We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dome Club a great experience”
Review of Dome Club - CLOSED

Dome Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine putting your head inside a YouTube video. Imagine the video playing all around you. At Dome Club, you don't just watch the video, you immerse yourself in it.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dome Club a great experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Two of us girls visited for last nights Pink Floyd experience at the q club 212 Corporation Street where we met and were introduced to the Dome by Yaz, as we are of an age where we loved the original in the 70s the whole Dome experience was new to us and fantastic. The interpretation of Dark Side of the Moon was so well done, like being on a wild trip without the narcotics! Loved lying down and taking in the whole experience, will definitely try it again. It would be great to have some child friendly films as they would love it too. Well done Dome Club, we will be back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwickshiregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeClubUK, Owner at Dome Club, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Fantastic to hear such positive feedback from long-time Pink Floyd fans, thank you. Yes indeed, as far as we know, we're only the second digital dome in the world (after Montreal) offering such an immersive experience while lying down. As regards content for younger audiences, the education arm of our business makes available the world's largest fulldome (360-degree) film catalogue - look up Immersive Theatres - that's us too :-)

Mario & Yaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dark Side from a new perspective”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having listened to this great album for over 40 years I never thought I'd get to enjoy it again so much as I did last night. The visuals were amazing and the dome is a brilliant way to watch and listen to an hour of captivating entertainment. There's even a bar for drinks before and after.
The club was in one of Birmingham's landmark buildings - the former Methodist Central Hall - proving that it must have been one of the most exciting cities in the world in the late Victorian era. It's an experience in its own right to visit his huge brick and terracotta edifice.
Will go to the next event and watch and listen to Wish You Were Here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete_-n-_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Absolutely amazing experience, would love to do it again, never seen anything like it and to such good music as well, unifies amazing art work and music!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeClubUK, Owner at Dome Club, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
It's such a pleasure to hear such genuine-sounding feedback. Thank you, we're so pleased you enjoyed yourself and would love to do so again.

Mario & Yaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting concept”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went to see what I think was the very first performance of Dark Side of The Moon on 3rd January so that should be taken into consideration with this review. Unfortunately we arrived late and so had to squeeze in a gap in the middle of the dome, and to be honest there was not enough space and I had several peoples feet touching me; myself and my boyfriend saved some space by sharing a pillow but it was still not comfortable; I definitely think there needs to be more pillows or indeed just a padded floor! In addition, I was facing the wrong way, as although it is a dome, much of the visuals are intended to be viewed from one direction (to his credit though, Mario did say that those facing the wrong way that time could come back again for free, though unfortunately I was unable to take up that offer). So comfort in general was not great for us. Also felt uncomfortable having to pose for photos at the end of the show. Staff were very friendly though.

The videos that accompanied the music were in my opinion a mixed bag; some were immersive and exciting to watch, almost like a simulator. Some were very trippy, in line with the music. And some I just found downright weird, or boring, and I tuned out in places. Again, this is just my opinion.

All in all an interesting concept that will hopefully carry on and improve in execution as more people show interest.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeClubUK, Owner at Dome Club, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback. Yes indeed, the 3rd Jan was only the second time we had ever inflated the dome (with no fixed venue, it's not possible to run tests). The dome manufacturer had said we could accommodate 45 adults and so we sold 40 tickets just to be safe. YET it turned out they meant 'sitting' while we had assumed 'lying down'. We immediately reduced subsequent ticket numbers and now only sell 30. Being a 'pop-up' public event, photographs are crucial to help us publicise Dome Club and find a partnership venue. Now, instead of placing notices about photography around the room, we print them directly on the programme. We're sorry you didn't get to enjoy the dome experience in the best way and hope we can possibly make it up to you in the future.


Mario & Yaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Sublime Time”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Saw a number of this seasons presentations and the new dome is just excellent. You feel like you are falling through the show and are part of it not just an interested spectator. A great way to spend an evening, looking forward to the next installment.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ErK692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeClubUK, Owner at Dome Club, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you - and not only with Dome Club-type visuals. Just yesterday we visited our second school with the 7m dome and the powerful sense of immersion with regular astronomy content made three 10 year-old students so nauseous they had to leave. We've never seen that before with the common 5m dome.

Mario & Yaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dome Club also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing