We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed at this Hotel which was in the centre of Birmingham town just up a side street. On arrival was welcomed by friendly staff. The recently refurbished room was clean and comfortable with a power shower and bath, flat screen t.v, tea & coffee making facilities with complementry biscuits. The bed was very comfortable with feather duvet and good quality pillows, A seperate side entrance from the adjoining Weatherspoon pub, Had a meal in the pub as it was their curry night which was good value, had breakfast next morning which had good choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argyle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear argyle089,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    409
    137
    54
    33
See reviews for
86
394
95
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

this is ideal for a weekend break in Brum. very central, had a tesco's metro close by and literally a stones throw from the station. But still quiet overnight.

Room was obviously recently refurbed, bathroom was huge and very very clan, even in corridors.

Each floor required key entry so great security.

no eating facilities, but breakfast served next door in the wetherspoons pub and was good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
Dear Mariayd,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My partner and I booked this hotel because it was conveniently located for the train station and was very reasonably priced. I was very skeptical because it's a Weatherspoon's hotel, so wasn't really expecting much. What a surprise! This hotel has just been completely refurbished so our room was absolutely spotless, very spacious and decorated tastefully. The bathroom was also spotless which is a really big deal for me, 10 out of 10. The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived quite early in the day because we were attending an event at the NEC so we were able to leave our bags in a securely locked cupboard behind Reception. Also, when we checked in later in the day, the Reception staff had swapped over to a lovely lady called Naomi. She was very friendly, knowledgeable and totally restored my faith in customer service. When I discovered that the pillows and duvet were stuffed with duck and goose down (which I'm very allergic to) I requested polycarbon pillow and duvet which Naomi brought up to the room within 15 minutes, very happily. She was also really helpful with directions which we needed to get to a private party in the evening. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely yummy, the staff again were really helpful and friendly and changed a few of the cooked items to suit us. The only down side really was the service in the bar in the evening. The staff were very sullen and didn't seem very interested in serving customers. The hotel service and morning breakfast team however were excellent. If you need to stay in Birmingham and want a centrally located hotel, very reasonably priced (downright cheap really!), with friendly helpful staff and one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had, stay at the Briar Rose. It was great!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2015
Dear Saphey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful.

Customer satisfaction is very important to us hear at the Briar rose and it is wonderful to read your review.

we hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I stayed one night for business in Birmingham and booked the Briar Rose because it was close to the train station and it was cheap. I didn't expect much as it is run by the Wetherspoons chain, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. My room was very large for a single and having booked a quiet room, it was very peaceful. I had dinner in the pub, it was delicious, the staff were very friendly and I felt comfortable as a woman having a meal on my own. The decor was excellent. I would highly recommend this amazingly cheap find.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombaypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2015
Dear bombaypink,

thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US/UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

What a surprise! My husband and I decided last minute to stay in Birmingham for an evening and there weren't many hotels with availability and at a reasonable price. He was leery of staying in a JD Wetherspoon-affiliated hotel but the reviews were decent so we gave it a try. It was much better than expected-the room was spacious with a modern stylish decor and most importantly, clean. Hats off to the hotel for installing wood-style flooring instead of carpet! No chance of musty/stale smells or dirt/germs hiding in carpet. The front desk staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, a rarity these days in the UK. The only feature I can't give a positive recommendation about is the bed in our room. A bit lumpy as were the pillows. We slept ok though, wouldn't be great for a long stay. Staying in hotels on a monthly basis in the UK and the US and for the money, it was a good find for us, and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USnowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionists at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2015
Dear USnowUK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful.

We are sorry to hear about the issues with your bedding and please accept our apologies for any discomfort you incurred.

we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Not expecting anything but a decent place to stay in the middle of Brum (travelling by train) this did not fail to disappoint. Easy to find , easy book in and a room on the top floor (with a lift in working order though my wife persisted in trying to race me up and down...though to be honest if you can manage stairs there shouldnt be anything to grumble about for a place slap bang in the middle of Englands second city with a very good bar downstairs (and as far as Wetherspoons go this was a good bar , excellent service and good beer at good prices...if you want a poncey wine bar type hotel then go and find one elsewhere!!!!) Didnt have any view out of the window but not interested as just there for beer and sex and chips and gravy and a free festival, the Godiva in Coventry!!! Room excellent, clean and smart. We had a hassle, problem free enjoyable stay!! God bless Wetherspoons!!!!(and I dont work for them I hasten to add)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2015
Dear magpiefox,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Was slightly scepticle when we arrived as we walked into the adjacent pub instead of the hotel entrance. Despite the hallway looking rather old fashioned and the check-in a little slow the rooms were excellent. Ok the bed wasn't a king size but that's being picky. The room & bathroom were spotless, very modern decor and comfortable. Perfect for a nights stay and very good value for money. Breakfast was available in the pub next door and although it wasn't gourmet is was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillywizzFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2015
Dear BillywizzFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

we hope to see you again in the future.

King Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Property: The Briar Rose Hotel
Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing