We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good clean room and friendly staff.

Slightly surprised with the little things that you have to pay for extra such as if you want to contact reception it is an 0870 number which is 10p per minute, pay extra for wifi (£3 for 24 hours)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SambitSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,013)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,377 - 1,383 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

A budget hotel that charged a premium price for poor quality & service.
Service was very slow unfriendly staff that acted like you were disturbing them instead of it being their job. Maintenance not good with bath tap only giving cold water, bulbs out and heating that had mind of its own.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Family member called the hotel and asked if they could pass on a birthday card to me. Staff confirmed that I was staying there and they would be delighted to do this.

I NEVER GOT MY BIRTHDAY CARD. Poor show indeed!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crinodendron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're really sorry to hear your birthday card did not reach you. Please can you email your details to talktous@whitbread.com we'll follow up and investigate what happened with your card. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here as myself and friends were attending Horse of the Year Show so was a perfect location to the NEC and to the airport.

Price for the rooms was great. They were very clean and the beds were amazingly comfy.

Wasn't overly impressed with anything else, we were not told about the 'Good Night Guarantee' or asked if we wanted to book and pre pay for breakfast or the times of the breakfast. We weren't told either how the breakfast worked when we went in the morning even though I knew how it worked my friends didn't and we weren't told, we could have easily walked out without paying as there was no staff hovering around.

We were woken up in the morning by the housekeepers knocking on all the doors and shouting 'housekeeping' was not impressed with that at all.

If I do come back down for the Horse show again I would stay here again as I do like Premier Inns and because of the show we don't spend much time in the hotel so what I wasn't impressed with didn't really bother me but I know it will bother other people.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92kwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The negative;

Not a good nights sleep if the TV decides to give off a really loud warning signal at 5am!! Apparently because the antenna was not connected?

Awkward to get to, if you're driving in, depending on which direction you come in and how many conferences are on at NEC you can't get access on some roads so have to drive another way in.

Also a bit awkward to get to the NEC, not a huge walk away (about 15 minutes, depending on the hall), but no direct path, you have to jump a fence, not easy if you have a pram or in smart clothing for the conference!

From the Birmingham International Station to the hotel is a good 30 minute walk, assuming you know where you're going. Also there is nothing nearby, only huge car parks, other hotels and the NEC!

The bar was very busy in the evening and you might need to have a little front to get attention and service!

I would have scored the hotel much lower had it not been for the all round excellent service from check-in to check-out, including breakfast staff.

We did eat in the restaurant in the evening, plenty of menu choice and food was fine, not the biggest portions and not the cheapest but did the job and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboyonadiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Another stay at my favourite hotel,the premier inn.
We didn't arrive until 4 in the morning as we was flying at 2 the next day but had a good welcome when we arrived and they gave us a room on the ground floor as requested.
Room and bed as comfy as always and clean.
Went for breakfast the next morning and went to pay only to be told it was all included in the price,bargain.
We parked our car there for the 10days we was away and at a good rate.
Don't rely on the sat nav as it doesn,t take you direct to hotel,we had to ask directions from a passer by.
Taxi cost £7 to airport which wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colessharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was a fairly standard Premier inn, 30 minutes free wifi, breakfast with "costa coffee" (don't fall for that one) and an otherwise fairly standard stay. Also, can be a bit difficult to find and the postcode for the hotel doesn't take you to the hotel. Parking is £6 for 24 hours at time of writing.

Room was lovely and clean, quite spacious, plenty of plugs. Shower was nice though shampoo and shower gel were a bit on the miserly side. Tea making facilities, TV, iron and hairdryer.

They wouldn't let me charge breakfast to the company card even though it had been asked for in the reservation but overall the staff were helpful. Nothing special, but I don't think that would be expected and I don't think it was what they were going for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,854 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.8 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing