We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Drinks..”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We were in Birmingham for the weekend and have previously stayed in the Briar Rose do decided to go back for drinks. It was heaving as you can imagine on a Saturday lunchtime a few weekend a before Christmas, however although we only had a bottle of Presecco it is still a nice place to visit and only just off the shops.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Roose1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pub even with the busy Christmas shoppers.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    411
    138
    54
    33
See reviews for
87
396
95
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Would really love to stay here every time I come to Birmingham, but too expensive in comparison to the many travel lodges, which when booked in advance are a lot cheaper. I Like the wetherspoon experience love the cheap food and drink, but just too expensive for a nights stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GrahamR34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear GrahamR34,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so sorry to hear that you find our hotel more expensive in comparison to others.

Our website does show discounted rates for last minute bookings. Or call our hotel directly to receive a quote.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Second visit this year as per previous review not disappointed.Clean,cosy,quiet,and good value.Stayed whilst visiting the German Christmas Market,this hotel is an ideal location plus a good value choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com

Helpful?
Thank Feebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Feebss,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel following a visit to the Military Tattoo at the NIA. We booked on the internet and paid £40 for the room, which we thought was excellent value.

The hotel is situated less than 10 minute walk from Birmingham New St.Station & the Bull Ring and central to attractions..

The hotel is part of the Wetherspoons group and is situated immediately adjacent to the Wetherspoons pub, with direct access from the hotel into the pub.

Food was readily available in the pub and was typical Wetherspoons fare, cheap & Cheerful. Wish the same could be said for the beer, which at £3.30 for a pint of Carling Lager was a bit steep.

The room we had was well equipped, very clean and very large. It had a large tv with all the free view channels and a large bathroom too.

Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the road and there was quite a lot of noise from road sweepers, bin lorries and delivery lorries, which started about 4.15am in the morning which disturbed us somewhat.

However, all in all, we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and allowed us to leave our luggage there for a few hours after we checked out to enable us to visit the Christmas Market without being loaded with baggage. We felt it was good value for money and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you don't want disturbing by road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Ray S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and your room.

We would like to apologies for any disruptive noise encountered during your stay with us, our hotel is fitted with additional sliding glass panels over the windows to try and reduce the street noise, however it is not always possible to remove all noise.

Guest feedback is very important to us and the points you have made have been taken on-board.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night for a Xmas get together. Brilliant location. Clean comfortable room. Bed was very comfortable. Check in and check out trouble free. Helpful staff. Had breakfast in the Wetherspoons beneath the Hotel. Two delicious breakfasts.
Would highly recommend this Hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CazDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear CazDodd,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5* review.

We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What can we say that hasnt been said. It is a beautiful hotel,soft beds,powerful showers,great decor...the bar/pub attached is of the usuall reliable Wetherspoon quality...a selection of real ale,a well kept cellar and wholesome cheap food..
But the crowning glory of this Hotel are the staff themselves 11/10 for Customer Service. Shirley Ann and her team would have no trouble fitting in to some of the worlds top Hotels that I have worked/stayed in in London.They really do know that the customer is always right (even though we all know that stuff aint the truth) and her attentiveness to the guests needs was second to none,fanatstic......We will return.
Johnny and Jocelyn

Room Tip: You have a choice....either the sounds of the City or the sounds of air conditioner type equipment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riothamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Riothamus,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fantastic 5* review.

We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff work very hard to insure 100% customer satisfaction, and they will be please to read your comments.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here recently at a visit to the Xmas markets. It is central for most things, very clean and the staff cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay. Breakfasts are excellent but evening dining may prove problematic as the bar is always packed. Not a problem however as you are so close to lots of eateries.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel seem to be quieter but do not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATripadvisee404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear ATripadvisee404,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fantastic 5* review.

We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.

During Christmas, due to the markets, our pub does get quite busy, however we do allow guests to take meals from the pub up to their room in these cases, or for guest traveling alone who do not wish to eat alone.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
251 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
956 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing