We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - as usual” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent - as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I've always found Premier Inn to be superb and this visit was no different. It was very busy as there was an event on at NEC but still able to get seat for dinner and breakfast. Lovely clean room and friendly staff. It seems Premier have the same standards across the UJ, each hotel is exactly the same (a good reliable chain) and I would always choose Premier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Premier Inn. The team have all seen your review and would like to say a big thank you! We try our best to deliver a World Class service for each and every guest and we are so happy to see that we have achieved this with yourself.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    564
    316
    140
    88
See reviews for
367
542
71
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Took us forever to check in even though it was booked on line, food not bad but again missing items ....you would expect more from this hotel. Bedrooms great as usual, spend most of my life in a Premier inn

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M2bfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a much bigger Premier Inn than normal, but there are still only two receptionists on duty at any given time. The rooms are of the usual standard - large and comfortable. Despite being close to the airport, I was not disturbed at all by the noise of the planes. I wanted a double room, but there were only twin rooms available. It was no problem to push both beds together to give a super large bed.

There are no shops close by, so there is a bar and a restaurant onsite. The meal was lovely, but I was told that I had not booked a table, despite doing so the night before. The restaurant does get busy, so booking is always advisable. The breakfast was good too.
The car park also gets busy and there is not always enough room for everyone. The way in and out of the carpark is via barriers. The signs say you need a token, but you don't. You just need the number for the keypad. This is by the door in reception, but the staff do not always remind you to look for it - so make sure that you do.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frissels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Hotel fine, no problems at all. Disappointed in the restaurant though. Ordered 2 rump steaks and they were inedible. I actually think they were stewing steak. Could not eat our meals and as there are no more options in the area, we had to go hungry. They did offer us an alternative but by this time we were shattered and just wanted to go to bed. They should never have been served and they could simply have told us that no more steaks were available instead of serving us this leather!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are please that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, but sincerely apologise for the problems you experienced in our restaurant. We always try to provide a World Class service for every guest and we take all feedback, good or bad, seriously. We have looked into the issues raised and are now working on ways to prevent similar situations from occurring in the future.

We do hope that this experience does not deter you from using us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here the night before we flew out from Birmingham Airport for a holiday.

Generally good value for money, we paid for the overnight stay including 8 nights parking in the hotel car-park for a very reasonable price.

As with all Premier Inns we have stayed at, the hotel is basic but clean and tidy and have good sized family rooms.

Good overnight stay but the experience was marred by:

We didn't receive our early morning call to wake us up to get to the airport. This was due at 5am, it never happened, but luckily my wife woke soon after this time. This put us on the back foot somewhat!

No staff in reception when we arrived downstairs for breakfast.

No 'grab and go' food available as was part of the deal. Our taxi was booked for 6am and all our kids had for breakfast was a couple of very small muffins that we had to ask for before we had to leave for the airport!!

Pretty dissapointing!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OXO_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This has got to be my favorite Premier Inn by far! Excellent High Standards. Automated self check in although someone is there to help if required. I thought the coin-op machine in the foyer was an excellent idea if you had forgot your charger for your phone.
Large hotel. Spacious peaceful room. Exceptionally Clean. The restaurant was busy but only had to wait 20 minutes for our table. Service was good and food was delicious was very relaxed. We always have the premier breakfast as we think they are very good and set you up for the day. Would have no problem recommending this hotel was PERFECT. Staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that this is your favourite Premier Inn so far! Your kind comments have been passed onto our team who are pleased to hear that they have not failed on
delivering the World Class service that we continually aim to provide at our hotel.

Once again we would like to say a big thank you and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Birmingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

My sister and I stayed here prior to catching an early flight the next morning. We were very impressed by the standards of this Premier Inn and superb value as it included parking for a week. The room was excellent - the meal in the evening was delicious. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They booked our taxi for 4.45am which was waiting for us in the morning and within 5 mins travel of the airport (cost £6). The taxi arrived within 10 mins of my call on our return. Overall superb service and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel from your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Premier Inn and all your kind comments have been passed onto our team. We do aim to deliver a World Class service for every guest that enters our doors and we are happy to see that we didn't disappoint on this occassion.

We hope you had a fantastic holiday and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.6 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.6 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing