We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conference Aston Hotel
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersGold level
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of town.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've stayed here once before. Aston University have invested massively in their campus and the conference centre is still looking sharp and smart. The staff were all really helpful and attentive. There is a friendly atmosphere. The room has everything you need. It's warm, well appointed and the bathroom is totally functional. Everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good - all the usual goodies and dining room is really bright and airy and looks out on to an open courtyard. Free parking (behind a barrier) at the rear of the hotel. The really great thing is the location. You are only 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of town and the Bull Ring shopping centre and all of the restaurants. For a double with breakfast we paid £46 per night. What a bargain! Because you are on campus, you feel secure and there is a Tesco express just outside the hotel. There are also various pubs on campus as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heat2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in the hotel and for your very kind comments, especially on how friendly our team were. We have passed this on to the teams.

I'm pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that the facilities met your expectations. It's always handy to have a hotel that's close to the Bullring, not so far to walk with the shopping!

Thank you again for your feedback. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future the next time you visit Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    175
    85
    37
    24
See reviews for
21
96
40
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

stayed in dec whilst attending a large xmas dinner function, paid approx. 47 pound and had a very good double room, nice dbl bed, flat screen , good coffee and tea products on service tray ie twining's, good power shower combined within bath, roomy bathroom, nice dressing table and close up mirror, plenty of full length mirrors , iron and ironing board in wardrobe. Windows that open if it gets to warm. my room was in red tones, my friends was in green and another friend was upgraded to a exec room, much larger and nice contempary decor.

Food in the pm was excellent for mass production, bar was good , nice friendly staff.

As I had pre paid was not expected to give a preauthority on check in.

Bfast was fine with a massive hangover, all the normal buffet stuff , does the job.

Great location within the uni of aston campus, not sure where any parking was , and prob about 10 mins into the centre of birmingham.

Appearance around the hotel was clean , trendy and modern

One of the better deals ive had in the city

This is good accom for a trip with a purpose but not prob ideal for those wanting a lux /pampering weekend.

Well done to the staff and hotel for a good option in Birmingham and well done to the chef who did some really good food over the xmas period.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncePS, Public Relations Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel and for your kind comments regarding the team, we have passed these on, especially to our new head chef, it was his first Christmas at the hotel so we're delighted to hear the food was of a high quality.

Thank you again for taking the time to feedback on your stay; I sincerely hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Believe it or not, we already have Christmas party bookings in for this year, so if we don't see you over the summer, hopefully we'll see you again at Christmas 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Spent three nights here for a training course. Excellent venue, bright and clean with all the facilities you need. Although it is in the centre of Birmingham it was quiet and no disturbance from outside noise unless you open the window, which could be an issue in summer. Bedroom was spacious and had all the usual facilities including TV, tea/coffee making and room safe. I found the pillows hard but didn't ask for an alternative so unsure if any were available. The staff were very helpful and provided all the facilities needed in the training room. Plenty of refreshments available including sweeties! Meals were good - buffet breakfast and lunch and waitress service in the evenings. A limited menu but all the food was good. Would certainly book again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nicely decorated room with a good bathroom. Sadly the walls are thin and when we stayed young people were being very loud in the corridor,banging doors , calling to each other etc well beyond 3.00 am. So a rubbish night's sleep. Shame as it could be good, but apparently this is a common problem at weekends according to a member of staff we complained to!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

odd set up - resembled and felt like a sports hall reception when we checked in. raised eye brows at this stage. they pre authorise your card for the cost of the stay plus a further £50. odd again i thought. got to the room and was surprised ...... in a good way .... very prem inn feel. room has everything you need. clean tidy etc. location was ideal for what we wanted. 5 minutes walk and you're in the centre of birmingham. Also there's a tesco less than a minutes walk. we didnt have breakfast in the hotel and didn't explore the dinning area. due to the feel of the reception.
would we stay again !?!?!?!?! think we would

Room Tip: parking - you can only book this on line - i tried to call and book but was told we cant book over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Checked in the Hotel , soon after 14:00 pm friendly receptionist - Room clean and fresh - however space is limited.

Could still develop better Guest Relations Areas.

Food , good but could be better

Overall good stay:

Hope to see you soonest

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarry27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in this accommodation last night. The centre is fairly new and clean and tidy but we spent a horrendous night being woken on the hour by a screaming baby. When we raised this at check out (we hadn't called reception because there isn't much to be done at 3am onwards!) the overstretched receptionist, who was trying to check out a long queue of people on her won, told us that we should have raised it when it happened. I asked what they could have done at 3am and was told that they would have addressed this with the guests (although what they could have done to force the baby to be quiet I am not sure??) in question and that this couldn't have been foreseen! The baby was not far from a new born (we saw the family at breakfast) and so it was fairly unlikely that they would have slept through the night... we did say this and suggest that a better solution would have been to have put the child in a room which wasn't directly above other paying guests. The centre was by no means at capacity so this could easily have been arranged but the lady wasn't even listening and was doing something else so not even sure she took in the feedback! In addition, the breakfast room was hugely under staffed and virtually everything had run out. The replenishment f food and drinks was slow and as so many people were waiting, ran out almost as soon as it was placed down.
Could be very nice place but they really need to work on their staff to customer ratios and have a robust and realistic complaints policy put in place. Even if you aren't interested, at least give the impression that you are!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,446 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
901 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Property: Conference Aston Hotel
Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing