We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here with a friend for a weekend and was very impressed. Room was large and more stylish than the tariff would suggest. Comfy beds and plenty of tea/coffee. Great location - just off the main shopping street and close to New St station. Wetherspoons just downstairs for drinks which we enjoyed in the comfort of our room and then a good value breakfast in the morning.

We stayed on a Saturday night and there was base noise from a nearby club until around 2am but it was not so intrusive that you could not sleep.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear simbelina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed overnight during visit to the German Market. Couldn't have been better situated, just off the main street.
Rooms very clean and nicely decorated. Pleasant and helpful staff.
Would definately stay here again.
Quite a bit of street noise but what can you expect in the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boozysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear boozysuz,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend in Birmingham.

The location is brilliant, as is the price, and the rooms were clean and stylish.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovely_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear Lovely_Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is a fantastic place, really well priced and thanks to some hard work from Wetherspoons and some serious spending, this is now a clean, bright tasteful hotel, at budget prices.

I have one adverse comment only. I walked into the reception and was greeted with

"hello there mate" ...

Now, I don't need fawning and grovelling, and the guy on reception is certainly a friendly go to guy, BUT....

I'm not his mate! So please Wetherspoons explain that "mate" is an informality too far..

Otherwise great, it's my hotel of choice when I work in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the building ... At the back can be noisy with bottle emptying at terribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0hin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear W0hin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we apologies for this informal greeting, please be assure that this is not a standard way for our staff to greet our guests.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Chose the Briar Rose because of its price and location. Both very good. A refurbished hotel with good sized, comfortable, clean, modern rooms. Well secured and the breakfast in the pub very good and reasonably priced too. Disappointed that Amex isn't accepted, however, a very small inconvenience. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soupaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear Soupaman1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I couldn't fault this hotel, and was pleasantly surprised how good, and what high standards the rooms are at.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear alanhardwick,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here on a Friday/Saturday night in October. The Briar Rose is within walking distance of all city attractions, we walked to a concert at the O2 Academy, Bull Ring, Mailbox, Brindley Place Canal and all were easily found. You can have a good cheap breakfast in the Wetherspoons downstairs. Rooms were clean, had coffee making facilities, hair dryer, tv. Only complaint is that the soap dispenser was empty in the shower and there were no cups in the bathroom for your toothbrush - however for the price, can't fault it!! Would stay here again when in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear Kabelgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
350 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
3,006 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
893 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing