We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont be returning !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Second time in this hotel, and definately the last. First time i got uber cheap price so couldnt possibly complain or grumble no matter what i thought. This time, paid just a fraction below what i would pay for a 'real' hotel.
The room i was allocated was one of the triple rooms. Immediately noticed how much smaller the room felt in comparison to the double room i had had previously. When lying on the bed felt very dark and small and cramped due to the fact that you had a bed above you. Had to take care when getting up from bed not to smack my head on the bunk above.
The pillows have to be the worst, most cheapest, most awful pillows ever invented. I even looked at the label to see what they were made of.. lets just say they werent 300 count egyptian cotton. Bed sheets of equally cheap nasty material. A very restless, sweaty, uncomfortable sleepless night.
Tiny shower closet right next to bed, not a single toiletry in sight. Tiny toilet with a useless flush. Noise from main road.
All in all... if you get the room for £20 ish a night, and expect nothing you will be okay. Otherwise avoid at any cost. I never understand the budget hotels pricing policies.. If your budget and offer nothing, then dont charge £60+ a night. Budget is budget. For £60 i could have stayed at a far superior hotel, with real amenities, bedding not made out of stuff i had to google to know what it was, facilites etc etc.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,024)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,574 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieHenstridge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel was very minimalistic, It reminded me of IKEA. Just literally bed, desk, & TV. Wet room ensuite was literally a "wet room". The poor camber on the floor meant that the shower water flowed in the opposite direction from the drainage hole on the floor under the shower. There was no where to put my clothes other than the floor, only my quick reflexes saved my clothes from getting soaked ! I then had to place a towel on the floor to enable me to walk on the floor without getting my feet soaked after my very quick shower !
This aside, it was clean & breakfast was ok. Staff weren't overly friendly - minimalistic, just like the hotel.

Room Tip: Turn off air conditioning when going to bed - it was very noisy !
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here one night over Jubilee weekend. Excellent hotel, basic rooms but very modern and for £25 what you expect! Very clean anmd staff very cheery and helpful.Parking just £4 for 34 hours. Everywhere is local so would reccomend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Close to the centre, 10 minutes walk from New Street Station, and everything you need for a good night's sleep. The room is basic but well-equipped and clean, the shower is powerful, the breakfast is well worth the money and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Next to a busy road but no noise problems.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last night for my birthday so I could shop in the Bullring on Saturday. We arrived Friday night and the staff were friendly and helpful. We took full advantage of the free ironing service in the reception area, and were happy to find out hotel parking was only £4 for 24 hours meaning we could leave the car at the hotel during our shop on Saturday.

The hotel is in walking distance to the Bullring which was good. The room was bright and clean but because our room overlooked the car park, the deliveries in the the mornings woke us up quite early and were very noisy.

Ive stayed in Etap before and this was definitely the nicest one i've been to. We would definitely stay again if we visited Birmingham again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

So glad you had an enjoyable time at the hotel! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husbnd and 3 children. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Birmingham. The location was within walking distance of new street rail station and the bull ring shopping centre, as well as the main shopping street. Breakfast was very good value £4.95 per adult (all you could eat) and the children ate for free. If i was going back to Birmingham I would stay in this hotel again. Ms Kenneally

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneally77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,104 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
312 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
977 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing