We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here with other family members during Arts Fest in 2011. This is the second time that we have stayed. The value for money is excellent and the rooms are fine and comfortable. The Briar Rose pub itself though is not the best of Wetherspoons. It is busy, the food and drinks are unrivalled in price, but the decor is disturbing visually. It is a mixture that is hard to define, but there seems to be an overall African theme and although there are no flashing lights, the clashing bars of colour may be enough to provoke the Gramd Mal in an epileptic. Close this place and give it a make-over for pity's sake. However, it was a good stay and we would go again.

Stayed: September 2011
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Philip D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

The wetherspoon lodge is in an excellent position near ncp parking and new street train station, restaurants and pubs abound , my favourite for the decor is the old joint stock theatre ,wow!! ,if you want beer the Wellington will take some beating with 15 different ales on tap. Took a trip to canal area via the Mailbox[ shopping/eatery area] and onto broad street where i believe the young ones enjoy the nightlife . Back to hotel later for a nightcap and bed , a quiet yet spacious room of good standard

Room Tip: A quiet room was requested and the amiable receptionist put us in room304 two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear debed,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

As a Cheltenham Festival goer who doesn't stay in Cheltenham because of the ridiculous prices many hotels there charge when the fesitval is on, Birmingham is a great alternative. The trains from New Street to Cheltenham Spa are frequent (take 35 mins, £22 return) and when you've got affordable hotels like the Briar Rose (we paid £75 but you can get it cheaper if you book early enough) it's a no-brainer.

The Briar Rose is a 5 min walk from the station, the room we stayed in was not only spotless but much bigger than you'd find in a Premier Travel Inn or Travelodge and for a hotel in a city centre above a Wetherspoon pub it's not half quiet. If you want a twin room you need to phone the hotel in advance as all are automatically set up as doubles - it makes this clear on your confirmation email - and I'd say my bed was the comfiest hotel bed I've stayed in for a long time.

You don't get breakfast included in the price of your room, but as you're above a Wetherspoons and pretty much every breakfast is less than a fiver you're still getting a good deal. What's more, brekkie is served until 12 in the pub - giving you an hour after check-out if you happen to have a hangover, which it's fair to say I did.

Having arrived at the hotel far too early to check in, we left our bags behind reception and went to the races. Got back into Birmingham for 7pm, far poorer in case you were wondering, and check-in was efficient. Make sure you ask for two keys though - we only got one and as we ended up back at the room at different times later on getting into the room proved to be quite a challenge for my mate as I had the key!

My only gripe with the Briar Rose is that the electricity in our room kept going off, even with the key-card in the slot. We left our phones in the room to charge the notoriously rubbish batteries that Apple provide smartphones with while having tea downstairs, went back up to collect them and neither had charged. I thought this was because there wasn't a key-card in the slot, but the same thing happened overnight when we put our phones on charge again with the key-card in place. I'm guessing the electricy is triggered by a movement sensor, which is great for the environment but not much use when you're trying to charge a phone while sleeping. I ended up having to charge mine in the pub downstairs (which has free wifi) while having breakfast - not ideal but it got the job done. Check-out is 11 and again the girl behind reception allowed us to leave our bags with her while we spent the day in the city centre.

Anyhow, if you're staying in Birmingham and need a clean, quiet, decently priced hotel in the city centre near New St station, I'd recommend the Briar Rose. It's a fair bet I'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank All-Fur-Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear All-Fur-Hat,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the issue you encountered with the electric in your room, some of our key slots are more temperamental than others.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

A great clean hotel. Remarkably quiet for such a central location. Very very close to new st station a great find. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotAdair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear DotAdair,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a great hotel .You get what you pay for ,but the beds and bedding are first class, for £65 its first class value

We stayed here last night as we were seeing Nick Lowe at the town hall. Lovely front of desk team and excelent value

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Droopydrawrs52,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us..

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Wetherspoon owned Briar Rose hotel in the centre of Birmingham just off New Street. We found it excellent for our purpose. The room was of a high standard with very good supplies of tea making and other essentials - bottled water biscuits etc. Very clean and well appoibted. Very good TV. Staff were friendly and efficient. The lift was out of action for a couple of hours which was a problem as one of us has a heart condition but the reception staff were kind and understanding and did all they could. The restaurant was standard Wethersppons. Good food reasoanbly priced. Recommend!

Room Tip: Some rooms may be close to air conditioning outlet - we did not find it a problem but some might fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Graham p,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and apologises for any issues you encountered during your stay with us regarding the lift.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our second visit to the Briar Rose and the third to a Wetherspoon Hotel. Once again we were not disappointed with the fabulous value for money this hotel group provides as well as the brilliant location of the Briar Rose - a few minutes walk away from New Street station, close to China Town, theatres and all the shops you could wish for. We stayed this time as we were going to a gig at the 02 Academy which was a short 10 minute walk away and our previous visit to the hotel had impressed us so much we did not bother to look at any other hotels as the Briar Rose is ideal for a weekend stopover like ours. We stayed this time in a disabled room on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, warm, clean and well-laid out for a wheelchair user or someone with limited mobility with a bathroom big enough to hold a party in!. Bed linen and towels were clean, bed comfortable and the stylish room design in fitting with the 30's style decor throughout the pub. Being a Friday, the pub was busy throughout the day and when we got back later at night. The hotel advise of some noise from the bar, but on both our visits we heard nothing at all to disturb our sleep despite the pub being full and open until 1 p.m.. Standard Wetherspoon fare that one expects on offer - reasonably cheap but tasty, and to my husband's delight, good priced beer and drinks. Again, as one expects from a Wetherspoon pub, an interesting range of customers to entertain one ranging from office staff and locals to tourists like us, as well as families partaking of the good family menu during the daytime. Staff were well-presented, prompt, helpful, courteous and happy to deal with any problems straight away. My less-than-warm breakfast (it was very early in the morning and a very cold day and the kitchen is away from the restaurant) was immediately replaced with a piping hot version and profuse apologies from the staff for the inconvenience. Lunch the previous day had been boiling hot so it may just have been the chilly morning. Check in is not allowed before 2 pm but staff are very happy to store bags securely if required. We will definitely be staying here again if the opportunity arises, and may even allow the kids to join us next time!

Room Tip: check your room is not too close to the bar if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Sue P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all of our staff very helpful and friendly.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
428 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,018 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,283 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing