We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I struggled to find a hotel at the last minute in Birmingham, due to sports events taking place, and fell upon the Wetherspoons Hotel, Briar Rose.
Not sure what to expect, I was taken aback by the quality of my room, the size of it was great and the comfortable bed made for a great nights sleep.
The bathroom was gorgeous, but if I have one criticism it is that the bath surround was very wide and so getting in to the bath to use the shower was difficult and did feel dangerous (I made this comment on my feedback sheet), but the shower was extremely powerful and the bath very deep too.

A great location, New Street with the main shops runs past the bottom of Bennetts Hill, and as the Christmas market had just started that day it was great to be so close to everything.

I ate in the wetherspoons pub itself, and the food was good but the service was extremely slow and it wasn't that busy at the time of ordering - just a minor whinge.

I would definately stay again and have already told a few people about the hotel.

Room Tip: book a superior room away from the road, and whilst no view, it does make for a good nights sleep if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear pickle66,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a short city centre break.

We were on a shopping and German Market visit, and for this the hotel was perfectly placed. The Bull Ring was a five minute stroll away while the market now extends all the way down New Street and therefore was right at the bottom of Bennetts Hill.

Our room (502) was on the top floor and I would suggest that this is probably the best option. The noise of bottles crashing into the bins that a previous review mentioned was there, but it was so far away that it didn't disturb us. The same goes for the hum of the air conditioning.

The room wasn't huge, but then this is a city centre hotel so it's not fair to expect so. It was still plenty big enough for the two of us, and was clean and comfortable. A hair dryer was provided, as was shower gel - always useful.

If you're looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay in Brum then I can't recommend this place high enough.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are less affected by outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear BigCol63,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Briar rose is a Wetherspoon Pub, but you enter the Hotel by another entrance, The reception staff were helpful and friendly. the bedroom was large nice and clean with hair-dryer Tea and coffee making facilities, and a nice big TV. the bathroom was very roomy and all was very clean and well maintained. the Hotel is 5 minutes from the station (walking) We ate in the Pub on the Friday evening which was excellent value for money, and then Saturday evening we walked down the road, 2 minutes and had a meal at the Bella Italia which was very good indeed. Both days we had breakfasts in the Pub and I am vegetarian and the food was very good, my friend also said that the full English was great. I can't fault the Hotel at all, But it is noisy at night not from the Pub but from outside, as you are in the centre of Birmingham, so just take ear plugs.,

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakiWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear JakiWestYorkshire,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here with a friend for a weekend and was very impressed. Room was large and more stylish than the tariff would suggest. Comfy beds and plenty of tea/coffee. Great location - just off the main shopping street and close to New St station. Wetherspoons just downstairs for drinks which we enjoyed in the comfort of our room and then a good value breakfast in the morning.

We stayed on a Saturday night and there was base noise from a nearby club until around 2am but it was not so intrusive that you could not sleep.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear simbelina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed overnight during visit to the German Market. Couldn't have been better situated, just off the main street.
Rooms very clean and nicely decorated. Pleasant and helpful staff.
Would definately stay here again.
Quite a bit of street noise but what can you expect in the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boozysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear boozysuz,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend in Birmingham.

The location is brilliant, as is the price, and the rooms were clean and stylish.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovely_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear Lovely_Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is a fantastic place, really well priced and thanks to some hard work from Wetherspoons and some serious spending, this is now a clean, bright tasteful hotel, at budget prices.

I have one adverse comment only. I walked into the reception and was greeted with

"hello there mate" ...

Now, I don't need fawning and grovelling, and the guy on reception is certainly a friendly go to guy, BUT....

I'm not his mate! So please Wetherspoons explain that "mate" is an informality too far..

Otherwise great, it's my hotel of choice when I work in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the building ... At the back can be noisy with bottle emptying at terribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0hin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Dear W0hin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we apologies for this informal greeting, please be assure that this is not a standard way for our staff to greet our guests.

We hope to see you again In the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
553 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing