We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank holiday chill out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Briar Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bank holiday chill out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Excellent stay had luxury room £45 very clean, huge bath, good food & great staff all very friendly

Would recommend parking overnight 24 hrs at paradise circus multi storey (£8.80). 5 mins walk away, Also on sunday had jazz club next door which was terrific.

Room Tip: Room 203 luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Hello Nigel T,

Thank you for choosing us to spend your bank holiday weekend with! It's good to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. The baths really are big in the luxury rooms. I'm also pleased that you found our staff to be so friendly, we do pride ourselves on excellent customer service.

Thanks you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    394
    128
    50
    31
See reviews for
77
382
88
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here several years ago the quality of the rooms is very good a good choice if the price is right would have no hesitation about booking again very clean powerful shower nice comfortable bed. It is a very good location for exploring or getting to anything in the city centre. As happy as I was with the hotel the pub that is attached which I use fairly regularly was a massive disappointment the next morning when I purchased breakfast having been served cold when complained they took it away ten minutes later returned with another cold breakfast. I am not a complainer normally if I have bad service just do not go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Hello Andrew M,

Welcome back to The Briar Rose Hotel! I see that you stayed several years ago, no doubt a lot has changed since then as we have undergone a refurbishment. I'm glad you approve! The showers are indeed very good, one of my favourite things about our rooms in fact. You're right about our location, it's unbeatable for convenience in Birmingham city centre.

I'm sorry that you weren't happy with your experience at breakfast. Our breakfasts are usually very good, so it's disappointing to read that we seem to have let you down on this occasion. I will bring this to the attention of the kitchen team. If you do choose to visit us again I can ensure that this will not be repeated.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope that you visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
273 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wow. What a great find! We booked the Briar Rose as somewhere to crash as we were dining at the Michelin starred restaurant a couple of doors away. We were really impressed with this hotel. Great central location, great room with high end fixtures and fittings, including a very nice bathroom, a superking size bed and a 50" TV. All for £75 on a Saturday night right in the heart of a bustling City Centre. What more could you ask for? We had breakfast next morning which was very edible and remarkably cheap!! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. We stayed in Liverpool recently in a city Centre hotel of similar standard and paid £200!!! Keep up the great work Wetherspoons ( owners of the Briar Rose), your business model of making sensible profits and not ripping people off is obviously working!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Hello Stuggy123,

What a sparkling review! We work very hard at The Briar Rose Hotel to offer beautiful rooms at great prices along with fantastic customer service; it's very heartening to then read reviews such as yours filled with such praise.

We are very lucky to have such a good city centre location as you mentioned, it provides a great base for anyone wanting to make the most of everything Birmingham has to offer. I'm glad you were so impressed with your room too. I see that you made the most of our Wetherspoon restaurant next door and enjoyed one of our famous breakfasts - I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to our kitchen team.

Once again, thank you so much for such a great review, I'm very happy that you were so impressed. Don't leave it too long until your next visit!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here when we went to see ant and dec at the nec.its about a 2min walk to the train station where trains leave about every 10-15 mins for the nec.
The rooms are big and nice and clean.beds comfy,showers great.the bar downstairs was open till 1 but we didnt hear any noise in our room.
Staff are brill and have gone out their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. We will definatly be back. :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sokyrka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Hello Sokyrka1,

Thank you for your five star review! I see that you chose to stay here after a show at the NEC, we are very close to the train station so I'm glad you found this to be convenient. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service so it's very nice to read your comments about the staff going out of their way to help you. Our housekeepers also work very hard to keep the rooms sparkling so thank you for noting how clean your room was.

I'm happy to read that you will be back, we look forward to seeing you! Thank you again for taking the time out to write us such a lovely review, and I hope you enjoyed Ant & Dec too!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stay here last weekend for a stag do. Was very surprised how nice it was. Rooms were nice and big. shower was great. Only down side was room had sun all afternoon so made it very warm. Not much of a issue at all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pazza20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Hello Pazza20001,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review for us. I'm glad you were happy with your room, especially the shower! We often receive comments about the showers, they really are very good! I note that your room faced the sun in the afternoon and you felt it was a little too warm. We do provide fans if guests would like them; if you stay again please feel free to ask for one. Although it is getting very cold now so maybe leave that until next summer!

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for providing us with your feedback.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Briar Rose is in the Weatherspoon chain. For a good value hotel it is fine, comfy bed, good shower and close to the railway station, shops and museums.

However don't sleep in Room 102 (or any that overlook the yard) on a Monday or Thursday morning. At 5.30 am we were awoken by the lorry delivering supplies. The men then unloaded the full metal beer barrels, loaded the empty ones and then got the full ones from the yard into the hotel. Noise it was unbelievable and went on for an hour or so.

We did complain on checking out and the duty manager offered a complimentary breakfast.

Why when the hotel was clearly not full were we put in this room. Surely the hotel staff are aware of the delivery at this time and the noise it generated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Sandra T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am very sorry to hear about the noise disturbance you encountered during your stay with us.

We would like to apologies that you were not placed into a quieter room. As you have witnessed, neighbouring buildings do have deliveries which can possibly be heard from our guest bedrooms. Our reception team try their best to insure guests are not disturbed by these delivery’s, but it is not always possible.

Please accept my deepest apologies for this not having been the case during your stay with us.

Kind Regards

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

like it says in the title just the little things. The hotel was perfect location in the centre of town , wetherspoon hotel so pub below hotel not noisy thou room was really nice bigish . Paid £42 for midweek night . Check in wasnt to bad lift wasnt working so moved us from 402 down to 109 . The little things ere we go very poor lighting in the bathroom so nowhere for the wife to put make up on because the little light in the bathroom over the mirror didnt work ,changed bulb but still no joy. There was no xtractor working in bathroom , no windows that you could open in the room. And finally no plugs near the bed so you couldnt use phone/tablet while on charge . Not really major moans but just little things that could be sorted easily . Overall I would recommend this hotel and we are already sorting our next visit

Room Tip: 109 no opening windows but if you ask they have plenty of fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimimacushla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear mimimacushla,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In respect to the comments you made, we would like to apologies for the lighting in the bathroom. Our reception team try their very best to insure all guest satisfaction, however due to maintenance or ordering issues we cannot always rectify situations immediately.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Briar Rose Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#35 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing