We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conference Aston Hotel
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was expecting something akin to student accommodation so was pleasantly surprised. The appearance and size if the room was good. The facilities were hotel standard, for example I had an iron and board, TV, separate study area, tea and coffee and biscuits. Everything needed for my one night conference stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettlebed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Facilities aren't bad, however communication between reception and food is lacking as was told dinner was between 7 and 9 when it was actually booked for our group at 7. Catering staff very polite and helpful, reception staff on the other hand rude. One walked away when confronted about having to pay a £50 deposit, which would be fine if everyone had to pay it but it turned out to be a minority of the group and as most would understand £50 is a lot when you cannot access it. Room was also cold, heating only on in the morning and evening, no option to turn it on in the day. Average stay but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Just attended a 2 day conference here. The conference facilities are ok, quite modern but the workshop rooms are small and are on different levels, quite difficult to find.

The room was modern with everything u expect but the bed is a 3/4 so not a full double even in a queen room not particularly comfy but ok for a night

Catering wasn't great the evening meal for 100 was curry- no other option so not great if like me you don't eat spicy food. Lunch buffet disappointing quality but breakfast good

Wouldn't stay here again through my own choice but adequate for a work event

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed your feedback to our events team to ensure that our meeting rooms are allocated to suit the size of the meeting. Our recent refurbishment has been completed and we are working on new directional signage following feedback from our guests, to ensure that our smaller meeting rooms are as accessible as possible.

I've also passed your comments to our reception team and housekeepers as all of our Queen Rooms offer a double bed, only our Prince Rooms have three quarter size beds. We will ensure that our communications are followed up immediately so they are accurate on checkin to avoid any further dissatisfaction. This is certainly not our usual standard and can appreciate that it would be disappointing to not check into a double room as you'd been expecting.

We have also taken your feedback onboard regarding the lunch and evening meal, we aim to advise on menus prior to events arriving to ensure that the guests attending have something they are able to enjoy. If we are able to welcome you back to the hotel, or as part of a conference, please do not hesitate to ask a member of our restaurant team if our menus do not cater for your dietary requirements. Where conference menus have been chosen in advance, we will always endeavor to provide an individual meal for anyone who is unable to eat from the chosen menu, especially where menus may be curry themed as we appreciate spicy food is not to all tastes.

Thank you again for your feedback, I hope that if we can welcome you back in the future, that your experience is more representative of our usual high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just checked in for 4 nights and will check out tomorrow.
Small room. Small Bathroom. Small Wardrobe. Built on a budget.
Room too hot and window opens about 1/2 inch.
Room smells strongly of paint.
Corridor smells of cooked cabbage.
Very expensive for what it is.
Premier Inn is 3 minute walk away and is much better.
Campanile is 4 minute walk away and is much cheaper.

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0mSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations within the hotel and that the room did not provide adequate space for your stay. We have checked with our reception team and we endeavor to respond to any issues that our guests may encounter as quickly as possible to avoid any further impact on their experience. We do have larger rooms available with larger wardrobes and bathrooms, I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to move you to one of these rooms to ensure your stay was more comfortable. Our Prince Rooms are our single rooms, which we have worked to design as effectively as possible within the space available.

Our guest's health and safety is paramount, so to ensure this, our windows are set to open by a limited amount, a standard adopted by most hotels; we have now made additional fans available for our guests to help during warmer periods.

We have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team regarding the bedrooms and corridors to monitor. Whilst we have tried to ventilate the hotel areas, some of the paint smells may have been more prominent due to the recent completion of their refurbishment. We have also investigated the cooked cabbage smells with housekeeping and our chefs, as we are somewhat perplexed as to where this may have come from, again, this may have been the result of the recent completion of building works - We have monitored this and have not received any further comments.

I sincerely hope that your stay was not inconvenienced too much by having to move to a different hotel, I appreciate your experience was not as hoped, but should we be able to welcome you back in the future, if you encounter any problems, please let our team know and we will work to rectify things straight away for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for a weekend seminar and found it superior to other universities' attempts at attracting conference business (the few I have experienced anyway). For a start, it seems this centre was purpose-built.

Like other reviewers, I had some difficulty finding my way in despite their highly detailed location map. Instructions are hard to follow when driving alone through city traffic and, paradoxically, the finer the detail the tougher is it to read. Better street signage is the answer; a big sign saying "Aston Conference Centre" pointing down the lane to the car park. I could cope with that.

Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful; they wouldn't be out of place at a top hotel. Indeed everyone we encountered, from the porters to the waitresses at breakfast and dinner were unfailingly polite and friendly.

My room was more than adequate with a lovely big single bed, half way to a double, and all the usual provisions including a clean and modern shower. Couldn't help having a chuckle at the block of soap labelled "body cleansing bar". Is there no end to these euphemisms?

Wi-fi in the room was superb, connecting immediately to internet with the given password and running at a speed of almost 30Mb/s (yes, I measured it, more out of surprise than geekiness).

Friday and Saturday evening meals were well up to restaurant standard, far removed from uni canteen fare. Breakfast was the help-yourself full works (love it!), with eggs cooked to order if you didn't want the scrambled offering.

Conference facilities were well up to scratch, with a variety of room sizes available and fully functioning AV equipment in the main rooms.

Only real gripe was a shortage of lifts to the upper floors. It seemed there was only one, next to reception, involving a luggage-laden trek around three sides of a large square to find the bedroom. There were stairs that side but you do wonder how a less fit guest might cope. It's possible the access arrangement were compromised by building works going on in the piazza at the centre of the hotel block; certainly it would be worth checking if you have mobility issues.

The construction works also meant we had to eat in a separate building a few minutes' walk from the conference centre but it was no hardship. There are several other eateries on and around the campus including the intriguingly named Sacks of Potatoes pub.

If you're seeking a venue for a conference or seminar in central England, the Aston Business School is definitely one for the short list.

PS: Just found that Google Maps satellite view shows the university in incredibly high resolution, which may help the process of finding your way in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your kind comments to the teams.

We have just simplified our maps and directions following feedback from our guests to remove a lot of the detail that may have caused some confusion. We are also in the process of updating our signage to include better wayfinding from the surrounding streets.

I'm sorry to hear of the issues from the lift access. All of our lifts have now been fully restored and the refurbishment of the hotel restaurant, lounge and bar is now complete, with full restaurant services now back in the main hotel. The main lift to the meeting room floors is now back in operation from the ground floor, which unfortunately was out of use during the refurbishment.

Thank you, again for your comments; I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to see the changes we have made during the refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was the second time staying here for a training course and I had a much bigger room than last time. The room was clean and spacious with a double bed and plenty of room to work. There are major works going on site and whilst this did not spoil the sleep quality we did have to go over to the Lakeside Center to eat and use the bar. However the bar is not conducive to relaxing with a glass of wine as it is in a large room used as the dining room. I'm sure this is only a temporary measure and things will return to normal in the future and the bar in the hotel will be open. Good location, value and no complaints with the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeepottwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and for bearing with us during the refurbishment of the hotel restaurant and bar. I'm sorry to hear the atmosphere was not as relaxing as it could have been. We have passed this feedback onto the team. The restaurant, lounge and bar within the hotel have now reopened and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future to see the changes. The hotel bar has been one of the key areas that we have changed quite considerably to ensure that all our guests have somewhere relaxing that doesn't feel like a conference space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a conference. I emailed the conference organiser prior to the event to warn them about my nut allergy, and she said she'd informed the venue. But they clearly do not understand the concept of food allergies. At breakfast on the first day, I took a bowl of what was labelled as Frosties and started eating, but then realised that it was in fact Crunchy Nut.

Fortunately my allergy to peanuts is not fatal (although to brazil nuts it would have been), so I only ended up spending the day retching, and experienced crushing stomach cramps - for many nut allergy sufferers this mistake would have been deadly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank RMK935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback; I'm sorry to hear about your experience within our restaurant. We have passed on your feedback to our catering team to ensure that food is correctly labelled, so as not to cause any issues for anyone with allergies of any sort. I understand our Event Manager spoke to you on the day to also reassure you that we would pass this feedback on to our team to rectify as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £62 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing