We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conference Aston Hotel
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersGold level
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

First, a warning. There are two sections in this hotel. The older section has the cheaper "classic and some "standard" rooms. Avoid them. The newer section has the "superior" rooms. These are spacious, comfortable and quite. Fortunately I was warned about the former from a contact at Aston Uni and was able to wrangle an upgrade on arrival.

Overall, a good hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, comfortable room with strong, hot shower, freeview TV, free, fast internet, good hearty breakfast. Only negative was the lack of aircon which in muggy Birmingham should have been an essential feature.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the new section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    168
    79
    36
    23
See reviews for
21
95
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

On arrival its quite confusing to find the car park and hotel. We struggled to see any signs saying that this was a hotel, it looked more like a library/office block/college campus. Staff were friendly on check in and were informed we had been upgraded. I hate to think what room we would have been in as i felt our room was quite standard. Despite this the room was fairly clean and modern and the complimentary items like coffee, tea, toiletries were good. I have to say it was the smallest double bed i have seen and the room was very stuffy and warm, i couldn't wait to get out in the morning. The bathroom was fine and met our expectations. We paid £55 for this room for one night which was reasonable. I might use this hotel again for business if i was on my own but not for anything else. The water fountain in the corridor had no cups which was annoying as very thirsty iin the morning. All in all, you pay for what you get!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night in April 2012. The parking was difficult, and we had to ask for a map in order to get this after driving around the campus a couple of times. I would recommend that a printable map is provided to those due to visit the hotel, as this was an inconvenience in busy Birmingham traffic. The room and bathroom were a good size, and were clean. There were good facilities within the room. The walk to the bullring was round 10 minutes, and through the university campus. We got the room for around £40, so I felt that this was good value for money for a hotel convenient to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyElinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Brimingham. The rooms were lovely and clean. Lots of space and comfortable. The only issue was the tv wasnt working one night on our return and as it was late we were told it couldnt get fixed till the next day, slighty annoying when you can't sleep and need something to keep you occupied! Great location though as just minutes away from city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW29_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

I Stayed her for one night in Febuary on a business conference. I was woken around 05:30 am to the extremely loud noises from a nearby retail development loading up large skips and moving them around. For about half an hour it sounded like they were throwing large amounts of glass into large empty steel containers. To add insult, reception "forgot" about my early morning call. The food and room was average but the bar staff were surly and unwelcoming. I would not stay here again despite its convenient location to New Street station

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank daven44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadima, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have spent one night during a business trip in Birmingham.
Clean and comfortable room, Internet is constant.
Price reasonable.
The only drawback is that check out time 09:30 am and if you wish to extend it until 12:00 you have to pay extra 50 pounds. When the whole night price was 67 pounds this is a pretty expensive extension .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan_Poller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures on website these are not classic rooms!
Accommodation is basically an old shabby student room and for the price I paid, £78, a complete rip off. The room was tiny, the walls paper thin. I could hear every word the man in the next room said and the noise of toilets flushing in surrounding rooms was something else! The radiators were loud too!
The bathroom was basic to say the least and the shower weak and tepid. The light switch for it was quite someway from the bathroom itself.
I have paid a lot less for a much nicer place.
I ordered room service and at no point on any menu did it state the service charge for this. I knew I would be charged but tis is not good practice. The food when it arrived was average and grossly overpriced. I won't be back!
Conference facilities during the day were good though!

Room Tip: I was told some rooms were OK...guess you pay more for these?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
The Royal Angus Hotel
#55 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Property: Conference Aston Hotel
Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing