We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great improvement on most uni venues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conference Aston Hotel
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for a weekend seminar and found it superior to other universities' attempts at attracting conference business (the few I have experienced anyway). For a start, it seems this centre was purpose-built.

Like other reviewers, I had some difficulty finding my way in despite their highly detailed location map. Instructions are hard to follow when driving alone through city traffic and, paradoxically, the finer the detail the tougher is it to read. Better street signage is the answer; a big sign saying "Aston Conference Centre" pointing down the lane to the car park. I could cope with that.

Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful; they wouldn't be out of place at a top hotel. Indeed everyone we encountered, from the porters to the waitresses at breakfast and dinner were unfailingly polite and friendly.

My room was more than adequate with a lovely big single bed, half way to a double, and all the usual provisions including a clean and modern shower. Couldn't help having a chuckle at the block of soap labelled "body cleansing bar". Is there no end to these euphemisms?

Wi-fi in the room was superb, connecting immediately to internet with the given password and running at a speed of almost 30Mb/s (yes, I measured it, more out of surprise than geekiness).

Friday and Saturday evening meals were well up to restaurant standard, far removed from uni canteen fare. Breakfast was the help-yourself full works (love it!), with eggs cooked to order if you didn't want the scrambled offering.

Conference facilities were well up to scratch, with a variety of room sizes available and fully functioning AV equipment in the main rooms.

Only real gripe was a shortage of lifts to the upper floors. It seemed there was only one, next to reception, involving a luggage-laden trek around three sides of a large square to find the bedroom. There were stairs that side but you do wonder how a less fit guest might cope. It's possible the access arrangement were compromised by building works going on in the piazza at the centre of the hotel block; certainly it would be worth checking if you have mobility issues.

The construction works also meant we had to eat in a separate building a few minutes' walk from the conference centre but it was no hardship. There are several other eateries on and around the campus including the intriguingly named Sacks of Potatoes pub.

If you're seeking a venue for a conference or seminar in central England, the Aston Business School is definitely one for the short list.

PS: Just found that Google Maps satellite view shows the university in incredibly high resolution, which may help the process of finding your way in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your kind comments to the teams.

We have just simplified our maps and directions following feedback from our guests to remove a lot of the detail that may have caused some confusion. We are also in the process of updating our signage to include better wayfinding from the surrounding streets.

I'm sorry to hear of the issues from the lift access. All of our lifts have now been fully restored and the refurbishment of the hotel restaurant, lounge and bar is now complete, with full restaurant services now back in the main hotel. The main lift to the meeting room floors is now back in operation from the ground floor, which unfortunately was out of use during the refurbishment.

Thank you, again for your comments; I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to see the changes we have made during the refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was the second time staying here for a training course and I had a much bigger room than last time. The room was clean and spacious with a double bed and plenty of room to work. There are major works going on site and whilst this did not spoil the sleep quality we did have to go over to the Lakeside Center to eat and use the bar. However the bar is not conducive to relaxing with a glass of wine as it is in a large room used as the dining room. I'm sure this is only a temporary measure and things will return to normal in the future and the bar in the hotel will be open. Good location, value and no complaints with the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeepottwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and for bearing with us during the refurbishment of the hotel restaurant and bar. I'm sorry to hear the atmosphere was not as relaxing as it could have been. We have passed this feedback onto the team. The restaurant, lounge and bar within the hotel have now reopened and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future to see the changes. The hotel bar has been one of the key areas that we have changed quite considerably to ensure that all our guests have somewhere relaxing that doesn't feel like a conference space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a conference. I emailed the conference organiser prior to the event to warn them about my nut allergy, and she said she'd informed the venue. But they clearly do not understand the concept of food allergies. At breakfast on the first day, I took a bowl of what was labelled as Frosties and started eating, but then realised that it was in fact Crunchy Nut.

Fortunately my allergy to peanuts is not fatal (although to brazil nuts it would have been), so I only ended up spending the day retching, and experienced crushing stomach cramps - for many nut allergy sufferers this mistake would have been deadly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank RMK935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback; I'm sorry to hear about your experience within our restaurant. We have passed on your feedback to our catering team to ensure that food is correctly labelled, so as not to cause any issues for anyone with allergies of any sort. I understand our Event Manager spoke to you on the day to also reassure you that we would pass this feedback on to our team to rectify as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 11 Sept 2013. I arrived at the hotel after dark and agree with the comments on one of the other posts about the lack of signs indicating where the hotel and reception are (nothing on the outside of the buildings or the doors). My room was clean and spacious. There was tea and coffee facilities as well as a bottle of water.

My only slight niggle was the bar/restaurant was closed in the hotel building although I was told there was one a few minutes away I didn't fancy wandering around in the dark by myself (as a lone woman).

Overall very good value for money.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013
Google Translation

La ringrazio molto per i tuoi commenti. Sono molto lieto di sentire che vi è piaciuto la vostra esperienza in hotel.

Faremo in modo che i vostri commenti sono passati al nostro team.

Il nostro nuovo ristorante si apre in due settimane. Mi auguro che si possa benvenuto indietro quando i lavori di costruzione è completa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel might seem strange being situated in the middle of a university campus but if you're looking for somewhere to stay in the centre of Birmingham then this is ideal. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The hotel also offers use of the University swimming pool and gym which is a nice added bonus.

The hotel staff were brilliant and were very helpful. They even gave one of their umbrella for the evening as it was raining.

The breakfast included in the room wasn't of the highest quality, but it was far from bad.

I highly recommend the hotel at this time of year, as with no students about the campus was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: We were given a Superior Room. I would recommend this room for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on to our teams.

We are currently investing £2million into a brand new hotel restaurant which will open in mid-October, alongside service training and a review of our dining services.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future, to see an improvement in the quality of the breakfast and restaurant offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We are still here and unfortunately have 2 more nights.
Firstly this place is impossible to find, both me and my husband (we travelled separately) walked past it several times before coming into Aston business school to ask where it was, our booking called the hotel 'Conference Aston', it would not hurt to have a hotel sign somewhere on the outside. It took several phone calls to even locate the hotel car park.
There is no AC and no mini bar, the bed is too small for 2 (skinny) people and is uncomfortable with just one flat pillow each.
I arrived at 8.30pm and came down to the restaurant at 9 to be told the restaurant closes at 9, I asked if I could get room service but apparently that ends at 9 too.
This morning I went down for breakfast at 7.15, apparently breakfast starts at 8am, too late for us as we had to leave.
This evening I called down for room service at 7pm to be told 'we're not doing room service today' no apology.
I am using the fish and chip shop AGAIN.
There is a noisy bar beneath our room.
We have had 7 fire alarms in 24 hours, 2 have involved evacuating the building.
The electrical socket in the room does not work.
When I ordered a bottle of beer in the bar I asked for one without the special edition label, as I know them to be old and therefore out of date, the lady checked and removed those few.
When I went down for one later, the bottles were back in the fridge, when I asked if I could have one without the limited edition label, the (different) bar lady was very defensive saying she did not have out of date bottles in her bar, well you do!
Anyway, so far we are having a terrible stay, we are here to compete in a tournament but being kept awake by the heat, uncomfortable bed and noise, having to live on takeaways and getting no apology for anything.
The 'hotel' is clean and modern, they just need to learn how to be a HOTEL.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melvin-Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback, we will take these on board and feedback to our team to ensure any issues are resolved and review our services and facilities on an ongoing basis, particularly in relation to guest comfort to incorporate this within future investment and design changes.

Please accept my apologies for the issues you have encountered during your stay.

We have taken your feedback regarding the restaurant services back to our team to ensure we are more flexible with our dining arrangements and, should we be unable to offer a particular service, that we offer an alternative wherever possible and that this is communicated in a proactive and supportive manner to our guests. We have immediately followed up your feedback regarding our stocks to ensure all products are in date, and whilst the bottled lagers had completed the promotion for which they were labelled, please be assured that the products themselves were still in date.

Our bedroom refurbishment programme began on this weekend in July which resulted in the fire alarms being briefly activated more than usual as connections were updated and the sensors adjusted to the changes in the affected areas. I hope this goes some way to assure you that this is not a normal occurrence within the hotel. Where the alarm did continue to go into continuous alert, above all else, the safety and well being of our guests remains our paramount priority, therefore full evacuations were undertaken.

We are also working on improving the signage to the hotel and there is now a large illuminated monolith outside the building, with future plans for improved signage on the building itself. We are also opening a new, more accessible car park, directly off the A38 in October.

I understand our senior event manager has already been in contact to discuss your experience in more detail, and I hope the above goes some way to further explaining some of the instances during your stay.

Our refurbishment of the bedrooms are complete by mid September with our restaurant, lounge and bar fully complete by December 2013 and I sincerely hope we may be able to welcome you back for a much more relaxing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Can't go wrong with this Hotel, clean, friendly, nice food and beer, quiet. It's out of the town center and within the grounds of the University. Very pleasant :)
Good power shower, comfy double bed and all very clean. Complimentary shower and bathroom products, tea and coffee. Even biscuits.

Room Tip: standard double room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and kind comments.

We have passed this on to our food and beverage and front of house teams, and sincerely hope we are able to welcome you back very soon.

We are currently expanding and refurbishing our lounge, bar and restaurant which is due to be complete by mid October with the extension opening in early December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
425 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#45 of 118 in Birmingham
1,280 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £63 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing