We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Novotel Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,136)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
408
463
158
69
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
463
158
69
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswetherspoons publuxury roomcity centrenew street stationbottled watergerman marketcentral birminghamsingle roomnice roomtrain stationchristmas marketgood sizeexcellent locationfew minutes walksaturday nightreception stafftea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We were in Birmingham for the weekend and have previously stayed in the Briar Rose do decided to go back for drinks. It was heaving as you can imagine on a Saturday lunchtime a few weekend a before Christmas, however although we only had a bottle of Presecco it is still a nice place to visit and only just off the shops.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Roose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear Roose1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pub even with the busy Christmas shoppers.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Would really love to stay here every time I come to Birmingham, but too expensive in comparison to the many travel lodges, which when booked in advance are a lot cheaper. I Like the wetherspoon experience love the cheap food and drink, but just too expensive for a nights stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank GrahamR34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear GrahamR34,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so sorry to hear that you find our hotel more expensive in comparison to others.

Our website does show discounted rates for last minute bookings. Or call our hotel directly to receive a quote.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Second visit this year as per previous review not disappointed.Clean,cosy,quiet,and good value.Stayed whilst visiting the German Christmas Market,this hotel is an ideal location plus a good value choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com
Thank Feebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear Feebss,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel following a visit to the Military Tattoo at the NIA. We booked on the internet and paid £40 for the room, which we thought was excellent value.

The hotel is situated less than 10 minute walk from Birmingham New St.Station & the Bull Ring and central to attractions..

The hotel is part of the Wetherspoons group and is situated immediately adjacent to the Wetherspoons pub, with direct access from the hotel into the pub.

Food was readily available in the pub and was typical Wetherspoons fare, cheap & Cheerful. Wish the same could be said for the beer, which at £3.30 for a pint of Carling Lager was a bit steep.

The room we had was well equipped, very clean and very large. It had a large tv with all the free view channels and a large bathroom too.

Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the road and there was quite a lot of noise from road sweepers, bin lorries and delivery lorries, which started about 4.15am in the morning which disturbed us somewhat.

However, all in all, we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and allowed us to leave our luggage there for a few hours after we checked out to enable us to visit the Christmas Market without being loaded with baggage. We felt it was good value for money and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you don't want disturbing by road noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear Ray S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and your room.

We would like to apologies for any disruptive noise encountered during your stay with us, our hotel is fitted with additional sliding glass panels over the windows to try and reduce the street noise, however it is not always possible to remove all noise.

Guest feedback is very important to us and the points you have made have been taken on-board.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed for one night for a Xmas get together. Brilliant location. Clean comfortable room. Bed was very comfortable. Check in and check out trouble free. Helpful staff. Had breakfast in the Wetherspoons beneath the Hotel. Two delicious breakfasts.
Would highly recommend this Hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CazDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear CazDodd,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5* review.

We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews