We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sleepless night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A sleepless night.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked a twin room for myself and my daughter for one night.was pleasantly surprised when I arrived as looked nice for the price paid.Unfortunately when I got to the room it was dark and dingy but the worse thing was the constant loud humming outside the window of some sort of massive industrial air con units.I decided I would put up with this for one night as I don't like to complain when the banging started and on investigating saw we were above the yard of the pub and they were unloading the beer barrels which was really noisy.I complained and was moved to another room on the floor above but could still hear the constant droning of the air con units and this went on all night.Some of the other rooms may be OK but I won't be taking that gamble and stopping here again.on a positive note staff were lovely and breakfast in the pub was good and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianbania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear gillianbania,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review,

Firstly I would like to apologies regarding the noise disturbances encountered during your stay with us.

Our reception team will always try to insure customers cannot hear neighbouring building’s deliveries by moving them to rooms further away, however this is not always possible.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Again please accept my deepest apologies.

Kind Regards

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    409
    137
    54
    33
See reviews for
86
394
95
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Paid £59 for an overnight stay as we were going to the NEC to see a concert and wanted to make a night of it.Previous experience of parking at the NEC put me off driving. We had a family room as these were the only ones available at time of booking. This was spacious comfortable and clean. Albeit the windows could have done with a little more attention.

We had no issues with noise, I specifically asked for a room that was high up for this reason.

As others have noted the pub is exceptionally busy and does seem to attract those wishing to drink cheaply to excess during certain times.We only had a drink there when we returned and it had quietened down towards the end of the night.

The hotel is perfectly situated for the city and the NEC is convenient from New Street station.

Don't be put off by previous experience of wetherspoons pubs. You do not have to set foot in the pub unless you want to.

We have stayed in Birmingham several times before as it's our closest city. For the price I don't think you could do any better.

We had breakfast in the pub before returning home this was reasonably priced and really good quality.
Whilst early in the morning the pub had a totally a totally different clientele with most drinking teas and coffees and eating breakfast.

If you want to enjoy an overnight stay in comfortable and convenient surroundings without pools and spas etc this should fit the bill.

We would certainly return. We only had minimal contact with the staff but found them to be courteous and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rvp1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2015
Dear Rvp1976,

Thank you for leaving us a great 5* review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We simply wanted a couple days away, on a budget. The location was perfect, the service was pleasant and helpful. They had a bath! and the bed was comfortable. Central for the shops etc. So was able to pop back for a power nap should the city life be too much for us Devon surf bums. Definitely be back maybe to treat mum to a shopping break or with the girls! Also found Birmingham so friendly.
A.Reed,N.Devon

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alelreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Alelreed,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us.

Many of our guests, like yourselves take advantage of how close we are to the attractions of Birmingham.

We hope to see you in the future.

Many thanks.

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Firstly the location was great, everywhere in the city centre was easily accessible. Reasonably priced overnight parking at Snowhill station nearby for £11 for 24 hours. Our room was 405 at the front of the hotel but higher up so nice and quiet and had a great nights sleep. Good sized double room with a separate sofa area, plenty of mirrors to get ready and a modern, clean bathroom all for the bargain price of £59! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zanadu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear zanadu1234,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful 5* review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the bedroom was to your liking.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards.

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Much cheaper than most centrally located hotels so I was surprised when it was just perfect for a comfortable nights stay. I didn't eat, so can't comment on the food, but there was a welcoming tray for tea and coffee, including a complimentary bottle of water. There's a hair dryer and sweet smelling liquid soap over the bath and sink. Shower and plumbing perfect, with nice fluffy towels. The flat screen TV had plenty of channels and wi Fi was easily connected and free. Very comfy bed with sumptuous bedding, with extra pillows and towels thrown in. I asked for a quiet room and a higher floor, which is what I got at the expense of a view, but for one night that was fine. All in all I thought this was a good buy and very handy for the station ( 2 min walk) and a short train ride ride straight to the NEC CENTRE and the airport. £7return. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as it's on the main st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Eveonholiday,

Thank you for leaving us a lovely 5* review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many of our guests, like yourselves, take advantage of our central location too.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards.

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived on a very rowdy saturday afternoon and wondered what we had let ourselves in for. Room was clean and sufficient for a one night stay and by the time we returned from our evening out it has quiten down considerably. Overall it was ok

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmarie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Annmarie E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

When Birmingham holds events, the city centre can become quite busy. This makes us a wonderful location for those attending the events and a lovely escape from the busy streets bellow for those who do not attend.

We are glad to see that the rest of your stay was not ruined by this first impression.

Kind regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel on 14th March 2014 and were given room 110 which was classed as a luxury room.

The room was nowhere near luxury and being at the front of the hotel was noisy due to the bar next door, we were informed that the music had to stop by 12.30 which it did. The room was also in need of a makeover holes in the nets on the windows and the curtain off its tracks so did not close properly.

I think if we had paid the normal rate for this room not a luxury room maybe it would have been better. But it was nowhere near worth what we paid!

Make sure you ask for a room at the back of the hotel!

The hotel itself is in a great area and very central for what we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbobl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear kimbobl81,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I would like to apologise, here at The Briar Rose Hotel we set ourselves the highest possible standards unfortunately, on occasions we may fall short of these desired standards, so I would like to apologise for the points you have made.
.
Unfortunately, Whilst we do not play any music ourselves, the neighbouring bars do. However, they do shut off all music by 1am at the latest.

We do hope that these issues did not ruin your visit to Birmingham.

Kind Regards

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
950 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing