We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in quiet area this time of year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conference Aston Hotel
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very good hotel in quiet area this time of year”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel might seem strange being situated in the middle of a university campus but if you're looking for somewhere to stay in the centre of Birmingham then this is ideal. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The hotel also offers use of the University swimming pool and gym which is a nice added bonus.

The hotel staff were brilliant and were very helpful. They even gave one of their umbrella for the evening as it was raining.

The breakfast included in the room wasn't of the highest quality, but it was far from bad.

I highly recommend the hotel at this time of year, as with no students about the campus was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: We were given a Superior Room. I would recommend this room for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on to our teams.

We are currently investing £2million into a brand new hotel restaurant which will open in mid-October, alongside service training and a review of our dining services.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future, to see an improvement in the quality of the breakfast and restaurant offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    175
    85
    37
    24
See reviews for
21
96
40
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We are still here and unfortunately have 2 more nights.
Firstly this place is impossible to find, both me and my husband (we travelled separately) walked past it several times before coming into Aston business school to ask where it was, our booking called the hotel 'Conference Aston', it would not hurt to have a hotel sign somewhere on the outside. It took several phone calls to even locate the hotel car park.
There is no AC and no mini bar, the bed is too small for 2 (skinny) people and is uncomfortable with just one flat pillow each.
I arrived at 8.30pm and came down to the restaurant at 9 to be told the restaurant closes at 9, I asked if I could get room service but apparently that ends at 9 too.
This morning I went down for breakfast at 7.15, apparently breakfast starts at 8am, too late for us as we had to leave.
This evening I called down for room service at 7pm to be told 'we're not doing room service today' no apology.
I am using the fish and chip shop AGAIN.
There is a noisy bar beneath our room.
We have had 7 fire alarms in 24 hours, 2 have involved evacuating the building.
The electrical socket in the room does not work.
When I ordered a bottle of beer in the bar I asked for one without the special edition label, as I know them to be old and therefore out of date, the lady checked and removed those few.
When I went down for one later, the bottles were back in the fridge, when I asked if I could have one without the limited edition label, the (different) bar lady was very defensive saying she did not have out of date bottles in her bar, well you do!
Anyway, so far we are having a terrible stay, we are here to compete in a tournament but being kept awake by the heat, uncomfortable bed and noise, having to live on takeaways and getting no apology for anything.
The 'hotel' is clean and modern, they just need to learn how to be a HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin-Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we will take these on board and feedback to our team to ensure any issues are resolved and review our services and facilities on an ongoing basis, particularly in relation to guest comfort to incorporate this within future investment and design changes.

Please accept my apologies for the issues you have encountered during your stay.

We have taken your feedback regarding the restaurant services back to our team to ensure we are more flexible with our dining arrangements and, should we be unable to offer a particular service, that we offer an alternative wherever possible and that this is communicated in a proactive and supportive manner to our guests. We have immediately followed up your feedback regarding our stocks to ensure all products are in date, and whilst the bottled lagers had completed the promotion for which they were labelled, please be assured that the products themselves were still in date.

Our bedroom refurbishment programme began on this weekend in July which resulted in the fire alarms being briefly activated more than usual as connections were updated and the sensors adjusted to the changes in the affected areas. I hope this goes some way to assure you that this is not a normal occurrence within the hotel. Where the alarm did continue to go into continuous alert, above all else, the safety and well being of our guests remains our paramount priority, therefore full evacuations were undertaken.

We are also working on improving the signage to the hotel and there is now a large illuminated monolith outside the building, with future plans for improved signage on the building itself. We are also opening a new, more accessible car park, directly off the A38 in October.

I understand our senior event manager has already been in contact to discuss your experience in more detail, and I hope the above goes some way to further explaining some of the instances during your stay.

Our refurbishment of the bedrooms are complete by mid September with our restaurant, lounge and bar fully complete by December 2013 and I sincerely hope we may be able to welcome you back for a much more relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Can't go wrong with this Hotel, clean, friendly, nice food and beer, quiet. It's out of the town center and within the grounds of the University. Very pleasant :)
Good power shower, comfy double bed and all very clean. Complimentary shower and bathroom products, tea and coffee. Even biscuits.

Room Tip: standard double room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and kind comments.

We have passed this on to our food and beverage and front of house teams, and sincerely hope we are able to welcome you back very soon.

We are currently expanding and refurbishing our lounge, bar and restaurant which is due to be complete by mid October with the extension opening in early December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Everything generally fine for a business venue, easy access to wifi and enough plugs in the room. Main issue was how warm the rooms were. They were sweltering and the windows only open a small way. Seemingly something the venue know about because there is a fan in each room. Doesn't really do the job though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments.

We have passed this on to our housekeeping team to look at how we are able improve the comfort of our bedrooms,especially during hot weather.

We have taken a lot of feedback on board regarding our smaller rooms and we are currently refurbishing our single bedrooms which are due to be completed by mid September, which will considerably improve the comfort of our smaller bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Have stayed at the centre twice this year for meetings and have had a mixed experience. In February I had a lovely room, spacious, clean, roomy and in April I had a pokey room which was basic to say the least and the electrics did not work. Being an on campus hotel I wonder who the clientèle actually are and whether the staff are trained accordingly. The feeling I had on both occasions was one of an impersonal nature. Reception staff were not very helpful. The food was very good and of course you have the use of the pool, sauna etc. I would recommend this hotel to others but look to manage their expectations by saying its a bit hit and miss. If you are driving, make sure you book car parking early otherwise you will end up in a multi-storey car park 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: The single rooms are very basic and a bit hit and miss whether the electrics work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments.

We have passed this on to our housekeeping and front of house teams and will be working with each of our departments on a brand new programme over the next few weeks to ensure you always receive the same high standard of service and a friendly and welcoming approach.

We have taken a lot of feedback on board regarding our smaller rooms and we are currently completely refurbishing our single bedrooms which are due to be completed by mid September, which will considerably improve the comfort of our smaller bedrooms. They are receiving a full refurbishment with brand new ensuite shower rooms and improved business facilities, including USB charging points.

I sincerely hope we can welcome you back from September, when all of our bedroom refurbishments will be complete.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hotel would be lovely for a conference as it spacious and very modern. We decided to stay in this hotel to explore birmingham it not that close to the city centre as it takes around ten minutes walk away. Was never anyone at reception which thought wasn't very good. And when rang asking for room service was told to ring back as it had not started yet. Rang back to reception and was put through to the bar who then offered to put my through to the chef and then was back to the reception-- nightmare as one half didnt know what the other half was doing. When finally did go down and order it took them twenty minutes to serve the food.

Breakfast was lovely very nice and freshly cooked. Good as able to use pool and facilities.

Overall Wouldnt stay at this hotel unless was attending a conference.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyapplelaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments.

We have passed this on to our front of house and restaurant and bar teams as there should always be someone available at our reception. You should also be able to order room service much more quickly and efficiently.

Following feedback on our restaurant and bar, we began an extensive refurbishment of these areas yesterday with brand new areas opening from October. A brand new hotel bar will provide a much more intimate and relaxing environment for dining and address the atmosphere within these areas. The restaurant will also become a brand new space, completely refurbished and extended with new furniture and design style for relaxed dining, particularly in an evening. The main restaurant reopens in October with the extension opening in December.

I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the future for a more comfortable stay and to show you some of the improvements we have made following the feedback we have received.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of a business training course.

I thought it was a really good venue - room comfortable and spacious with large bath towels, free water, all the usual facilities and very clean. I was on level 3 and about halfway along the corridor and heard nothing from rooms around me all night. Some of my colleagues on a higher floor said they couldn't sleep due to the wind but I had no issues.The food and staff were both very good too although the breakfast was a little too greasy for my liking. The venue is easy to find, has nearby parking and is a short walk from city centre. Can't fault it really.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Super_Mazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,446 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
901 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Property: Conference Aston Hotel
Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing