We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Very nice hotel, close to centre of Town, staff friendly and helpful. Good pub with local ales and ciders, very reasonable food too. Will look for more Wetherspoon hotels in future, best value.
John and Linda, Johannesburg

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Linda J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed for a nite 21/4/2012 as part of a birthday treat from my partner as we were going to see OLIVER at the hippadrome.This is a brilliant location for the hippadrome and very closs to snow hill station.we arrived about 1oclock so went into birmingham for a drink as room was not quite ready.we requested low floor room and thats what we got.The room was small but nice and clean,nice decore,bed comfortable,bathroom lovely except showerhead was brocken so the water just sprayed down the wall.I would imagine no one had reported it ,as when i told the receptionist she said she was very sorry and would see to it staight away.they gave us a very nice free brecky as way of appology.Thanks wetherspoons we will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrP-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear MrP-UK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were a "walk in" we were welcomed warmly with a friendly face. The gentleman behind the reception went out of his way to accommodate us in the best way possible. Room was clean, new and fresh. It was modern with all the right cons. Staff were excellent and very helpful, plus the Wetherspoon pub is downstairs, cheap food and drink, what more could you want!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cburge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear cburge87,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I can't say enough about this place. The staff were wonderful and I loved being above the Pub. And breakfast was delicious!! Room was nice and clean. Also very spacious considering what i stayed in previously. Finally, I had lost something very valuable and did not know it. They called AND emailed me right away to let me know they would hold it in their safe for me. WOW!!! Excellent value and great location too. Made our trip very memorable. The only problem you may encounter is parking. But it was well worth it and I would stay there again in a second!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77ILuv2travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear 77ILuv2travel77

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have used this hotel for a couple of years now & have to say I have never had a bad experience.
The rooms are boutique style, spotlessly clean & well presented. The beds & pillows are comfortable & the rooms contain tea & coffee making facilities, an ironing board & large flat screen T.V's.
I always make sure I book a luxury room (£63!!) which are just that bit larger & have a few additional features. I find the hotel very quiet at night & I always sleep well. I never hear the Wetherspoons at all as it is quiet a big building with high ceilings & it seems to absorb the noise of the pub.
The staff are always very friendly & attentive & greet you with a warm welcome. Any problems are dealt with immediately in an efficient manner.
The Wetherspoons pub is ok but is looking a bit tired & ready for a refurb, but it is a very busy city centre pub with a good selection of real ales & the usual JDW food selection. The Wellington pub a few doors up the road offers 15 real ales & there is a fab Thai restaurant directly opposite which comes highly recommended.
Parking is free on the side of the road after 7.30pm up to 8.00am & I there a several spaces around the side roads very close to the hotel. I Don't bother with the NCP car parks as I have always managed to find a space on the road & if you arrive before 7.30pm you just pay from your arrival time up to 7.30pm. (6pm - 7.30pm is £3).
Overall, an ideally situated, city centre budget hotel that knocks spots off many of the other larger city centre chain hotels, both in quality & price !!

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are well worth paying a bit extra for. Rear facing rooms are quieter in the summer when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Andrew A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

stayed there for a night, the room was big and very clean, staff was nice and friendly the hotel is situated in the middle of Birmingham not far from the center, lots of shops and not too far from the train station. would defiantly stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlecat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear littlecat81,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here with other family members during Arts Fest in 2011. This is the second time that we have stayed. The value for money is excellent and the rooms are fine and comfortable. The Briar Rose pub itself though is not the best of Wetherspoons. It is busy, the food and drinks are unrivalled in price, but the decor is disturbing visually. It is a mixture that is hard to define, but there seems to be an overall African theme and although there are no flashing lights, the clashing bars of colour may be enough to provoke the Gramd Mal in an epileptic. Close this place and give it a make-over for pity's sake. However, it was a good stay and we would go again.

Stayed: September 2011
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Philip D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
425 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,018 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,281 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing