We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value accommodation with plenty unique features”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good value accommodation with plenty unique features”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

It really is a under 3 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station as long as you are heading Tesco Metro (although I got a bit lost as usual). Reception is very friendly, warm and professional (many thanks to Paula, as well as her colleagues). The room is very spacious with bath as well as all the basics including free wi-fi connection and a very generous refreshment tray. I was also very impressed by the display of drawings provided by local schools.
Breakfast in the attached restaurant was very good value too!

A little bit of updating would make a huge difference on the appearance of the rooms. The other suggestion would be the option of warmer water perhaps?

Thanks a lot Briar Rose!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear mangofish,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a great review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    409
    137
    54
    33
See reviews for
86
394
95
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

£49 a night weekday is excellent value. The initial welcome was superb, the refurbished room excellent and very comfortable. The bed was excellent and the shower very powerful. Somewhat reminisant of a Good Travel Lodge room but with more style.
The Witherspoons is an excellent addition and Steak NIght is great.
The only downside is, I wasin room 103 and 10 feet away on an adjacent building on my level were six big airconditioning units, whichs made an annoying hum during the day, but which meant I only got two hours sleep on my first night. My second night was better.
I would definatley recomend this hotel, but just ensure your room is at the front!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise and don't get room 103 - directly opposite six huge A/C u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIkegamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear MIkegamez,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We apologise for any noise you encountered whilst you were staying with us.

We are pleased to hear you find the hotel great.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks.

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

3rd time of visiting this hotel still offers great all round stay,5 min walk from trian station we arrived early about 12 ish went to reception and they checked to see if room was ready for us and it was so put bags in and unpacked.would recommend this to anyone on sunday checked out at 11 and they let us leave our bags there til gone 3 when we were ready to get train home,thanks to all had great time room was lovely and warm and clean

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear wayne g,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us and found our staff helpful.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at this fantastic hotel for our anniversary in february. We hadn,t been to Birmingham before and after reading other reviews about this hotel we decided to book. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from New Street Station. As we were too early to check in they happily stored our case so we didn,t have to drag it around. When we did check in the manageress was so friendly and helpful. We had booked a delux double and were more than happy with the room. It was very spacious, warm, fab decor and fantastic bathrom with an oversized bath. It was also at the back of the hotel so was lovely and quiet. The bed was huge with lovely feather duvet and pillows and a well stocked tea making tray. After settling in we went in search of a curry house and once again the manageress came up trumps by asking another member of staff and coming to the busy bar to find us and give us directions. Even when we returned later that night and the bar was still very busy and noisy our bedroom was really quiet with no sounds from the bar below. After a great breakfast in the bar the next morning we were very reluctant to leave. Again they were happy to store our case until we were ready to leave after looking round all the great shops which are on the doorstep. We would love to visit Birmingham again and would definitely stay at this great hotel. We couldn,t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear jeanette g
,
Thank you for taking time out to leave us a wonderful 5* review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us and found our staff helpful.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have just taken advantage of the Wetherspoons reduced rates at this hotel

Good location right in the centre of Birmingham and so close to the stations etc. and of course the pub itself where we were able to enjoy a Sunday Roast meal.

Lovely room, very well appointed and with a super king sized bed. Nice en-suite but as a pensioner the bath was rather difficult to get into and out of, having a wide ledge in-front of it and no grab rails. No view from the window, just the courtyard, but then you don't stay in the centre of Birmingham for the view.
Friendly helpful staff.
Hopefully we will be back.

Room Tip: Book on line with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear Keith G,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a wonderful review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us and the room was to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Booked at short notice after seeing an online promotion price. Very pleased on arrival, although we had to wait a short while to book in.The room we had was on the top floor and very pleasant,clean and comfy for a budget priced room.Would definitely recommend,Staff were very pleasant not only to us but all of the other people we saw them deal with.Great location and not at all noisy for great central location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear Feebss,

Thank you for leaving us a great 5* review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Right in the middle of the city. Decent hotel clean and tidy. Good overnight stay. Recommend for couples. Parking an issue but not insurmountable. Good prices in the bar. Friendly punters and sports TV. Not luxurious but for the price is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifitrixabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear Fifitrixabelle,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
949 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing