We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury room, budget price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Briar Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury room, budget price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The quality of this place is outstanding. Clean, high quality furnishings and new flat screen TV's. full cooked breakfast (with free range eggs) from £3.19. Friendly staff, great location. I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear ericmurphy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5* review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    395
    129
    50
    31
See reviews for
77
382
89
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My Girlfriend and i went away for my birthday, NO complaints from me room was nice and clean very helpful and friendly staff. Will stay again. If you do stay trey and park in the carpark by the train station as other wise it will work out very expensive to park. Make sure you take lots of change £10.80 for 24hours

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueensHotelNewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionst at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear QueensHotelNewp,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5* review.

Customer feedback is very important to us and it is lovely to read what you have wrote.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed through work on a Friday evening last week and found the accommodation to be perfect for my requirements. The rooms were of an adequate size, clean, and very peaceful. I was surprised exactly how quiet it was considering how busy the pub below was.
The bathroom was very good. Really nice powerful shower too which is a must if you're working long hours!!
All in all, for what we paid, I couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Tim R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and can really recommend it as it's right at the centre of things in Birmingham. However, the last two times we have stayed here have not been as good as they should have been. We decided to splash on one of the luxury rooms they advertise. The first one, Ivory, was a very large room, huge bed, sofa iron and ironing board as well as the usual tea, coffee etc. However, although the bathroom was nicely kitted out, I found it impossible to have a shower as it was an over-bath shower unit and there was a ledge approximately 9-10 inches wide which you had to clamber over to get into the bath, which I found impossible to do due to my arthritis. When I mentioned this to reception I was told to ask for the Ebony room next time as it had a walk in shower (as we have at home). This was fine, but this time it was the room that was awful. It was on the first floor at the front which made it very noisy at night (from the pub next door I have to say). Also the room itself was quite small, no sofa, just a table and two very uncomfortable armless chairs. So all in all, neither room was, in my opinion worth the extra money. Next time we will revert to a standard double (at the rear of the hotel) which have always been perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor upwards(there is a lift) and at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear brenh34,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Firstly I would like to apologise for any discomfort you may have encountered during your stay with us.

Unfortunately we don only have the 2 Luxury rooms in the hotel, as you have seen, one has a deep bath and shower and the other a walk in shower. We would like to apologies for any noise you have encounters during your stay, due to our central location it is very difficult to insure no noise will travel from the streets below to the guest bedrooms, while we try out best to insure this does not happen.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

First impressions are pretty good, with a very friendly and welcoming lady at reception. The room was fine, with tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits, and - a nice touch - a bottle of water. A single room really did mean that I had a single bed, but that's fine for the price and location.

I have to agree with some earlier reviews that the cleaning is a bit slapdash. I found an empty biscuit wrapper on the floor, and a very suspicious-looking hair on the bathroom mirror. Otherwise the room itself was fine, and the shower was hot and powerful. The corridors were a bit shabby, though.

Maybe I was unlucky with my allocated room, but it was overlooking an air-con/heating plant which made quite a lot of noise. The worst thing, however, was the very loud collection or emptying of what sounded like hundreds of bottles outside at 6am. When I mentioned this at check-out, the lady seemed to know that this is a regular problem and said that the level of noise depended on which bin-men were working on a particular morning. There was no apology offered.

Would I stay there again? Possibly, but there are better budget options to be had in Birmingham.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musoruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear musoruss,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful.

We would like to apologies for the issues you mentioned regarding your stay. Here at The Briar Rose Hotel we set ourselves the highest possible standards unfortunately, on occasions we may fall short of these desired standards, so I would like to apologise for the points you have made

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

My Wife & I stayed here for one night & are now looking for an excuse to go back!

With it being a Wetherspoons hotel we were a little unsure of what to expect, maybe something along the lines of the pubs, cheap & cheerful but nothing to write home about...How wrong we were!

The hotel is themed on the Briar Rose by Edward Burne-Jones & is very tastefully decorated, especially the reception area. As always, Wetherspoons seem to have gone the extra mile when it came to decoration.

The hotel has a separate, secure entrance beside the pub but can also be accessed through the pub as well.

Once inside, you're not greeted by an expansive & impressive reception area, more a well-presented but small desk area that links the pub to the internal access to the hotel.

Our check-in was quick & efficient, but could probably take a while if there were a lot of people checking in at once, there's only room for one person behind the counter!

The receptionist was very friendly & gave us all the information we needed, without us having to ask.

We stayed in one of the 2 "Deluxe" rooms, No. 203, the Ivory room. Our first surprise was the size. There was a King sized bed with a sofa, a large desk/dressing table area & masses of storage. We both agreed that the bed was one of the comfiest we'd ever slept in.
It was very well presented (apart from a small patch of peeling wallpaper above the kettle) however, please don't expect any expansive city views, our room looked over an alleyway at the rear of the pub. This was certainly not an issue & the window was absolutely huge, letting in as much light as possible.

The bathroom featured an over-sized bath with high quality fittings & a shower that was so powerful it could probably take your skin off! There was never an issue with hot water either, always a bonus. Although the toiletries provided were only in one of those horrible, wall mounted dispensers they still seemed to be of a decent quality.

We did have one or two minor issues, but these certainly did not detract from our stay.
Firstly, despite arriving after our check-in time, our room was not ready, not really a problem when you only have to go through one door to be in a Wetherspoon's pub.
Secondly, when we did get to our room, we were a little disappointed to find a lipstick smeared tissue behind the bathroom door, obviously a bit of a rush job!

The hotel is situated just a 3 minute walk from New Street Station & is just a few minutes walk from the Bullring & a host of other attractions...This does not mean it was at all noisy, we were on the second floor & had absolutely no issues with noise, you wouldn't believe you were right in the city centre.

We paid just 40 pounds for our room & another 10 for two very good quality breakfasts, an absolute bargain...The "large" breakfast nearly broke me, but I soldiered on, like the trooper I am. & managed to finish it!!

The pub itself did everything a Wetherspoon's should, a good choice of well served beers, friendly staff & good quality food

In general, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody & will certainly stay here when we next have an excuse to visit Birmingham.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms certainly exceeded our expectations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunwalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear sylvworld,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful.

We would like to apologies for the issues you mentioned regarding your stay. Here at The Briar Rose Hotel we set ourselves the highest possible standards unfortunately, on occasions we may fall short of these desired standards, so I would like to apologise for the points you have made
We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Wasn't expecting much from a Wetherspoon's hotel - cheap and cheerful if I was lucky. Not the case at all. The lady on reception was excellent, really friendly and helpful. The room was really nice and you wouldn't believe you were in the middle of Birmingham city centre, it was so quiet. Would definitely use again if I needed to stay in Birmingham.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear sylvworld,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing