We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”

Birmingham Back to Backs
Ranked #1 of 283 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wonderfully atmospheric and suitable for young and old alike. Not only do you see how the back-to-backs would have looked back in the day, you also go on a voyage of discovery through history learning fascinating facts about the people who lived and loved beyond the front door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,935
    400
    46
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Good Old Days”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was born in a Birmingham back to back house, but only lived there till I was 1 year old so I found it really interesting to see what it was really like. Our guide that day was a lady called Sheila and she actually lived in these houses but further up the road and there was nothing that she didn't know and told us lots of stories of her childhood.
When I was booking the tour I was asked if all my party of 4 were good on their feet as there is a lot of climbing up and down very steep stairs over 4 floors, I was glad they mentioned this as 2 of my party were elderly and decided not to come. On our tour there was an elderly gent who really struggled up and down the stairs. Tthere is an option to watch a tv presentation of the tour on the ground floor but obviously not half as much fun as doing the tour itself.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reminder of bygone era”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everyone should visit these houses if only to see how people used to live and celebrate how lucky we are today! They are amazing

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank happycouple188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Apart from the hassle of booking in advance and National Trust booking line not being manned most of the time, it's well worth the effort to get an in site into the living conditions of the times.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing day out”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are part of National trust & decided to take the trip here as part of day to Birmingham. Was a really informative day guides are brilliant. We loved the old fashioned sweet shop. Just remember you have to pre book

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birmingham Back to Backs also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Birmingham Back to Backs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing