We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Modern Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a purpose built hotel not the usual PI format of a motel adjacent to a pub. The staff were really excellent, friendly from even before I arrived when I rang to ask about taxi bookings. We stayed on a fantastic value Park & Fly tariff and as we had an early flight I rang to make sure there would be no issue booking a taxi in the middle of the night. Katya promised to check and ring me back - which she did 15 minutes later. The Hotel has a large car park in a nice green landscape, it is just a 5 minute drive from the NEC or you could walk in 20 mins but not sure there are paths so you would be walking on the road or grass verge. Birmingham airport is no more than 15 minutes drive away which is very convenient. The hotel is modern and well maintained, our family room was large and uncrowded. Bathroom and shower were excellent and there was a medium sized flatscreen TV with freeview. There is not much bar area as it open plan with the restaurant which was tastefully decorated in contemporary designs. The menu was standard pub grub but the food we had was very nice and well cooked. All the staff were friendly and helpful, lots of young people serving in the restaurant who were well intentioned but occasionally inexperienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_St_Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    564
    316
    140
    88
See reviews for
367
542
71
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Although the Birmingham NEC Premier Inn provided a good quality room with an efficient check in and reception service the restaurant let it down. On the two nights I ate in the restaurant the service was slow and the standard of food was not as good as it had previously been. The biggest surprise was that this hotel now charges its residents £6 per day for car parking!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Ok, an odd title for an hotel review, but we booked this PI primarily because their 2 week parking was only a bit above the on-site long stay, and of course meant we could have 2 hours extra in bed before our flight. ok, that's why, but what was our experience? This is a large hotel, with a good sized car park (I have experienced some un-realisticly small parking-included car parks), so straight away we had a positive experience. The very friendly staff, were in somewhat 'odd dress', but this was because they were voluntarily collecting for Great Ormond Street (I think, if I remember correctly?). Their fund raising passion and friendliness struck me as very positive for a 'chain hotel' and I can only guess that the local management foster this, and if so well done (if not, they should). Our nights sleep was very good, and another reason we chose this 'brand' (previous experience). We were going to drive out for dinner, but the restaurant (within the hotel and not an associated building) menu and friendliness of the staff swayed us to 'eat-in'. And we did have a very pleasant evening meal, in spacious surroundings with our own named 'waiter'. And in the small hours our, reception booked, taxi was waiting to take us off on a nice holiday (fare £6). First time we have booked & parked and it wont be the last if we fly from Birmingham again - thank you to all (yes, incl. the cheerful male receptionist at 5am) staff - you are great credit to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanAndKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I'm not a fan of Premier Inn. I find a lot of the time, the hotels to be lacking anything of substance. First impressions of this place were not great, with the sign that I had to pay £6 for overnight parking. This was a booking through my employers, so could claim back, but it's just another frustration.

Anyway, check in was slow, but was an obvious misunderstanding as it was thought I was with someone else at the desks.

Room spacious, and shower excellent. Air Conditioning worked well, and kept the room cool even when the room key was not in the key slot for the lights.

Bed comfortable (for once), finally, after many years of having to stay at Premier Inn's I've found at least one site with pillows that actually support me, and I did actually get a good nights sleep.

Bar was terrible though, no interesting or local beers, just mainstream drinks that you can get anywhere. Hotels need to step up their game in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M4RKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were impressed with the quality of this Premier Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was really good and we thought great value for money at £8.25 considering the options and the quality of the food. Room was well presented and comfortable. Overall better than we expected from a budget hotel. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here again whilst on a visit to the NEC for a trade fair.Knew what to expect and it was exactly the same as on previous visits The staff member who dealt with us for check in was quick,effiicient and explained all that was required. The room was clean,bed was great,spacious and mattress comfy. We had dinner in the restaurant and chose the stayover menu,excellent value as it includes the breakfast. Food came out quickly and hot,no complaints at all. All in all we would choose this hotel again for the proximity to the NEC and value for money. Please note there is a fee for the use of the car park,not sure what it is as we did not need to pay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stay here regularly on business. Room always clean and comfortable, food good but restaurant can get busy and noisy so book in advance if you want dinner. Breakfast always good and restaurant recently refurbished.
My last two stays there have been disappointing as on both occasions there was a problem with the shower. I received a refund under the good night guarantee but still would have preferred to have a working shower.
Hotel is usually busy and can be noisy especially during holiday season or if there is an exhibition at NEC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasperTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.6 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.6 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing