We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“could do better”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

dont normally write reviews about premier inns as in general they are 'average', however this stay highlighted the growing gap between premier inn and holiday inn express. Two night stay, room not serviced on second day with no appology when I asked for a top up of tea etc. Ate in the restaurant in the hotel both days..overpriced pub food which took almost an hour to arrive despite the restaurant being less than half full. Staff appeared indifferent when I complained.Breakfast is expensive (included at any HI Express) and only half hour free internet. Premier Inns need to do much better. If there is a Holiday Inn Express nearby I will be using that as I am sure many business travellers do!

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank steveh088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by our Customer Services Team and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    631
    346
    152
    96
See reviews for
422
604
90
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We tend to stay here the night before we fly out on holiday. I think last year parking was much cheaper. No matter how far in advance we try, we can never get one of the great deals . The value is still OK. Some nearby hotels also have stay and park offers however, it is off site. Airport taxi was ordered by Reception and arrived early. The only thing missing is the availability an early morning breakfast.

Room Tip: I would prefer a children's bed that folded out close to the floor rather than a single bed. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cityandsunforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Booked because of generally positive reviews. Price was a bit more than some other nearby places.

Phone in room didn't work. Had to physically go to front desk *twice* for another towel - only 1 was provided in the bathroom.

The bed was very hard. Poor night's sleep the night before an international flight.

We won't stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ExpatMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to offer a high standard of quality and service, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is much valued by us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Maybe a construction fault rather than that of Premier Inn (who likely commissioned the build) but nevertheless the net result is the same. Whilst external noise is blocked out really well, internally the plumbing, floors and paper walls lend themselves to a very neighbourly experience indeed.

Other than that very good - sadly I stay in hotels to get some sleep though(!)

Not one for honeymooners ;)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Riddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the gadget show live at the NEC. Very helpful staff who gave directions and any advice needed. Bedroom was standard Premier Inn fare, nice big bed, comfortable enough without being outstanding in any area.

Restaurant was mediocre at best - food not great or cheap and breakfast very greasy.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank aquaticmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My son and I spent a night whilst attending the "Gadget Show Live". Staff friendly and helpful, the room was "as it said on the tin", the restaurant adequate for an evening meal and a very good breakfast included in the price. The shower was one of the best I've had in any hotel - lots of HOT water and a powerful jet - bliss!

Room Tip: TRy for a room higher up rather than ground floor - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have been to a few Premier Inns around the country and always find them to be clean and comfortable, this one is no exception!
After leaving another hotel chain within 4 hours of booking in after the conditions there were awful we arrived at this Inn at around half past 8 on a Saturday night. The staff booked us in efficiently as always and we were in our room in Jig time.
The room was as good as always with the fantastic shower! I won't make the mistake of booking elsewhere again.
Excellent position for the NEC. 10-15 mins walk to the main halls. There is also shuttle buses that run every 10 mins (depending what's on).
Didn't try a dinner at the bar rest but did have the buffet breakfast in the mornings which has everything you need. To be a nitpicker could yous please put a small bowl on the tables for all the spent sugar/sauce sachets? Keeps things tidy. 10 out of 10 again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,068 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing