival we queued up like good Brits to check in and witnessed a rather sneering, exasperated Receptionist deal with the Asian family ahead of us. When we were greeted by the same gentleman all smiles and chit chat we felt very uncomfortable as though the level of service depended on your skin colour and accent - ironic considering the amount of foreign workers in the hotel. Our first room had a very strong odour and we were immediately moved, overall service was good (for us) and the barman made an excellent cosmopolitan but overall the hotel was a bit shabby and the service level forced. Breakfast was average, service slow and there are better alternatives in the same price range nearby,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopergirlzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross L, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our Hotel following your recent visit to Birmingham.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our service during your stay in particular during your visit to the bar for cocktails.

In terms of your other comments, I would recommend voicing such serious concerns to the management team while in the Hotel. We have a very diverse team of staff and guests which everyone at the Hotel is very proud of and such acquisitions would always be taken very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Rezidor, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing