We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is first class accommodation at the JDWetherspoon Hotel right in the centre of Birmingham.
The reception was very courteous and helpful and the room was a lovely surprise with ample space well set out. Very clean all through with a great walk in shower and very comfy bed with crisp bed linen. Bottled water provided along with a kettle and tea and milk. If you wanted to iron anything you had an ironing board and iron. Great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungryman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear hungryman47,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5*review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Upgraded to a luxury room which was deffinatly worth the extra £.
Perfect for a few hours shopping at the bullring which was within a 5min walk with plenty of places to choose from to eat.
No noise from the bar next door/underneath when in the rooms which was great for a few cheeky drinks before hitting the hay. It also provided a great breakfast in the morning, which was nice and easy to walk into after checking out and gave us chance to wake up.
All in all i'd deffiantly return wether it would be as a couple or a group of mates on the town

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LboroJay94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear LboroJay94,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5*review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband stayed here again as my daughter was in the children's hospital down the road. Great location for children's hospital about 5-10 min walk max. And central for city centre if you are one of the lucky ones looking for a weekend away shopping or partying. Very understanding staff, clean and tidy hotel room stayed in a single room this time room 402. More than big enough for a single, desk, tv, phone, wardrobe, chair and comfy single bed. Quiet room no noise from pub down stairs. Very clean bathroom with a powerful shower over the bath. This property is a wetherlodge so very convienent for food that is served up until 9-10 o clock at night and open ealy for breakfast. What is great about this hotel especially if you have a child going into hospital you can cancel this room if you need to 12:00 the same day, which is very helpful if you are waiting to see if there is a bed available and staff are very helpful when doing so too.i would definately stay here again. Briarrosehotel@jdwetherspoons.co.uk book today you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 402 was a single quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear NewportTaffy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5*review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to join a family celebration and found the briar rose to be very handily placed right in the centre of town. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was surprisingly quiet. The room itself was well equipped with flat screen tv tea and coffee biscuits and bottled water.
My only criticism would be the state of the windows which could do with a good cleaning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevnmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear kevnmarg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Customer feedback is important to us and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to apologise, here at The Briar Rose Hotel we set ourselves the highest possible standards unfortunately, on occasions we may fall short of these desired standards, so I would like to apologise for the points you have made

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A colleague introduced me to the Briar Rose - I'm really grateful. I ended up staying there for some weeks earlier in the year.

Rooms are of 3-4 star quality at a 1 star price. The design of the hotel in a converted bank reflects the Burne Jones theme (he was born in a building opposite) and provides individually designed rooms that are nothing like a budget chain.

Beds are comfortable, bathrooms functional and in some cases luxurious.

Well done!

Room Tip: If they're available try to get one of the luxury rooms, the sofa / armchairs is useful if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SomersetSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear SomersetSomerset

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful 5*review.

Customer feedback is important to us and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Only stayed here for 1night to go to a concert at LG Arena. Room was ok a little on the small size and extremely hot but you can't do anything about that with such a hot summer we've had. For what we paid was a really good price and great location, would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear Katie C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here during July on a business trip.
Hotel was ideally located for me, less than a 5 minute walk to New Street station. Chose this hotel as it was one of the only hotels in Central Birmingham that offered free wifi.
Service was good, friendly receptionist. Nicely sized room with comfy bed, only let down was the lack of air con - didn't think that one through when booking a hotel in one of the hottest weeks of the year. Luckily was on the 4th floor & able to open my window without getting any noise from the street below.
Breakfast is served at the attached Wetherspoons pub, and is as you would expect for a Wetherspoons - incredibly cheap & not bad quality either.
Overall, would return in the winter.. not so sure about the middle of summer though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
424 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,279 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing