We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seminar Stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conference Aston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conference Aston Hotel
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersGold level
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Seminar Stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Second visit here and the staff were again friendly and helpful. It was a warm day so the bedroom was very hot. Could not open the window more than a few inches but a fan was provided. All usual facilities provided and fine for an overnighter. Food was good though the chicken supreme at dinner was bland. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    166
    79
    36
    23
See reviews for
21
95
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

stayed there on monday night good rooms difficult to find jast leep walking and you will find went into rest monday evening good choice of menu and the food was great well tuesday breakfast complete opposite food in turins with candles underneath meaning food already luke warm went to get a plate cold wanted a fried egg told to sit down and await arrivel came halway through meal egg hot by this time given up on breakfast and left it on checking out told staff about breakfast and toldme she would investigate but heARD NOTHING so here it is in print and hope sevice will be sorted out ant other people going to tell if same problem encounted and any further guest woulf like comment to see if it has been sorted

Room Tip: choose somewhere cheaprr wiyh a quality BREAKFAST
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iankaye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level Contributor
294 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's a little far out from the centre, but a pleasant enough area and 10-15 mins walk from Snow Hill station. It felt very empty and lacking atmosphere on this summer weekend, although it was nice and quiet. Reception was fine and breakfast staff very helpful, and the breakfast meal itself was fine with hot dishes cooked to order in a nice restaurant. The bar had limited opening hours but house wine is good and reasonably priced and there is a pleasant outdoor courtyard. The rooms were okay, clean and with a good shower room and pretty comfortable and bright, but compact and next to no storage space and a long walk down narrow halls-of-residence style corridors. Pool has limited opening hours so we didn't use it. So, it's all functional enough but I know from experience you can stay in a proper hotel with more atmosphere that's more geared up for visitors nearer town for the same price or less.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

One of the main problems other reviewers have had is that this hotel was difficult to find. Getting there was fairly straight forward however it wasn't well signposted that the hotel and business school were the same building, however as I was attending a TEFL course in the business school, this worked out rather well.

The staff were friendly, polite and well turned out. The rooms, though small, were clean and pleasant as was the bathroom, although the plate glass toilet door made me a little uncomfortable. The 'single' bed was very generous and could have slept two at a push. I slept well as the hotel was in a quiet area but just a twenty minute walk from Broad Street and the Bullring- not that I had much time for sightseeing!

The breakfast was included with my stay, as was use of the coffee lounge and drinks making facilities. I have no complaints about these, the drinks are great and the lounge is relaxed, contemporary and very open. The breakfast was great - not the best but as it was thrown in I won't nitpick, it was more than enjoyable - and there was secure storage for my suitcase on the last day of the course after I had checked out. The free wifi was not slow at all but I had to have help reconnecting once after I left the building. It's true that the windows don't open properly but the slight opening was enough to cool the room down enough, and this was during July.

My only real complaint is how difficult the building is to navigate. All of the stair and lift combinations are a little baffling and to get from the TEFL room to the coffee lounge was more of a trek than it should have been. If you're looking to enjoy a weekend away you will probably want to find somewhere else to stay but if you're on business or attending a course like I was, for the price, location and facilities this is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tribal_Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is ok if you are attending a meeting on Aston campus. It is convenient, and general facilities are fine. The room was a standard(ish) small hotel-type room, with TV, tea and coffee, tolietries, and free (slow) wi-fi. The pricing was good and at less than £70 a night I felt fair.

However, two main flaws made me stay less than pleasant:

i) The rooms got phenomenally hot as they face the sun, and the weather was unseasonably warm. The windows cannot be opened properly and there is no form of air conditioning. On arrival the temperature in my room was over 30 degrees, and sleep was difficult.
ii) The shower had very low pressure making for an unpleasant showering experience.

On top of this, I would add that it is difficult to find. You have to go to the 'Aston Business School'. It is not clearly marked up as a conference centre or hotel on the outside. You then need to go to the reception desk (again, there is no sign above saying it is a hotel/conference centre) - it seems a little bit more like arriving in an academic university department.

In spite of all that, Aston is fairly convenient for Birmingham city centre, and the hotel can be walked to in 15 minutes from New Street station. If in Birmingham again, I would stay in a proper city centre hotel, but if on business at Aston for a night (not in the middle of summer) I might book this place again,.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dksmith_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

As part of a conference this accommodation was recommended. For £90 I had booked a hotel room, with wifi, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, in the newly reopened hotel. But I, and my fellow delegates have been shocked to find we are in student flats, with basic facilities, no TV, no wifi and no drinks making facilities. On complaining the 'manager' produced one implausible excuse after another (including making my administrator out to be a liar). This is hospitality at Aston? Not the experience the website says you will get! DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE. It is clear they are over booking the hotel to use the cheap accommodation. This is duplicitous and a con. They know that within 10 minutes walk there are a number of 4 star hotels with rooms available for less than £90. This is unrated accommodation for a ridiculous price. Please save your money and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nvrsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here last week for a business conference for one night.
It was very nice.
The room was spacious and clean and was adequate.
The staff is where this hotel shines. The waitresses who were serving our evening meals (To 160 of us) were friendly and smiling and very helpful) Then the next morning when I went for breakfast at 6am, the same girls were there again, still smiling!
The food was tasty and served hot, which is such a bonus. The breakfast was very good and lots of choice.
If any friends needed accommodation in Birmingham I would recommend this hotel.
We went to the pub over the road (Gosta Green Pub), after our dinner ended, they were very friendly and served us until 3am, we had a brilliant night, lol)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy80bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
The Royal Angus Hotel
#52 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Property: Conference Aston Hotel
Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#38 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing