We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent value for Money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

When you look at some of the extortionate prices British hotels charge, I find it difficult to fault this hotel on value for money. At £18 per room per night it is exceptional value. Even as a solo traveller my room had enough beds to sleep 3 people, a wonderful shower, possibly the best hotel shower I've had (and I have travelled fairly extensively), a comfortable double bed with lovely clean fresh linen, and a bunk above it. It was serviced daily and the reception staff went out of their way to help you when asking for information about local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Etap hotel in Birmingham Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    736
    425
    184
    170
See reviews for
225
490
288
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed for one night it is very basic but that was all that we needed. Went to see a gig at the nia about a 20 minute walk away. Reception desk very helpful and all the staff were friendly.
The only down point was that at 3am some guests out in the corridor started making alot of noise, there was no way to contact reception/secuiry to inform them of the noise. At that time in the Morning i wouldn't make that much noise if i was coming in from a night out it's just bad manners and thought less.
Car park secure and £3 not too much to pay

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mendipstokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

In centre of Birmingham. Was good for me and my family as a quick overnight stopover as on route to Eurotunnel. Very good value for money. Very clean, beds comfy, room spacious/en suite. My son loved the bunk bed. Room had a TV. Breakfast in morning was nice at £3.95pp saved me having to find somewhere in the morning. Staff very friendly and welcoming. After a long drive we found some nice family pubs just 5 mins walk from the hotel. Although there was a food court behind Weatherspoons where we were. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a quick stopover for 1 night. On site parking was £3.00 per night and we were on the ground floor so we could see our car which was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poshlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

If people expected to get luxury from paying £30 a night for a room, well I am afraid they are just fools. You might well know what to expect from this type of hotel. It advertises cheap and cheerful and that's exactly what it is. Does not try to be anything else. Perfect for friends on a night out, people visiting the 02 Acadamy, basically anyone who wants just somewhere to lay their head for the night for as cheaply as possible. Staff and security guys on the desk and front door friendly and helpful, and more than happy to provide us with extra towels, toilet paper and even pillows. They even provided me with an extra room key when I came back from the town centre earlier than my friend, after realising she still had both keys. I personally when travelling away with my boyfriend like a little bit of luxury so wouldn't stay somewhere like this with him, but for my friends birthday night out, it more than hit the spot :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmaw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We frequently stay here when we go to gigs at the O2 Academy, literally a minute's walk. Parking just £3 for 24 hours and good value buffet breakfast. Rooms a little grubby - carpets and walls could do with a good clean, but we only want somewhere to sleep after the gig and we wouldn't get better value or closer to the venue. Staff are pleasant, and we haven't experienced any problems with noisy guests, which we have at some other budget hotels. This would always be our first choice, and makes travelling to Birningham from Devon actually a better option for us than going to Bristol.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebnrichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Etap hotel in Birmingham Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The security are abnoxious and stupid. Told me I couldn't enter my room with 2 friends whom stayed with me the night before because there were already 2 people in the room. When i tried to explain that they must have made a mistake and I have the only 2 room keys they were rude and refused to listen. Eventually they realised they had made the mistake and didn't even apologise. Was kept waiting for 2hours. Never stay here again & would definately not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: dont book a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JtSinghsation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter.I will personnaly speak with the Security company. Kind regards, Magali Leveque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Only stayed here for one night as me and my friends were at a concert in Birmingham so didn't spend much time here but the rooms were clean and comfortable! No complaints. Staff seemed helpful and friendly enough. Would definately use this hotel again but probably only for a minimum of 2 nights. It's not plush so if you want something for a special break, this is not it. Like i say though, no complaints :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indii_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred746, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel in Birmingham Centre. Kind regards, Magali Leveque General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#62 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing