We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but shame about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conference Aston Hotel
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersGold level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice room but shame about the noise”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nicely decorated room with a good bathroom. Sadly the walls are thin and when we stayed young people were being very loud in the corridor,banging doors , calling to each other etc well beyond 3.00 am. So a rubbish night's sleep. Shame as it could be good, but apparently this is a common problem at weekends according to a member of staff we complained to!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    173
    84
    37
    24
See reviews for
21
95
39
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

odd set up - resembled and felt like a sports hall reception when we checked in. raised eye brows at this stage. they pre authorise your card for the cost of the stay plus a further £50. odd again i thought. got to the room and was surprised ...... in a good way .... very prem inn feel. room has everything you need. clean tidy etc. location was ideal for what we wanted. 5 minutes walk and you're in the centre of birmingham. Also there's a tesco less than a minutes walk. we didnt have breakfast in the hotel and didn't explore the dinning area. due to the feel of the reception.
would we stay again !?!?!?!?! think we would

Room Tip: parking - you can only book this on line - i tried to call and book but was told we cant book over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Checked in the Hotel , soon after 14:00 pm friendly receptionist - Room clean and fresh - however space is limited.

Could still develop better Guest Relations Areas.

Food , good but could be better

Overall good stay:

Hope to see you soonest

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarry27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in this accommodation last night. The centre is fairly new and clean and tidy but we spent a horrendous night being woken on the hour by a screaming baby. When we raised this at check out (we hadn't called reception because there isn't much to be done at 3am onwards!) the overstretched receptionist, who was trying to check out a long queue of people on her won, told us that we should have raised it when it happened. I asked what they could have done at 3am and was told that they would have addressed this with the guests (although what they could have done to force the baby to be quiet I am not sure??) in question and that this couldn't have been foreseen! The baby was not far from a new born (we saw the family at breakfast) and so it was fairly unlikely that they would have slept through the night... we did say this and suggest that a better solution would have been to have put the child in a room which wasn't directly above other paying guests. The centre was by no means at capacity so this could easily have been arranged but the lady wasn't even listening and was doing something else so not even sure she took in the feedback! In addition, the breakfast room was hugely under staffed and virtually everything had run out. The replenishment f food and drinks was slow and as so many people were waiting, ran out almost as soon as it was placed down.
Could be very nice place but they really need to work on their staff to customer ratios and have a robust and realistic complaints policy put in place. Even if you aren't interested, at least give the impression that you are!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel, also known as Conference Aston, was a surprise in a positive way. It is very modern, has all the facilities of a 4star hotel. The buffet breakfast is on par with your Hiltons ect. All staff were friendly and helpful.

The location is within 10 mins walk of centre and 2 mins walk from restaurants and fast food outlets.

At first you wonder where you are as the hotel is in the middle of Birmingham University but when inside, it is very impressive and you would think you were in a 4 star+ hotel.

Well worth a stay and very reasonably priced for standard of hotel (Trivago). Double queen room, bed & buffet breakfast for 2 on a Thursday night was £47.00.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was expecting something akin to student accommodation so was pleasantly surprised. The appearance and size if the room was good. The facilities were hotel standard, for example I had an iron and board, TV, separate study area, tea and coffee and biscuits. Everything needed for my one night conference stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettlebed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,414 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
956 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Property: Conference Aston Hotel
Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing