We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“You get what you pay for!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

If you are looking for a room to sleep and that is all, then this is ideal if you are going out for a night in birmingham, cheap room so you get what you pay for. room was not clean, towels were dirty and stained. Shower had hairs in it and the lights in the room flickered when switchedon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the matter. But just to inform you that we have 24 hours reception, next time do no hesitate to inform us if you have any problem with your room.King regards Magali Leveque General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    746
    431
    185
    172
See reviews for
232
497
290
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I recently stayed at the Etap Hotel, Birmingham Centre and cannot fault the team or accomodation. I chose this hotel based on price and the proximity to the client who i was meeting with a 9.30am. The hotel was very easy to find and had excellent secure parking facilities. The reception team gave me a warm welcome during check-in and i found the room to be of an adequate standard for the price paid - with all the modern facilities i would expect. Overall a faultless hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDS268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Very low price and very nice room, look modern and clean and have separated toilet/bathroom. Seems popular with students/young travelers. Feel a bit commercial though as everything in addition has a price (including boiler). Also very not satisfied with the breakfast - I paid for £3 more and all I got is cereal and muffin, no hot food except a toast. And no wifi in the room, wifi in lobby has to be paid for, made it quite a hassle when I wanted to transfer files between devices.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cky_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

If you are just popping into Birmingham for a brief no frill stay...then etap serves that purpose perfectly well.

It provides you with a decent place to spend the night for minimal costs. The rooms aren't too bad and not noisy considering some of the rooms faces the main road which means you can get a decent night rest.

I stayed on a weekday and no doubt the story is different during the weekend when you get all the drunkeds coming back from broad street and could make for a less pleasant experience. Just bear that in mind.

Overall, the place wins on value and you get what you pay for. Just think Ryanair....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amk_sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I have stayed in the hotel on 2 occasions recently- total of 4 nights. Very good value for money. excellent location for city centre and train/bus station but last stretch to hotel if walking somewhat undesirable area of the city. friendly, professional and helpful reception staff. on my first stay the bathroom had not been cleaned properly but I soon had an apology and another room. breakfast basic but in keeping with price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,177 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing