We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality hotel handy for NEC & Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“good quality hotel handy for NEC & Airport”
Reviewed 19 December 2009

One of the best Premier Inns I have stayed at, easy to find, good appearance, plenty of free parking, electronic check in, good bar layout, although could be a little bigger. Room up to the normal P.I. standard, kettle didnt work, but as we were only staying there for a night after a xmas party, it didnt matter. Local taxi company at the end of a free phone in the lobby, came on time and good quality car. Bar staff friendly and enough that you didnt have to wait to be served. breakfast was ok, but the food was a little tasteless, but fresh and plenty of it.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank standrews47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Thanks for your review, we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is good to know that our hotel met with your expectations ensuring your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    631
    346
    152
    96
See reviews for
422
603
89
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed at the Premier Inn the night before going to the Good Food Show at the NEC. The hotel is a £5 taxi ride (or 20 minute walk) from the NEC train station, but it is only a few minutes walk from the NEC so we left our car in the hotel carpark and walked across. Very handy!
The room and bathroom were bigger than we expected (we've usually stayed in Travelodge hotels when trying to save money, and we've always found their rooms on the small side) and the bed was enormous and very comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor and weren't bothered by any noise, despite the hotel being very close to the airport. We didn't eat in the hotel, but they offer an all you can eat breakfast with a large choice of different things for £7.95. Staff were helpful and friendly and did what they could to deal with checkin/enquiries quickly. There are also machines for automatic checkin if reception is busy. Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
Thanks so much for your review. It is great to hear that your stay in Edinburgh was a good one and that our hotel, service and helpful staff met your expectations. At Premier Inn it remains our objective to offer the best customer service in all our establishments and your feedback is so important as this ensures we are constantly ensuring we are giving our guests the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

It is worth going onto the NEC website and looking at the site map which shows you which hotels are next to which Halls and all the bus stops etc. The Caravan and Motorhome Show we attended was in Halls 6 to 9 & 17 to 20 so for us this hotel was in an excellent location, in fact only 5 mins walk. The hotel was good value, nice and clean. I only have one suggestion (and this is not a complaint) - the hotel bar was understaffed between 6-7pm and no seats available for a relaxing drink after a hectic day. After our meal we stood for ages waiting to be served while one very nice young man tried to cope on his own, after we purchased our drinks we took them back to our room. It was probably due to the fact that the Caravan Club main camping site was in a car park directly opposite the hotel and they where using the bar and restaurant facilities at the hotel. We would use this hotel again, thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastMidlands10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2009
Thanks for your review. It is good to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us whilst visiting the The Caravan and Motorhome Show at the NEC. We are ideally located for the halls this show was exhibiting in. We apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with the staffing levels in our bar area, your comments have been noted and will be followed up with our management team. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Check in was friendly but slow (over 25 minutes), rooms modern and clean although the shower curtain smelled mouldy but it was changed straightaway when requested. The bed for our 14 year old daughter was very small (not a sofa bed a roll away) and she fell out of it a couple of times during the night, I found the bed hard.We stayed at this hotel for the Horse of the Year Show at the NEC it was not within walking distance, we used the taxi service recommended by the hotel, £5 one way, this costs us £20 for two round trips. The breakfast was good, staff friendly. Overall this hotel stay was okay,disappointed with the proximity to the NEC.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daiseesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thanks for your review. It is good to know that you found our staff helpful during your stay with us.
We are disappointed that you were not happy with the location, as our Premier Inn is located approximately 1 mile from the NEC.
Overall we are pleased that your stay with us was acceptable, our main objective is to deliver a first class service and your comments regarding the beds have been noted at Head Office and will be duly followed up.
We hope to welcome you to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I thought this hotel was excellent for the price. It is very close to the NEC exhibition centre (if you are willing to climb over a fence it is a short walk) yet we had no difficulty finding spaces in the car park.

The rooms are furninshed with two single (comfortable) beds which, if you request a double, are clipped together to create a huge 6' bed. There was a power shower in the bathroom. The air conditioning unit in our room didn't work, but the staff provided us with a fan.

All the staff where friendly, polite and helpful. We were staying in order to visit the quilt show and on one occasion managed to arrive for breakfast at the same time as the rest of the world. The staff had set up additional tables in the bar and were clearing/resetting tables immediately they were vacated, which made queuing much easier to bear.

We tried the restaurant one evening and, although it wasn't dazzling, it was perfectly acceptable. The prices were reasonable.

I was very happy with our stay and plan to book again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKFlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Adequate & friendly staff,allthough sometimes hard to understand due to their Brummers accent. Good and priceworthy restaurant and bar
Rooms with enough space. Lovely shower
Some con's: Very noisy airconditioner. Rooms situated at the parking lots are noisy due to arriving/leaving staff and guests
Sadly I discovered funghi in the bathroom, which was the reason for the strang smell.
Hard to keep the internetconnection; had to phone to Spectrum 3 times in 3 days!. Was worried to be charged double/triple at my visa

Overall: good hotel, but points to improve

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenzoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Although not that easy to find, if you are travelling anywhere near M6/M42 on the way past Birmingham to wherever, I would recommend giving this one a try (especially if you can get a good deal on the price - £29 for a family room was great). Reasonably new building with spacious enough rooms and a huge bed! Power shower was very welcome in the morning and probably one of the best I've used in a hotel. Didn't eat in the restaurant but at least there is one available if needed. Nearby 'Little Owl' pub/restaurant worth a try. Only slight disappointment were the extra beds for the kids, which were just mattresses on the floor and not hugely comfortable (or so I was told!).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyguy_uk_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.8 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing