We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mouldy old fish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“mouldy old fish”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

excellent for NEC, easy to get to with good parking, clean comfortable rooms, reception staff were helpful but the hotel was severely let down by the evening meal where we were waiting for 45 mins and had to inform waitress that we had still not had our main course of battered fish, which arrived 5 mins later tasting mouldy. Would recommend but not the evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased that your enjoyed stay with us and overall our facilities met your expectations. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. Thanks for your feedback regarding your dining experience please be assured this will be duly followed up by the Management Team at our Birmingham hotel. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we hope to welcome your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    621
    341
    151
    94
See reviews for
406
597
86
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Have been staying at this hotel on and off for over a year due to work and it is without doubt one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff cannot do enough to help and although it's a 'budget' hotel they make sure they get the basics right.

Rooms are always spotlessley clean and tidy, reception are welcoming and friendly. Restaurant has just been relaunched and offers a wide selection to accommodate all but the fussiest of travellers.

Only minor criticism is that when ordering a drink in the restaurant it can take a while to come. It seems the bar staff have to prepare the drink and then a waiter has to pick it up. When it's busy this can mean waiting upto 30 minutes for a drink. They just need to look at this process and I'm sure it can be sorted out.

Special thanks to Sue, Edith, Rachael and Chris in the restaurant who always made it feel like home. (Sorry can't remember any other names!)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cygnetpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thanks very much for your review we are delighted that our team are continuing to give you the great service you have become accustomed to. All our team especially Su, Edith, Rachael, and Chris will be thrilled to receive your compliment it is very important that our guests are receiving the highest standard of service. Thanks for your comment regarding the drinks service your feedback will be followed up by the Management Team at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the Premier Inn at the NEC/Bickenhill for one night whilst attending the camping and caravanning show at the NEC.
The location of the hotel is perfect, jsut a stiones throw from the NEC, means you can walk between the hotel and the NEC, although on the we were there car parking was extremely limited as the hotel was very busy.
The hotel is new(ish) with a bright, airy reception and some very helpful staff on reception. We paid £61 for the night and then anout £15 for breakfast.
The rooms are of an adequate size with a very large bed and nice quality linen and towels. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but with only one teabag and one container of milk you have to ration these.
The rooms all come with Air conditioning and a heater - so you can please yourself to what temperature you want the room. Our room was on the front of the hotel and I thought the lights would conme through the curtains, but they didn;t and the eroom was very dark in the evening.
The only thing to let the room down was the firmness of the bed. I know this is a personal thing but both my husband and I felt the bed was too hard and ached a little in the morning. I like the Premier Inn approach to providing toiletries and these are always was welcome in a practical way.
The restuant was overwhlemingly busy the night we were there and although we booked a table we were not seated for a good 30 mins after the booking time. The food however was of a reasonable quality and not too overpriced (and the service was very good and quick).
In the morning the queues for breakfast were simply appalling, we managed to get a table without waiting for too long but other people were quite rightly annoyed at the queues. Once you had queued for a table youi then had to queue for the food - it ruined what was an otherwiase relaxing stay.
Overall a very practical hotel with good food and great service - it was just a pity that they couldn't handle the volume of customers they had the weekend we visited.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieandaustinsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Thanks for your review, we are very pleased that overall your stay with us was a good one and our clean comfortable rooms met your expectations. We do provide tea and coffee in our rooms, and our reception team are more than happy to replenish supplies during your stay. Thanks for your feedback regarding your experience during the breakfast service, we do apologise for any delay please be assured your comments have been noted and will be investigated by the Management Team at our hotel . Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the Premier Inn on Friday and Saturday this week, to go to the Camping and Caravan Show at the NEC.

We didn't arrive until 8:00pm after a 3.5 hour drive on Friday night, we were checked in very efficiently, and our room was spot-on. We were advised to go into the restaurant to make a booking for a table as it was extremely busy. We queued for 20 mins, and got a table booking for 22:00. This was fine with us, as long as we were going to get something to eat! And after the drive, a couple of glasses of wine was just exactly what we needed :-). The woman (for the hotel's benefit, with short blonde hair) on the reception greeting area, was carrying out a thankless task of getting everyone into the restaurant for meals. She did this with absolute professionalism, even with disgruntled people kicking off all over the place. One of the main reasons for residents of the hotel not being able to get into the restaurant, is that a lot of people from the NEC on-site campsite had came over to the restaurant for meals. We were assured that Saturday night would be better, as people were only allowed in if they had a booking.

We had a couple of drinks in the bar after the NEC show, and watched the queue building up again, but were pleased to see that the staff were turning people away if they didn't have a booking. We came back to the bar at 8pm, for our table that was booked for 8:15. We eventually got to our table at 8:50pm. The guy that was running the restaurant was totally incompetent. There were actually 5 and 6 empty tables, but nothing was co-ordinated to get them cleaned, re-set and people into the restaurant.

Having said all of this - the meals were very very nice, and would recommend anyone to stay / eat at this hotel.

The hotel management really need to think about their restaurant policy, particularly when the C&C on site camp site is setup. Meals really should be restricted to residents only when the hotel is so full.

Some of the staff seemed to work extremely long hours. Laura was behind the bar when we went to bed at 01:00, and she was serving breakfast at 9am! But most of them were extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smr_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed here for one night after being at caravan show at NEC, easy to find, staff very friendly and helpful. Nice room apart from the fact I think we were in the attic and had a slopping wall which I had to remind myself of during the night when it was dark and I nearly bumped my head . Ate in restaurant which is not big enough for the hotel, was very busy and canteen like but food was good when it arrived. Staff kept very calm with some irate customers waiting for their tables. Breakfast good but need to be early to get table and avoid que. think bigger restaurant ismuch needed here. But al in all a nice hotel stop over.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Thanks for your review, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and it is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Your review is very much appreciated as your feedback is so important to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Beautiful looking hotel, looks great when you walk in and are greeted by a warm smile and a cosy feel. Check-in was quick and easy, room was close by and I really liked the view. We were on the top floor and the room felt really cosy with the eaves, although my boyfriend and I both hit our heads on them while walking around the room. There was a portable heater in the room, which left the room lovely and warm, but I was a little unhappy to wake up in a sauna in the middle of the night, I know most Premier Inns have heaters on a thermostat. The shower was amazing! And after a slightly heavy night in the very welcoming bar, the shower worked a treat for getting rid of my headache before a days shopping in Birmingham. It is about a 15 minute walk to the main part of the NEC and they let you leave your car at the hotel free of charge. The restaurant seems very well ran and the Premier breakfast was an extremely well-stocked 'all you can eat'. Will definitely stay here again, was very impressed with the cosy feeling of this hotel considering it's the second biggest in the company!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, and helpful team members met your expectations. Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Visited the Premier inn nec with a work colleague for an overnighter. Arrival was fine and automated check in. Room was fair, but tiles falling off the bathroom wall, near the floor but still loose. (room 142) Usual facilities in room, everything worked, beds comfy, although pillows were niether here nor there, one was too soft, the other too hard. shower very good.
We visited the restraunt, where prices were reasonable, ordered food, bar was busy and had to wait ages for a pint, so ordered drinks from table, still took 20 minutes to get a pint!
When it came to settling the bill there was a problem, two meals and four pints, over £50!!!! Challenged the bill, and were told we had had three meals and extra beer. When the bill was finally adjusted it came to £34 between the two of us.
Wether this was a genuine mistake or trying to put a make off without payment meal on our business account I dont know, but check you restraunt bill, it could be more than you bargained for.

Food was fair for the money, breakfast is all you can eat, good selection of cereals toast and a cracking non greasy fry up.

All in all, not a bad hotel, but watch what you are spending!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanIngamells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing