We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with nothing negative to say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average hotel with nothing negative to say”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I stayed here 1 week on business for a conference at the NEC which is a 10 min walk from the hotel. The hotel is set apart and really out in the middle of nothing so you are stuck eating at the hotel restaurant if you dont have a car or dont want to take a taxi. That said; the hotel dinner and breakfast was actually decent. The dinners we had each evening were really good.

The hotel room was average but pleasant enough for sleeping and i had a room on the back side of the hotel which was quiet. You do hear the running water of showers being taken in the morning from adjacent rooms but that did not bother me as i had to wake up early each morning. The room was adequate for 1 person. I have nothing negative to say about my stay there. The price is right and the hotel is just "average" but i could definitely stay here again without any problem.

The bar area was always busy in the evening especially after the conference let out. There were TV screens and a good amount of tables for you to sit and enjoy a drink to wind down. Staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    622
    342
    151
    94
See reviews for
409
598
86
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel prior to an early morning flight to Italy. We had a package which included room, breakfast and transfers to and from the airport and car parking for the week - all for £85.00. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless with plenty of room for 3 of us, there was tea and coffee making facilities and it was warm. A couple of young lads set out breakfast early for us as we had a taxi coming at 4.15am - they couldn't have done enough for us. I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly be using Premier Inns again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon59Wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Thanks so much for your review. We are delighted that your stay at our hotel was a good one. At Premier Inn we endeavour to give the highest level of service in all our establishments your feedback regarding our team members, and clean comfortable rooms is gratefully received and will be followed up by the Management Team at our hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst satying in birmingham, i was very very impressed with the standards of this hotel,
to start with, the rooms were very big and spacious with a huge king sized bed and good facilities, a minor would be the soap dispensor.
Next the bar which serves realy tasty food at a good resonable price, the breakfast buffet was the highlight, it was really really nice at a bargin price, i have stayed at other hotels that charge the earth for breakfast and the one here is just as good.
The staff are very friendly
I would definatly return and would recommend

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELLO100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I stayed at the Premier Inn NEC because I was going to a gig at the LG Arena, and it was the cheapest hotel I could find in the area with a decent write-up on Tripadvisor. I didn't expect a great deal, but actually was very impressed indeed.

The room was a good size, very clean and had all the essentials - kettle, flat screen telly, comfy beds, hairdryer, lots of hanging/storage/surface space. I thought it was well thought through. The bathroom had functional toiletries from wall dispensers, so no wow, but everything worked well.

Other plusses were good security, nice bar, helpful staff. I just don't know how they do it for the price! I have paid far more at places that weren't nearly as good.

The one downside if you are going to the LG is that it is a fair walk (about 25-30 minutes), and it isn't that nice a walk. This might seem unfair in a review because none of this is the hotel's fault - it is because the NEC site is pretty pedestrian-unfriendly and focus their bus service on the carparks, not the hotels - but worth noting if this is a concern for you. First of all, you have to climb over a fence to get from the hotel onto the NEC site, then there is no marked pathway or route, you just follow your nose across carparks and along verges for 10-15 minutes until you get to the NEC buildings. In the morning, I hung around for a while until it got light before setting off for the station, because I didn't fancy the walk through dark and empty car parks.

I would stay here again, but might go by car another time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
Thanks for your review. We are delighted to know that your stay with is was a comfortable one and our hotel, clean comfortable rooms, bar facilities and helpful team members met your expectation. At Premier Inn we endeavour to provide the best value quality stay to our guests. Thanks again for you review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future, should you have any queries concerning the local area please do not hesitate to contact our team we can provide you with the information so that your stay is as convenient as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

One of the best Premier Inns I have stayed at, easy to find, good appearance, plenty of free parking, electronic check in, good bar layout, although could be a little bigger. Room up to the normal P.I. standard, kettle didnt work, but as we were only staying there for a night after a xmas party, it didnt matter. Local taxi company at the end of a free phone in the lobby, came on time and good quality car. Bar staff friendly and enough that you didnt have to wait to be served. breakfast was ok, but the food was a little tasteless, but fresh and plenty of it.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank standrews47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Thanks for your review, we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is good to know that our hotel met with your expectations ensuring your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed at the Premier Inn the night before going to the Good Food Show at the NEC. The hotel is a £5 taxi ride (or 20 minute walk) from the NEC train station, but it is only a few minutes walk from the NEC so we left our car in the hotel carpark and walked across. Very handy!
The room and bathroom were bigger than we expected (we've usually stayed in Travelodge hotels when trying to save money, and we've always found their rooms on the small side) and the bed was enormous and very comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor and weren't bothered by any noise, despite the hotel being very close to the airport. We didn't eat in the hotel, but they offer an all you can eat breakfast with a large choice of different things for £7.95. Staff were helpful and friendly and did what they could to deal with checkin/enquiries quickly. There are also machines for automatic checkin if reception is busy. Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
Thanks so much for your review. It is great to hear that your stay in Edinburgh was a good one and that our hotel, service and helpful staff met your expectations. At Premier Inn it remains our objective to offer the best customer service in all our establishments and your feedback is so important as this ensures we are constantly ensuring we are giving our guests the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

It is worth going onto the NEC website and looking at the site map which shows you which hotels are next to which Halls and all the bus stops etc. The Caravan and Motorhome Show we attended was in Halls 6 to 9 & 17 to 20 so for us this hotel was in an excellent location, in fact only 5 mins walk. The hotel was good value, nice and clean. I only have one suggestion (and this is not a complaint) - the hotel bar was understaffed between 6-7pm and no seats available for a relaxing drink after a hectic day. After our meal we stood for ages waiting to be served while one very nice young man tried to cope on his own, after we purchased our drinks we took them back to our room. It was probably due to the fact that the Caravan Club main camping site was in a car park directly opposite the hotel and they where using the bar and restaurant facilities at the hotel. We would use this hotel again, thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastMidlands10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2009
Thanks for your review. It is good to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us whilst visiting the The Caravan and Motorhome Show at the NEC. We are ideally located for the halls this show was exhibiting in. We apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with the staffing levels in our bar area, your comments have been noted and will be followed up with our management team. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
1,797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing