We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed for one night with children. Lady on the desk was very friendly, caring and helpful. Rooms were completely adequate and clean..plenty of room. Both kids had single bed and my husband and I had a large bed. Ideal location..only half hour to city centre. Situated next to supermarket as mentioned although Brewers Fayre was reasonable and friendly too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    150
    65
    33
    18
See reviews for
234
119
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I arrived at midday, pretty tired, after leaving Scotland at 5.30am and driving non-stop to this Premier Inn, trying to avoid most of the forecast snow. I was greeted by a friendly woman on the front desk who allowed me to check-in 2 hours earlier than normally allowed, so I could get some sleep!

Housekeeping staff happily gave me more supplies of coffee and milk when asked.

This Premier Inn is on a business park, no more than 2-3 minutes' drive from junction 4 of the M5. There is a pub/restaurant right next door with a covered walkway between the 2 buildings. On the business park itself, there is a Frankie & Bennys restaurant, a 10 pin bowling centre (Hollywood Bowl) and a fitness centre/gymnasium. All of these are 2-3 minutes' walk away.

If you walk out of the car park, turn right and follow a well-used footpath to the right between the trees, a 3 minute walk brings you to Morrisons supermarket, complete with its own cafe/restaurant. This is a cheaper eating option for those who wish. The supermarket serves breakfast from 7am for those not wanting the Premier Inn version next door.

There was no sign of security guards, as mentioned by another reviewer. I asked about this and was told it was a service originally offered to business park tenants, but apparently they're not used any more. The area seemed perfectly safe to me.

I didn't have to check out until midday next day and used this time to get some work done in peace and quiet.

The staff were excellent, even offering me the use of a shovel to clear snow from around my car, if necessary!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms facing the car park will probably be quieter than rooms at the front or on the side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daca27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Plenty of parking.
All the amenities that you would expect of a Premier Inn. Friendly staff.
Easy to find from the M5 motorway and a short drive from the centre of Birmingham.
Breakfast is available in the Brewers Fayre from a hand 7am to 11am for those that like a little extra time in bed. As other reviews have pointed out a large Morrisons store near the Hotel that also has a petrol station.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to visit family. The inn was easy to find with plenty of parking. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff can't do enough to help. We had breakfast one morning, all you can eat, and it was superb. Lots of and well cooked. My only criticism of prem inns in general is the 16 yr old in beds policy. I had to book 2 rooms as my son is 17 but the spare bed in our room was plenty big enough for him. Travelodge allow 3 adults in one room think prem inn would get more trade if they did same!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed for two nights. Thought the rooms were clean. Very basic facilities, no iron or ironing board, no laundry facilities, which when you're travelling with a baby is very useful. No fridge in the room and no option to rent one. Not particularly cheap although that could be due to late booking. Just read review which mentions free breakfast for kids....we were not told about that. reception staff had no idea how much calls from the telephone in the rooms cost. The pillows were really rubbish. All in all, the saving grace was the location which suited our needs, other than that not a lot going in it's favour. Agree with the other review....go to morrisons for the breakfast

Room Tip: Take your own pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed at this premier Inn form the 27/12/12 to 31/12/12 and found it to be excellent from the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out - a special mention has to go to the two
ladies whom work at reception( forgot to get their names) found both ladies to be kind and
helpful. the room (101) excellent - very comfertable and spotlessly clean also have to give
the brewers fayer a mention next door aswell as the both the staff and the food were excellent

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is my third stay at this Inn, and it came up to expectations once again. The reception we received was courteous, swift and friendly. Our room was laid out properly to a twin format as requested and was spotlessly clean. We had total control over the heating and there was a plentiful supply of towels and extra pillows. The TV with Freeview worked perfectly well. There was minimial outside noise.

Although the people on the floor above created a bit of noise, this didn't happen until around 8.15am and we were well awake by this time anyway.

The proximity of a Morrisons supermarket is a definate plus for us as we like to take a simple breakfast rather than the perfectly acceptable grander affair offered by the on site restaurant.

I cannot speak highly enough of this Premier Inn and it goes beyond the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the facilities. The staff you come across are a credit to the organisation and for a budget hotel, they leave their more costly competitors standing on customer care.

Room Tip: Choose top floor to avoid people above you making a noise moving around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Westmead Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel
Address: Great Park Ashbrook Drive | Parkway, Birmingham B45 9FP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the fun-packed bowling complex at Great Park, Birmingham South Rubery Premier Inn is the perfect place to let your hair down. You're just seconds from an array of family entertainment - including a Brewers Fayre fun factory, a cinema, bowling alley and bingo. Further afield, there are even more family favourites including Cadbury World, the Sea Life Centre and Birmingham's many events and attractions. Then, after a day of indulgence or industry, return to our spacious rooms, Brewers Fayre restaurant, and extra-comfy beds. Directions: Exit the M5 J4, follow the A38 to Birmingham. Turn left at traffic lights before Morrisons signposted Great Park. Turn right at roundabout. Turn right at next roundabout, the hotel is on the right. Next to the Great Park Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing