We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Hotel fine, no problems at all. Disappointed in the restaurant though. Ordered 2 rump steaks and they were inedible. I actually think they were stewing steak. Could not eat our meals and as there are no more options in the area, we had to go hungry. They did offer us an alternative but by this time we were shattered and just wanted to go to bed. They should never have been served and they could simply have told us that no more steaks were available instead of serving us this leather!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are please that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, but sincerely apologise for the problems you experienced in our restaurant. We always try to provide a World Class service for every guest and we take all feedback, good or bad, seriously. We have looked into the issues raised and are now working on ways to prevent similar situations from occurring in the future.

We do hope that this experience does not deter you from using us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here the night before we flew out from Birmingham Airport for a holiday.

Generally good value for money, we paid for the overnight stay including 8 nights parking in the hotel car-park for a very reasonable price.

As with all Premier Inns we have stayed at, the hotel is basic but clean and tidy and have good sized family rooms.

Good overnight stay but the experience was marred by:

We didn't receive our early morning call to wake us up to get to the airport. This was due at 5am, it never happened, but luckily my wife woke soon after this time. This put us on the back foot somewhat!

No staff in reception when we arrived downstairs for breakfast.

No 'grab and go' food available as was part of the deal. Our taxi was booked for 6am and all our kids had for breakfast was a couple of very small muffins that we had to ask for before we had to leave for the airport!!

Pretty dissapointing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OXO_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This has got to be my favorite Premier Inn by far! Excellent High Standards. Automated self check in although someone is there to help if required. I thought the coin-op machine in the foyer was an excellent idea if you had forgot your charger for your phone.
Large hotel. Spacious peaceful room. Exceptionally Clean. The restaurant was busy but only had to wait 20 minutes for our table. Service was good and food was delicious was very relaxed. We always have the premier breakfast as we think they are very good and set you up for the day. Would have no problem recommending this hotel was PERFECT. Staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that this is your favourite Premier Inn so far! Your kind comments have been passed onto our team who are pleased to hear that they have not failed on
delivering the World Class service that we continually aim to provide at our hotel.

Once again we would like to say a big thank you and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My sister and I stayed here prior to catching an early flight the next morning. We were very impressed by the standards of this Premier Inn and superb value as it included parking for a week. The room was excellent - the meal in the evening was delicious. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They booked our taxi for 4.45am which was waiting for us in the morning and within 5 mins travel of the airport (cost £6). The taxi arrived within 10 mins of my call on our return. Overall superb service and value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel from your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Premier Inn and all your kind comments have been passed onto our team. We do aim to deliver a World Class service for every guest that enters our doors and we are happy to see that we didn't disappoint on this occassion.

We hope you had a fantastic holiday and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Birmingham!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was the second time that we have stayed at a Premier Inn (since staying in Norwich) and found that it is well up to the high standards of modern Premier Inn hotels. We were interested to find an automated self-check-in and also a coin-op machine in the foyer for recharging different makes of smart phone. The restaurant area was pleasantly furnished and it was busy, so there was a slightly long wait for food to arrive but not unduly so. As regards access, the hotel is within a fairly short distance of the NEC and what would seem to be easy walking distance, but access is fenced off so you either have to wait for the hotel's shuttle bus or drive your own car around a circuitous route to the NEC's car park. We suspect this arrangement is to benefit the NEC whose parking charge is £8 and to prevent visitors leaving their car at the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Latchford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that your second stay at Premier Inn was just as good as your first, as we do pride ourselves on delivering a World Class service throughout our hotels. We do, however, apologise for the service delay in the restaurant on the evening.

Once again, a big thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we do hope to see you on your next return to the NEC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I've stayed at the hotel a number of times when visiting exhibitions at the NEC.

Check-in was quick and easy, although it is automated the reception staff are happy to help if you have any problems. The rooms are what you expect from a Premier Inn - spacious, clean and comfortable.

The bar area is comfortable a nice place to spend a while socialising. I didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel, but the breakfast was very good and the staff were efficient and friendly.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as somewhere to stay if you're going to an event at the NEC.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janjan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all your lovely comments have been passed onto our team. We do try our hardest in delivering World Class service in all areas of our hotel and it's nice to hear these wonderful reviews.

We do hope to see you on your next visit to the NEC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The annual Festival of Quilts has just taken place at Birmingham NEC. I stayed at the Premier inn for one week as this year I was an exhibitor. The reception was friendly during my stay and the service was superb. The Premier Inn is a ten minute walk to and from the venue, which is fine if the weather is clement. On rainy days a bus service is most useful. This runs regularly and the camaraderie on the bus is an experience. I have spent three years at the Premier Inn and look forward to my annual visit next year. It is so clean, convenient and has a really friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank picassoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind feedback given regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience whilst staying at our Premier Inn. We have passed on your lovely comments to our team who are also pleased that they are performing at the high standard that they aim for every day.

We hope you enjoyed exhibiting this year and look forward to your fourth return next August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,886 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing