We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

After staying one night in Wolverhampton at the Baron Court Hotel (a wonderful quirky hotel) for a Buzzcocks gig, we decided we'd make it two nights and chose this Wetherspoons pub. It's central, has a pub which is relatively cheap and the reviews were pretty good. I booked it, thinking even if it were awful, we were only there one night.

The entrance to hotel is separate to the bar, and it's very art deco - a huge plus point in my opinion. The note at reception directed us to the bar to find the manager and they rang for someone, who came down to greet us cheerfully. We were early and couldnt check in but they happily stored our bags in a locked cupboard behind reception.

We took advantage and had a couple of pints in the bar, which itself was nicely decorated, although very busy (it was school holidays, I recalled), before setting off to wander around Birmingham. Upon our return, we checked in and were on the fifth floor.

The room was a lovely surprise - very nicely decorated, a spacious bathroom with bath AND shower. The only slight disappointment was the shower gel/soap stuck on the wall rather than individual but given the relatively cheap price of the hotel room, understandable. The bed was large and comfortable and there was also a flat screen tv there. Given we were on the fifth floor, there was no noise whatsoever from the pub.

All in all, we had a lovely stay, just a shame it was only the one night actually. I wouldnt hesitate to rebook. 5 minutes from New Street Station too.

Room Tip: Dont know what the other levels are like, but there was definitely no noise from the pub, being on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear probodie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

Guest feedback is important to us and it is lovely to read what you have wrote. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    399
    131
    51
    31
See reviews for
81
385
89
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Booked this on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here, I was a bit sceptical at first thinking it would be lots of noise from the pub, being a weeknight and being on the second floor there was no noise!
Having Free bottled water and biscuits is a real winner and also being walking distance from New Street Station the other.
My only issue was the pillows were very very soft and the bed was on casters which meant it would move during the night which was interesting.
If firm pillows could be provided this would be fab and some form of stopper on the casters on the bed! Otherwise would suggest if u like firm or lots of pillows like myself take your own!

Will be booking this hotel again for another trip but pillows will be in my bag! :-)

Room Tip: Higher floors would probably be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethstalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear garethstalb,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

Guest feedback is very important to use, please be assured that your comments have been noted.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I booked this very last minute (booked in the afternoon to stay that night) - mainly because it was one of the few places available for a reasonable price with a central location. The hotel part has it's own entrance just before the actual Wetherspoon's entrance. Member of staff on reception was friendly and very thorough! Walked into the room and was pleasantly surprised - spacious, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean bathroom, tea and coffee provisions and bottled water too. My room was a couple of floors up at the front of the hotel so it is noisy until the early hours but this is to be expected. If I had booked further in advance I would have tried to book a room at the rear of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear SJ88,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Pub and hotel. Jazzed up inn that was tastefully decorated. Sound defences in windows did try there hardest but its a busy place B'ham at 1 in the morning. Free bottled water is a nice perk but discount food or drinks could make this place a true winner. Staff need more training though. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srotideuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear srotideuk

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great central location. Not for those wanting an early night due to the pub next door being particularly loud until around 1am but wasn't a problem for us.

Very clean room and bathroom. Bottled water provided. Very reasonable price.

Mostly good service other than one guy interrupting the check in process for a personal conversation which was slightly rude.

Only major issue for me was that the pillows felt full of air and squashed down so much that it was like not having a pillow and i woke with a pain in my neck.

Otherwise, a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKatReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear KitKatReviews,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

By Booking into a Wetherspoon Hotel you wonder what you are going to get, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room at the rear of the hotel was comfortable, and being 2 floors up there was no noise from the often crowded bar downstairs.
The food is good and inexpensive, and a really good selection of real ales.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear Keith C,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed in hotel 27th march 2013 such a nice hotel room was amazing beds really comfy think they where goose feather which is so comfy so clean bathroom was really nice shower was amazing so powerful and nice and relaxing would recommend this hotel to anyone loved it will be coming back again:)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2015
Dear Jamie411,

Thank you for leaving us a great 5* review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing