We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, great location, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb, great location, good staff”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I couldn't fault this hotel, and was pleasantly surprised how good, and what high standards the rooms are at.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear alanhardwick,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    407
    137
    53
    33
See reviews for
85
394
94
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here on a Friday/Saturday night in October. The Briar Rose is within walking distance of all city attractions, we walked to a concert at the O2 Academy, Bull Ring, Mailbox, Brindley Place Canal and all were easily found. You can have a good cheap breakfast in the Wetherspoons downstairs. Rooms were clean, had coffee making facilities, hair dryer, tv. Only complaint is that the soap dispenser was empty in the shower and there were no cups in the bathroom for your toothbrush - however for the price, can't fault it!! Would stay here again when in Birmingham.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear Kabelgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

As other reviewers have said, this is a decent B&B above a weatherspoons pub.

The only problem was a rather noisy extractor fan during the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear David1964,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and please accept our apologies for any noise disturbance you encountered during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

For the price, refreshing change from Travelodge etc. Couldn't ask or expect more

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear lexwyn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband stayed in this wetherlodge as my daughter was in the childrens hospital. This hotel is about a 5/10 minute walk to the childrens hospital. Turn right out of the hotel right onto Waterloo road and keep going straight you will pass the cathedral keep going straight and you will be by the hospital. Right if you are one of the lucky ones coming for a city centre break this hotel is great for you too. Slap bang in the centre of the city. If you turn left out of the hotel there are a number of bars shops end restaurants. Checking into the room was very smooth, the hotel sent me an email a few days before my say just to check if I wanted a twin or double room. The rooms are lovely a big double bed I think two twins pushed together wardrobe to hang close a dressing table mirror hairdryer and a what's on guide around Birmingham. The bathroom has a bath with a shower over the top lovely hot showers. The room was very clean. Breakfast is served from 7.00 am in wetherpoons pub cheap and nice. Would I stay here again yes I would. Great value for money. Just a little tip the longer you leave to book the room the price drops. Husband stayed here for £88.00 for 2 nights not bad for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear NewportTaffy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Despite having two goes at checking in my stay in this hotel was good.
I arrived around one o clock and there was nobody at the reception desk, a sign directed me into the bar.I eventually got to speak to the duty manager who told me to go back to reception and he would be with me soon. I waited 20 minutes then left and went to my meeting. Check in time is 2pm but i wanted to leave my bag there.
My second try at check in later went fine and my room was very nice. I was there with two colleagues and we had a look at each others rooms, all very nice and different styles.
My room (203) was spacious with a lovely big sofa. Comfy bed and a nice big mug for in room tea/coffee.
The comedy moment came while trying to get in and out of the bath which has a high and wide side. I am only 5 ft tall and could not physically fling my leg over the side so had to do some tai chi to get in the bath. Its a lot easier getting in than out! Please can I have a step next time??
Breakfast was very varied and great value, taken in Wetherspoons pub. The staff were very efficient and the sausage butty , a special treat to get over the bath trauma (!),was ace.
Intend to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeycat2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear honeycat2307,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for any issues you encountered during whilst checking in with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

During September myself and three friends visited the Autumn Fair at the NEC in Birmingham. We chose The Briar Rose Hotel because it is only a couple of minutes walk from New Street Station and also because of it's position right in the centre of the city.
Checking into the hotel was very smooth indeed and was done by one of the most pleasant and efficient receptionists I have ever encounted; I wish I had made a note of his name in order to give him full credit.
The rooms we occupied were stylishly decorated and very comfortable indeed, much to the surprise of my friends who had needed convincing that it was a good idea to stay at a Wetherspoons Hotel. I was able to reassure them as I had stayed at the hotel previously and after their stay they were completely converted.
Breakfast is served in the ground floor bar and can be as much or as little as you wish.
Would I recommend the Briar Rose? Definitely.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front as the rooms at the back of the hotel do not have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear sparky048,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing