We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Briar Rose Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
406
452
153
68
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
452
153
68
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswetherspoons publuxury roomcity centrenew street stationbottled watergerman marketcentral birminghamsingle roomnice roomchristmas marketgood sizetrain stationpowerful showerexcellent locationfew minutes walksaturday nightreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,073 - 1,078 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Not expecting anything but a decent place to stay in the middle of Brum (travelling by train) this did not fail to disappoint. Easy to find , easy book in and a room on the top floor (with a lift in working order though my wife persisted in trying to race me up and down...though to be honest if you can manage stairs there shouldnt be anything to grumble about for a place slap bang in the middle of Englands second city with a very good bar downstairs (and as far as Wetherspoons go this was a good bar , excellent service and good beer at good prices...if you want a poncey wine bar type hotel then go and find one elsewhere!!!!) Didnt have any view out of the window but not interested as just there for beer and sex and chips and gravy and a free festival, the Godiva in Coventry!!! Room excellent, clean and smart. We had a hassle, problem free enjoyable stay!! God bless Wetherspoons!!!!(and I dont work for them I hasten to add)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magpiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear magpiefox,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Was slightly scepticle when we arrived as we walked into the adjacent pub instead of the hotel entrance. Despite the hallway looking rather old fashioned and the check-in a little slow the rooms were excellent. Ok the bed wasn't a king size but that's being picky. The room & bathroom were spotless, very modern decor and comfortable. Perfect for a nights stay and very good value for money. Breakfast was available in the pub next door and although it wasn't gourmet is was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillywizzFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear BillywizzFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

we hope to see you again in the future.

King Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Stayed during recent "volation" (volcano induced vacation). Found the hotel pleasant and centrally located. The staff were terrific, helped immensely with organizing new flight. I would certainly recommend and stay again. Free wireless in pub.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipper239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

Dear flipper239,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Hotel was recently refurbished, so is much better than previously. Easy to use Wetherspoons website for booking, got fantastic room rate of £32 for the night - amazing for the centre of Birmingham. It's about 5 mins walk from New Street station, perfect location for a night out or a restaurant visit. Easy to find, easy to check in with helpful receptionist. Lifts worked well. Only slight niggle was that the main fire door into the corridor to get to the rooms didn't have a soft closer on and thus banged loudly every time someone went in and out. The noise of this wasn't too bad from the room, but was slightly irritating. The room was a good size, recently decorated, looking out over office buildings, so quiet at night. No noise at all from the attached pub. All very clean. The bathroom was quite well done, new fixtures, shower worked well. There was a mini kettle, coffee/tea and biccies on a tray next to the bed, and a TV. The room rate doesn't include breakfast - that can be booked, but is taken in the main pub. We didn't fancy it - no real choice, just fried food in an atmosphere of stale beer - but there are about 3 coffee shops within 30 seconds walk, so not a problem. Overall, a really good deal for the price and location - I'd use it again while it's still fresh from the refurb.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear Outinthemiddaysun,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Ragerds,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

It seems that the Briar Rose used to be a bit grim but since it has been refurbished it is a really good hotel for the price. The rooms are big and well appointed and you cannot fault the position.

It is a bit strange having breakfast with a few old men knocking back the lager at 9.00 but the breakfast is good and cheap but not included in the room rate.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and everything except the soap and shower gel was in place. I would recommend bringing your own soap, shampoo etc because the dispensers provided were either empty or impossible to use.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toller_Rant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

Dear Toller_Rant,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews