We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“V good airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham,
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“V good airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

stayed here for one night prior to early flight. booked through holiday extras and when we arrived they couldn't find our booking until they looked on the fax machine ( who uses faxes these days ?). luckily we had a room. Ate dinner in the restaurant which was fine. ordered a taxi for the next day though a direct phone in the reception and it turned up early which was good as it was really icy and foggy. not that the taxi driver seemed to take that into account when he started driving to the airport. Finally the room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norrisBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    573
    321
    143
    91
See reviews for
380
551
77
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Exactly what you would expect for a Premier Inn - clean, comfortable rooms, purple decor, plenty of car parking space. Shame they charge £5 a day for wi-fi but I can understand they have to make their money somehow! There was a great offer if you paid for dinner, one drink and breakfast together, which made it much cheaper than paying separately. Considering how busy the hotel was, with many people attending exhibitions at NEC, the service in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Numismatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

Have stayed here several times whilst on business. Pretty much the bog standard Premier Inn, but that's not a criticism. Rooms were spotless, Have never eaten here in the evening, so can't comment on that, but breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courthmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed here following a trip to the NEC. The staff on reception were helpful and the room was clean and spacious. The restaurant was very busy and disorganised in the evening. Ordered pizza which was tasty, but the steaks were full of fat.

We were woken on several occasions in the early hours by people shouting outside the hotel entrance. It appears that this is a popular spot for smokers too, both day and night.

Plenty of selection at breakfast, but the fried eggs were slimy on top and the scrambled egg was sitting in milk. The waitresses gave the children books and crayons which was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairytinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I have never stayed at a Premier Inn before and work booked this for me. I can't speak highly enough of it. All the staff were really friendly and helpful from check in to check out. It has a handy bar open to 12 with restaurant and the rooms are comfy, well equiped and great for a good nights sleep before a day at the NEC.

The location is great for the NEC and the air port.

Not much else i can say. Recommended

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are really pleased that our hotel and great service met your expectations. It is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and are met with clean rooms and have a good nights sleep. Your feedback is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

excellent for NEC, easy to get to with good parking, clean comfortable rooms, reception staff were helpful but the hotel was severely let down by the evening meal where we were waiting for 45 mins and had to inform waitress that we had still not had our main course of battered fish, which arrived 5 mins later tasting mouldy. Would recommend but not the evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased that your enjoyed stay with us and overall our facilities met your expectations. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. Thanks for your feedback regarding your dining experience please be assured this will be duly followed up by the Management Team at our Birmingham hotel. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we hope to welcome your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Have been staying at this hotel on and off for over a year due to work and it is without doubt one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff cannot do enough to help and although it's a 'budget' hotel they make sure they get the basics right.

Rooms are always spotlessley clean and tidy, reception are welcoming and friendly. Restaurant has just been relaunched and offers a wide selection to accommodate all but the fussiest of travellers.

Only minor criticism is that when ordering a drink in the restaurant it can take a while to come. It seems the bar staff have to prepare the drink and then a waiter has to pick it up. When it's busy this can mean waiting upto 30 minutes for a drink. They just need to look at this process and I'm sure it can be sorted out.

Special thanks to Sue, Edith, Rachael and Chris in the restaurant who always made it feel like home. (Sorry can't remember any other names!)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cygnetpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thanks very much for your review we are delighted that our team are continuing to give you the great service you have become accustomed to. All our team especially Su, Edith, Rachael, and Chris will be thrilled to receive your compliment it is very important that our guests are receiving the highest standard of service. Thanks for your comment regarding the drinks service your feedback will be followed up by the Management Team at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing